Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game

Starfinder


Pathfinder Society


Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game: Wrath of the Righteous FAQ

Last updated: June 21, 2017. Items updated in the past month are displayed in red.

Rules Questions

When you're told to ignore something, does everybody ignore that thing, or just you?

Just you.

Resolution: On page 2 of the rulebook, in the Golden Rule, change "if a card tells you to ignore something, the thing you’re ignoring never has any effect" to "if a card tells you to ignore something, the thing you’re ignoring never has any effect on you". (See this FAQ entry for more about "you.")

posted | back to top


Can examining your deck kill you if doesn't have enough cards? Can examining the blessings deck make you lose the game if doesn't have enough cards?

Yes. If you are required to do either those things, you're out of luck.

Resolution: On page 2, add the following to the end of the Golden Rule: "Regardless of the above, if you need to do anything with any number of cards from the blessings deck (other than shuffling it) and you don’t have enough, you lose the scenario; if that happens with your character deck, your character dies." Also, in the sidebar on page 17, replace the parenthetical sentence with that text.

posted | back to top


In the example under Add Villains and Henchmen, why do I leave out the Wights?

The example should have mentioned that it was for 3 locations.

Resolution: On page 7 of the rulebook, under Add Villains and Henchmen, change "If your scenario card listed Karsos as the villain and Ghalcor, Unfettered Eidolon, and Wights as henchmen, you’ll make a stack of just the first 3, leaving the Wights in the box" to "If you have 3 locations and your scenario card listed Karsos as the villain and Ghalcor, Unfettered Eidolon, and Wights as henchmen, you’ll make a stack of just the first 3, leaving the Wights in the box". Note: This resolution was incorporated into PDF Edition 1.0 of the rulebook.

posted | back to top


When I'm told to "draw a card," do I get to choose the card?

It depends on where you're drawing from. If it's a facedown deck, draw the top card. If it's a faceup pile, choose. If it's the box, draw a random card of the appropriate type (unless we told you to draw a specific card, of course).

Resolution: On page 9 of the rulebook, add this text at the end of the Drawing Cards sidebar: "When you draw a card from a facedown deck, such as a character deck, a location deck, the blessings deck, or any other deck the game tells you to create, draw from the top of the deck. When you draw a card from a faceup pile, such as your discard pile, the blessings discard pile, or any other pile the game tells you to create, draw a card of your choice. When you draw a card from the box, unless you are told to draw a specific card, draw a random card of the appropriate type." Note: This resolution was incorporated into PDF Edition 1.0 of the rulebook.

posted | back to top


The FAQ entry above talks about drawing. What if I'm told to shuffle or bury a card?

The resolution above applies to those things as well.

Resolution: Append the following to the resolution of the previous FAQ: "This applies to actions other than drawing—for example, if you're told to bury 1 card from your deck, bury the top card; if you're told to bury 1 card from your discard pile, you choose the card."

posted | back to top


If I reveal a card for a power, and then something messes with my hand, is the revealed card in my hand? What if I display it? If I discard a card that could be recharged, but something messes with my discard pile before I can make the check to recharge it, is the card really in the discard pile?

Revealing and displaying happen instantly. Every other action waits until you know what action it really is.

Resolution: On page 10 of the rulebook, after the bulleted list of possible actions, add the following: "When you reveal a card, it does not leave your hand. When you display a card, it leaves your hand immediately. When you play cards by performing any other actions, set them aside while you process their effects. For example, a spell might tell you to discard it, then allow you to succeed at a check to recharge it instead; set it aside until you resolve the check that determines whether or not you recharge it. Do what each card requires in the order you set them aside. While set aside, a card does not count as being in your hand, your discard pile, your deck, or anywhere else."

posted | back to top


Something made a card go back in the box or into a deck even though there were still things on the card that hadn't been done. Do I still do those things?

Yes.

Resolution: On page 10 of the rulebook, following the paragraph that appears after the bulleted list of actions, add the following: "Cards often have instructions that you need to follow after you play the card; follow these instructions even if the card is no longer in your hand (even if the card is out of your sight, such as in the box or in a deck)."

posted | back to top


Can "any number" of cards be 0?

No.

Resolution: On page 10 of the rulebook, at the end of the paragraph that begins "If you are instructed to play, reveal, display..." add the sentence "When something refers to 'any number' of cards, that number must be at least 1."

posted | back to top


The rules say "Players may only play cards or use powers that relate to each step (or relate to cards played or powers used in that step)." And attempting a check includes an action called "Play Cards and Use Powers That Affect Your Check." Can you do things that rely on a follow-up action to affect the situation?

No. The things you do must directly affect the current situation.

Resolution: Somewhere around page 10 of the rulebook, add the following sidebar:

Rules: Affecting the Situation
In some situations, you are limited to playing cards or using powers that affect or otherwise relate to the current situation. In these cases, the things you do cannot require anyone to do something else for your action to be meaningful—the things you do must directly affect the situation. For example, let's say that a character is attempting a check using a power that adds 1 to her check for each blessing in her hand, and a second character has a power that allows him to give the first character a card. He could give her a blessing, because that doesn't require any other action to affect the check. But he could not give her a card that allows her to draw a blessing from the box, because she would have to do something else—in this case, play the card he gave her—to affect the check.

posted | back to top


If a card says I can attempt a check to affect my check to acquire or defeat that card, when do I attempt that check?

Immediately before you start the check to defeat or acquire.

Resolution: On page 10 of the rulebook, in the second paragraph of Encountering a Card, add the sentence "The card you're encountering might require or allow a check that can affect your check to acquire or defeat; you must resolve that check before you begin the check to acquire or defeat."

posted | back to top


If a power allows you to automatically defeat or acquire a card, does it count as succeeding at the check or checks to do so? And when exactly do I use that power?

It does count as succeeding at the required checks, and you use it when you would attempt the check.

Resolution: On page 10 of the rulebook, under Attempt the Check, add the following as a new paragraph after the first paragraph.

If a power allows you to automatically defeat or acquire a card, you may use it instead of attempting the check. Doing so counts as succeeding at all checks and requirements to defeat or acquire the card. You may not use such a power against any card that does not have a check to acquire or defeat, or any card that has a check you’re not allowed to succeed at.

posted | back to top


A bunch of the basic rules for encountering a card don't appear until "Attempt the Check." If a card is defeated or acquired before I get to "Attempt the Check," do I still have to do the things it says there? Can I just skip the later steps?

Anything that would happen during those steps still happens.

Resolution: On page 10 of the rulebook, under Encountering a Card, replace the last paragraph before the list of steps with the following:

After you flip over the top card of the location deck, put it on top of the deck and read it. If the card is a bane, you must try to defeat it. If it is a boon, you may try to acquire it for your deck; if you choose not to acquire it, it counts as failing to acquire it. If any powers happen when you flip over the card, they take effect at this time. Then go through all of the following steps that apply in order.

Then, under Attempt the Check, replace the first two sentences with the following: "Most cards require you to succeed at a check to acquire or defeat them."

posted | back to top


If a card is faceup on a location deck and something tells me to put another card on top of that deck, do I put it above or below the faceup card?

If it tells you to put the new card faceup, you get to decide the order of the faceup cards. Otherwise, put it below the faceup card.

Resolution: On page 11 of the rulebook, in the Faceup Cards sidebar, add the sentence "If you’re instructed to put non-faceup cards on top of the deck, put them immediately below any faceup cards."

posted | back to top


If there are multiple faceup cards on top of a single location deck, are you supposed to encounter them all in a single exploration?

One per exploration.

Resolution: On page 11 of the rulebook, in the Faceup Cards sidebar, change the last sentence to the following: "If multiple cards are left faceup on the same deck, you may place them in any order and encounter them in that order, one per exploration." Note: This resolution was incorporated into PDF Edition 1.0 of the rulebook.

posted | back to top


I was moved in the middle of an encounter, and a bunch of things were going to happen after the encounter. Do they happen at my old location, or at my new location?

They don't happen at all.

Resolution: On page 11 of the rulebook, under Resolve the Encounter, add the following sentence: "If you move during an encounter, any effects that would happen after that encounter do not happen."

posted | back to top


If I'm told to attempt a check, and I don't want to succeed, can I just choose to fail?

No. You don't have to spend resources to succeed, and if you have a choice of skills, you don't have to use your best skill... but you do have to attempt the check.

Resolution: On page 11 of the rulebook, under Attempting a Check, add the following to the end of the first paragraph: "When you are required to attempt a check, you may not choose to fail it."

posted | back to top


I'm encountering a villain that requires two sequential checks to defeat. After I attempt the first check, I'm moved to a new location. Who can take the second check: a character at the location I left, or a character at my new location?

A character at your new location.

Resolution: On page 12 of the rulebook, replace “Only the character who encounters the card may attempt the check, save for one exception: if a card requires sequential checks, the character who encountered the card must attempt at least one of the checks, but other checks may each be attempted by any one character at the same location” with the following:

Only the character who encounters the card may attempt the check, save for one exception: if a card requires sequential checks, the character who encountered the card must attempt at least one of the checks, but any other checks may each be attempted by any character at the encountering character’s location.

posted | back to top


When a power adds a skill to a check, does it change the type of check? For example, if I use Padrig to add my Arcane skill to a Strength check, does that make it an Arcane check?

No. When a power says you may use a skill for a check (like most weapons and attack spells), it adds the skills you're using as traits to the check, but when you're just adding another skill to a check, those skills are not added as traits.

Resolution: On page 12 of the rulebook, under "Determine Which Skill You're Using," replace the first two paragraphs with the three that follow. (This might seem like a big change, but mostly, we've taken the opportunity to rewrite and reorganize this section for clarity and to add some more examples. The most significant additions are the last two sentences, and even these are just to clarify that a thing doesn't happen; since nothing ever suggested it did happen, none of this actually changes gameplay at all.)

Determine Which Skill You’re Using. Cards that require a check specify the skill or skills you can use to attempt the check. Each check to defeat or acquire a card lists one or more skills; you may choose any of the listed skills for your check. For example, if a check lists Dexterity, Disable, Strength, and Melee, you may use any one of those skills to attempt your check. Even if your character doesn’t have any of the skills listed for a check, you can still attempt the check, but your die is a d4.

Some cards allow you to use a particular skill for a specific type of check, or to use one skill instead of another. (These cards generally say things like "For your combat check, use your Strength or Melee skill," or "Use your Strength skill instead of your Diplomacy skill.") You may play only 1 such card or use only 1 such power to determine which skill you're using. A few cards that can be used on checks don’t use any of your skills; they instead specify the exact dice you need to roll or the result of your die roll.

The skill you're using for the check, and any skill referenced by that skill, are added as traits to the check. For example, if your character has the skill Melee: Strength +2, and you are using your Melee skill, both the Strength and the Melee traits are added to the check. When you're playing a card to determine the skill you're using, that card’s traits are also added to the check; for example, revealing the weapon Heavy Pick for your combat check adds the Pick, Melee, Piercing, and Basic traits to the check. (This isn’t the same as giving you a skill; for example, playing the spell Dazzle adds the Arcane trait to your check, but it does not give you the Arcane skill.) If a power adds an additional skill to a check, that skill is not added as a trait to the check. For example, a card that adds your Craft skill to your combat check does not add the Craft trait to your check.

Note: This resolution was incorporated into PDF Edition 1.0 of the rulebook.

posted | back to top


If a power lets me reroll dice, and I have a way to use that power more than once, can I?

Nope. If a different power allows you to reroll, that’s ok, but you can't use the same reroll power more than once.

Resolution: On page 13 of the rulebook, under Attempt the Roll, add the following after the first sentence: "Powers may allow or require you to reroll 1 or more dice; each such power can let you reroll dice only once in a single check or step.” Note: This correction was included in PDF Edition 1.0 of the rulebook.

posted | back to top


If your character dies during an encounter, do you keep doing the steps of your turn? What happens to the card you were encountering?

If your character dies, your turn immediately ends. So this rule tells you what to do with the card you were encountering.

Resolution: On page 14 of the rulebook, under Dying, add the italicized text to the following sentence: "Bury your deck, hand, and discard pile; your turn immediately ends."

posted | back to top


When something affects all characters, or a random character, could it affect a dead character? Can dead characters affect anything?

Dead characters can't affect anything, and things only affect dead characters when they specifically say they do.

Resolution: On page 14 of the rulebook, under Dying, amend the following sentence with the portion in italics: "You cannot take turns, play cards, move, do anything, or affect anything while you are dead; effects that refer to characters do not affect you unless they specifically refer to dead characters.

posted | back to top


When a character dies, after the surviving characters loot his corpse use his cards when rebuilding their decks, when they put the rest back in the box, do they get to weed out the Basics and Elites per the rules on the Adventure Path card?

No.

Resolution: On page 14 of the rulebook, under Dying, change "any cards they don’t keep are then banished" to "any cards they don’t keep are then returned to the box".

posted | back to top


When you redeem a card, can you choose any card on the Redemption card?

No—unless a card specifies otherwise, you can only redeem one of your cards. (Page 10 of the rulebook tells you that "your cards include your deck, the cards in your hand, and your buried, discarded, and displayed cards.")

Resolution:

On page 14 of the rulebook, add the italicized text to the following sentence: "When a card allows you to redeem a card, and that card is among your cards, check it off on the redemption card."

On page 23 of the rulebook, add the italicized text to the following sentence: "When a card allows you to redeem one of these cards, and that card is among your cards, check it off on the redemption card."

posted | back to top


The rules say that summoned cards can't summon other cards, but it seems like there are a handful of cards that really need to summon other cards to work right.

Yep. That rule was intended to prevent infinite loops, but was phrased far too broadly.

Resolution: On page 15 of the rulebook, replace the sentence "Summoned cards cannot cause other cards to be summoned" with the sentence "A summoned card can't cause you to summon a copy of itself or of the card that summoned it".

posted | back to top


When you summon and build a location, do you add henchmen or villains?

Not unless you're instructed to.

Resolution: On page 15 of the rulebook, under Summoning and Adding Cards, add the italicized text to the paragraph below.

If you’re told to summon and build a location, if it’s not already built, retrieve the location card from the box and build the location as usual; do not add villains or henchmen unless instructed to do so. The location and its deck remain in play for the rest of the scenario and are no longer considered summoned cards.

posted | back to top


What does "summon and play" mean?

Resolution: On page 15 of the rulebook, under Summoning and Adding Cards, add the following as a new paragraph following the paragraph about "summon and build."

If you are instructed to summon and play a card, immediately draw the card from the box and play it, using any power on it that can be used in the current circumstance, then banish it. If no power on it can be used in the current circumstance, banish it.

posted | back to top


Can you close a location that your character is not at?

No.

Resolution: Under Closing a Location on page 15, add the following to the end of the first paragraph: "You can never attempt to close a location unless your character is at that location."

posted | back to top


If there's a cohort in a location deck when it gets banished, does that mean it gets removed from the game? That seems pretty mean.

We're not that mean.

Resolution: On page 15 of the rulebook, under Closing a Location, make the italicized addition to in the following text: "If you succeed at meeting the When Closing requirement, search the location deck for villains. If you find any, banish all non-villain cards from the location deck. The location is not closed—but at least you know where the villains are! If you would banish any cohorts this way, you may encounter them instead."

posted | back to top


I have some questions about temporarily closing locations.

Excellent—we have some answers. Temp closes need to happen before you encounter the villain, not when you encounter it. The villain's location cannot be temporarily closed. And if something causes you to move to another location before you can make your attempt, you get to attempt to close the new location, not the old one.

Resolution: On page 16 of the rulebook, under Attempt to Temporarily Close Open Locations, replace "When a character encounters a villain, each character at any other location may immediately attempt to fulfill the When Closing requirement for his location" with the following:

Before a character encounters a villain, each other character at any other location may immediately attempt to fulfill the When Closing requirement for his location; the villain's location cannot be temporarily closed. You may decide the order in which these attempts are made. If anything causes a character to move before his attempt is made, he may attempt to close his new location, not his previous location.

posted | back to top


I displayed a card that tells me to banish it at the end of the turn, but I won the scenario so my turn never ends. I get to keep the card, right?

Nice try, but no.

Resolution: On page 17 of the rulebook, under "Ending a Scenario, Adventure, or Adventure Path, replace "Once you’ve played a scenario, whether you won or lost, rebuild your character deck (see Between Games, below). Put all other cards back into the box" with the following:

After you complete a scenario, if any displayed boons could be banished or removed from the game when a certain condition is met (such as the end of an encounter, the end of a turn, or a location closing), treat them as if that condition is occurring. Then put all cards other than boons back in the box. Next, rebuild your character deck (see Between Games, below). Finally, put any remaining cards back in the box.

posted | back to top


The "Dealing with Cards" sidebar tells me what to do if I don't have enough cards to perform a required task. What do I do if the task requires some non-card resource, like characters, or mythic charges?

The same rules apply—use as many as you have.

Resolution: Replace the Dealing with Cards sidebar on page 17 with a new sidebar entitled Limited Resources:

If you’re required to do something with a certain number of things and there aren’t that many things available, use as many as there are. For example, if you're told to choose 2 characters at a location occupied by only 1 character, choose only that character. If you’re told to draw 4 cards from a deck that has only 3 cards, draw the 3 cards. (Regardless, if you need to do anything with any number of cards from the blessings deck, other than shuffle it, and you don’t have enough cards, you lose the scenario; if that happens with your character deck, your character dies.)

Note that this only applies when you are required to do something. If you have the opportunity to do something that requires a limited resource, and you don't have enough of that resource, you cannot do that thing. For example, if you have the opportunity to close a location whose "When Closing" says "Discard 2 spells," and you have only 1 spell, you cannot close that location.

Note: The original sidebar contained the following text: "Whenever you’re instructed to randomly choose cards, shuffle the cards you’re drawing from and draw from the top." That should be moved to the "Drawing Cards" sidebar on page 9, which should be renamed "Dealing with Cards." (Yes, that's what this sidebar used to be called...)

posted | back to top


What happens if a cohort ends up in a location deck?

If you encounter it, you acquire it.

Resolution: On page 22 of the rulebook, following "...after drawing starting hands, each character may add 1 of the listed cohorts to her hand.", add "If you encounter a cohort in a location deck, you automatically acquire it."

posted | back to top


If I have a power that refers to a blessing named for a deity, can I use it only with that specific blessing?

You can use it with any blessing that has the trait of that deity.

Resolution: On page 24 of the rulebook, under Blessing, add "When a power refers to a blessing of a particular deity, it works with any blessing that has that deity's name as a trait. For example, a power that refers to Blessing of Iomedae also applies to any blessing that has the Iomedae trait."

posted | back to top


Can a bane with a Check to Defeat of "None" or "See Below" be defeated by a power that automatically defeats that type of bane?

Not unless the bane says so.

Resolution: On page 25 of the rulebook, under Check to Defeat, change 'If the check is listed as “None,” the bane cannot be defeated' to 'If the check is listed as “None” or “See Below,” the requirements to defeat the bane may be stated in the bane’s power. If the check is listed as “None” and the power does not state the requirements to defeat the bane, the bane cannot be defeated.' Note: This resolution was incorporated into PDF Edition 1.0 of the rulebook.

posted | back to top


When a bane has a power that triggers when "you" do something, does "you" mean just the person encountering the bane, or anybody doing that thing?

It applies to anybody who does that thing.

Resolution: On page 25 of the rulebook, under Banes, add the following to the end of the Powers section: "If a bane says an effect happens if or when you do a particular thing, it applies to any character who does that thing. If it limits the things you can do, that limit applies to any character who wants to do those things; however, if the limitation is the result of an action such as playing a card or attempting a check, it applies only to the character who took that action."

posted | back to top


The "Based on Wrath of the Righteous" credits look an awful lot like the "Based on Skull & Shackles" credits...

Sigh.

Resolution: On page 30, the "Based on Wrath of the Righteous" credits should read "Wolfgang Baur, Jim Groves, James Jacobs, Richard Pett, Amber E. Scott, Neil Spicer, and Greg A. Vaughan."

Additionally, the art for the adventure deck 5 monster Tarry Fiend should be credited to Johan Grenier. The art for the adventure deck 6 monster Elder Fire Demon should be credited to Craig J. Spearing, and his name should appear in the list of card illustrators on this page.

posted | back to top


Card Questions: Wrath of the Righteous Base Set

The B scenarios in Wrath are really hard! What if I don't want them to be so hard?

No problem. If you'd like an easier run, make these optional changes.

Resolution: Make one or both of these changes only if you're looking for an easier time with Wrath B scenarios.

On the B and C henchman Tangle Trap, add the line "If defeated, you may immediately attempt to close the location this henchman came from."

Move some or all of the following cards from Set B and/or C to Set 1, and change their set indicators to 1: the barrier Arboreal Blight (B & C), the monster Carrion Golem (B & C), and 1 of the Demonic Horde barriers in B and/or the Demonic Horde barrier currently in C. Then move some or all of the following cards from Set 1 to Set B, and change their set indicators to B: the monster Accursed Priest and the barrier Poisoned Spiked Pit Trap.

posted | back to top


Getting Vinst in The Elven Entanglement doesn't help much, since a Tangle Trap won't allow me to close my location when I defeat it. Is that how it's supposed to work?

No. It's supposed to work quite a bit better than that.

Resolution: On the cohort Vinst, change "When you attempt to close a location, return this card to the box to automatically close it" to "When any character defeats a henchman from a location deck, return this card to the box to allow that character to automatically close that location".

posted | back to top


When you expend charges for the Mythic Marshal's power, then succeed at the check, do you choose one other character at your location for each charge you spent, or just one regardless of the number spent?

We care about whether you succeeded at the check, not how many charges you spent. No matter how many changes you expend, only one character gets a charge.

Resolution: On the mythic path Mythic Marshal, change "replace 1 of your highest non-d20 dice with a d20, and if you succeed at the check, choose another character at your location to get a charge" with "replace 1 of your highest non-d20 dice with a d20; if you succeed at the check, choose another character at your location to get a charge".

posted | back to top


Should Imrijka have 16 skill feats?

No. She has an extra Constitution skill feat.

Resolution: On Imrijka's character card, remove the "+3" Constitution feat.

posted | back to top


Lancer Alain can get a ridiculous amount of explorations going with a card that has the Mount trait in his hand. Or discard pile. Or on his deck. This seems abusable.

That's because it is.

Resolution: On the Lancer side of Alain's role card, in the first power, change "Recharge a card" to "Recharge a weapon or an armor".

posted | back to top


Harsk the Demonslayer has a power that gives him a free exploration if he defeats a Demon on his first exploration. Is that the first exploration of the scenario, or of the turn?

The turn.

Resolution: On the Demonslayer side of Harsk's role card, change "On your first exploration" to "On the first exploration of your turn".

posted | back to top


Imrijka's Cold Iron Warden role has a power that works on Blessings of Pharasma, but there are no Blessings of Pharasma in Wrath of the Righteous.

That's a problem.

Resolution: On the Cold Iron Warden side of Imrijka's role card, replace "Blessing of Pharasma" with "blessing that has the Basic trait."

posted | back to top


Wandering Judge Imrijka sure can shuffle a lot of discarded Blessing of Ascension cards into the blessings deck.

No, she can't.

Resolution: On the Wandering Judge side of Imrijka's role card, change "When you play a blessing that matches the top card of the blessings discard pile, you may shuffle the top card of the blessings discard pile into the blessings deck" to "When you play a non-Basic blessing that matches the top card of the blessings discard pile, you may shuffle the top card of the blessings discard pile into the blessings deck".

posted | back to top


In the Elven Entanglement, when I would encounter an Animal but summon a Carnivorous Stump instead, what happens to the Animal?

Banish the Animal.

Resolution: On the scenario The Elven Entanglement, change the second power to "If you would encounter a card that has the Animal trait, banish it and summon and encounter the henchman Carnivorous Stump instead."

posted | back to top


In The Wardstone Patrol, I'm playing Sir Ilivan on a check to defeat a monster, and have to summon and encounter the Corrupted Soldier. Do I do that before or after I finish with the first monster?

Finish what you started, then encounter the Corrupted Soldier.

Resolution: On the scenario The Wardstone Patrol, change "banish Sir Ilivan and summon and encounter the henchman Corrupted Soldier" to "after the encounter, banish Sir Ilivan and summon and encounter the henchman Corrupted Soldier".

posted | back to top


Is the difficulty of checks to defeat banes at the Abattoir increased by the number of characters in the game, or just the number of characters at the Abattoir?

The number of characters in the game.

Resolution: On the location Abattoir, change the At This Location power to "The difficulty of any check to defeat a bane is increased by the number of characters at all locations."

posted | back to top


When Canyon makes everyone else at the location encounter the monster you're encountering, should their copies be summoned?

Yes.

Resolution: On the location Canyon, add the italicized text to the following power: "When you encounter a non-henchman, non-villain monster from a location deck, each other character at this location summons and encounters that monster."

posted | back to top


If I fail to defeat a Cultist of Baphomet, and the top card of the blessings deck is not a blessing, do I shuffle it into my location deck?

No. Instead, search the blessings deck until you find a blessing and shuffle it into your location deck.

Resolution: On the henchman Cultist of Baphomet, change "If undefeated, shuffle the top card of the blessings deck into your location deck" to "If undefeated, search the blessings deck until you find a blessing and shuffle it into your location deck". (This card also appears in the Character Add-On Deck.)

posted | back to top


Does Family Tomb's At This Location power apply only when characters at that location die, or when characters at other locations die?

Only when characters at the Family Tomb die.

Resolution: On the location Family Tomb, change the At This Location text (on both the front and back) to "When a character at this location dies, all other characters at this location die."

posted | back to top


Ulkreth has me attempting a Knowledge check while I am already making a check to defeat. Do you really want that?

No—that Knowledge check needs to happen earlier.

Resolution: On the henchman Ulkreth, change "If the check to defeat has the Acid, Cold, or Fire trait, succeed at a Knowledge 8 check to add 5 to it" to "If you succeed at a Knowledge 8 check, or if your check has the Acid, Cold, or Fire trait, add 5 to your check to defeat". Also, make sure you read this FAQ entry. (Note: This card also appears in the Character Add-On Deck.)

posted | back to top


Are golems affected by items that have the Attack trait?

No.

Resolution: On the monster Carrion Golem, change "You may not play spells that have the Attack trait" to "The Carrion Golem is immune to the Attack and Mental traits". (This card also appears in the Character Add-On Deck.)

This also applies to the monsters Warmonger Wasp in adventure deck 3 and Stone Golem and Urannag in adventure deck 4, and the henchman Devastator in adventure deck 6.

posted | back to top


When I encounter a Giant Maggot Swarm in a location deck, do I have to summon and encounter a second one?

Nope.

Resolution: On the monster Giant Maggot Swarm, change "each character at your location" to "each other character at your location".

posted | back to top


Arboreal Blight and Corrupted Crusaders are defeated or undefeated based on the result of an encounter with a summoned henchman. What happens if I evade that summoned henchman?

These cards really care about whether or not you defeated that henchman. If you evaded it, you didn't defeat it, so the first card is undefeated.

Resolution: On the barriers Arboreal Blight and Corrupted Crusaders, replace "The barrier is defeated or undefeated based solely on your encounter" with "The barrier is defeated only if you defeat your henchman; otherwise, it is undefeated". (Note: These cards also appear in the Character Add-On Deck.)

posted | back to top


Should the Quarterstaff use my Strength or Melee die only?

No, it should use your skill.

Resolution: On the weapon Quarterstaff, change "roll your Strength or Melee die" to "use your Strength or Melee skill". (Note: This card also appears in the Character Add-On Deck.)

posted | back to top


Glibness was Elite in every other set, but it's Basic here. Which should it be?

While we were making Wrath of the Righteous, we came up with the policy that cards with the same power but different traits are not the same card. For example, we wanted to bring back the card Wisdom in this set, but since we wanted characters to be able to use it in their starting decks, we needed it to be Basic instead of Elite, so we instead introduced the card Sagacity, which is identical to Wisdom in every way other than art, name, and the presence of the Basic trait. We failed to apply that rule to Glibness. What we should have done is given it new art and called it "Eloquence."

Resolution: The spell Eloquence will appear in the Oracle Class Deck in December 2015, and we'll include it in the print-on-demand errata deck for Wrath when we create it. If you have Eloquence, you can replace the spell Glibness in the Base Set and the Character Add-On Deck with Eloquence and treat the starting deck lists in the rulebook as if they say Eloquence instead of Glibness. When not using Eloquence, just treat Glibness as having the Basic trait, just as printed, for Wrath of the Righteous only. If you use it in any other set, treat it as having the Elite trait instead.

posted | back to top


When I discard Portable Altar, how long does the 1d6 on my Divine checks last?

Just for that check.

Resolution: On the item Portable Altar, change "You may discard this card to add 1d6 to your Divine checks" to "You may discard this card to add 1d6 to your Divine check".

posted | back to top


Can Ring of Climbing be used every time I shuffle a location deck?

Not quite. It can only be used once per check or step.

Resolution: On the item Ring of Climbing, add the sentence "You may not use this power more than once per check or step."

posted | back to top


Can I use Riding Horse to move when there's nobody else at my location? If there are other characters at my location, do I have to move 1 of them?

You do not have to move another character when you move.

Resolution: On the ally Riding Horse, change the first power to "At the end of your turn, discard this card to move; you may also move another character at your location to your new location."

posted | back to top


Card Questions: Wrath of the Righteous Character Add-On Deck

Crowe the Mauler has a power that lets him deal damage to characters at his location to add to his combat check. Is that supposed to affect multiple checks, or just one? And is there supposed to be a correlation between the trait added and the type of damage dealt?

The power is meant to affect just one check, but you should also be able to use it again for each combat check during the encounter. And yes, the damage type is meant to the be the same as the trait type.

Resolution: On the Mauler side of Crowe's role card, change "Before you act, you may deal 2 Electricity or Force damage to all characters at your location to add 1d8 and the Magic and Electricity or Force traits to your combat check" to "On your combat check, you may add 1d8, the Magic trait, and the Electricity or Force trait; if you do, after the check, each character at your location is dealt 2 damage of the chosen type." Then, because the following power needs to be able to mitigate this damage, change the power below that to "□ Reduce damage dealt to you by the above power or before you act by 1 (□ 2)."

posted | back to top


Seoni the Corruptor has a power that lets her examine cards after her first exploration. Is that her first exploration of the scenario, or of the turn?

The turn.

Resolution: On the Corruptor side of Seoni's role card, change "After your first exploration" to "After the first exploration of your turn".

posted | back to top


Shardra the Visionary has a power that lets her use her Knowledge skill for certain checks. When she takes the feat that allows others at her location to use Knowledge, does it use that person's Knowledge, or does it use Shardra's?

It uses that person's Knowledge skill.

Resolution: On the Visionary side of Shardra's role card, replace the third power with the following: "▢ When you attempt a check to defeat a barrier (▢ or close a location), you may use your Knowledge skill instead of the listed skill. (▢ Characters gain this power while at your location.)"

posted | back to top


Card Questions: The Worldwound Incursion (Wrath of the Righteous Adventure Deck 1)

The Example of Play in the printed rulebook suggests Millorn is the villain for the scenario Under the Broken City, but the card says it's Thurl and Inhaz. Who is the villain?

Millorn.

Resolution: On the scenario Under the Broken City, change the villain from "Thurl and Inhaz" to "Millorn".

posted | back to top


In The Wardstone Legacy, are the effects that mess with the blessings you play supposed to happen before or after the effects of the blessings you play?

After.

Resolution: On the scenario The Wardstone Legacy, change both occurrences of "When you play" to "After you play".

posted | back to top


In The Wardstone Legacy, if I play a non-Corrupted blessing, but no Corrupted blessings are left in the box, do I still banish it?

No.

Resolution: On the scenario The Wardstone Legacy, replace "When you play any other blessing and it does not have the Corrupted trait, banish it and replace it with a random blessing that has the Corrupted trait from the box" with "After you play any other blessing, if it does not have the Corrupted trait, exchange it with a random blessing that has the Corrupted trait from the box". (With this wording, if there are no random blessings that have the Corrupted trait left in the box, the instruction becomes impossible, so the Golden Rule tells you to ignore it.)

posted | back to top


I'm at the Collapsing Bridge, and at the end of my turn, I had to banish the boons there. Do I shuffle the deck?

Yes.

Resolution: On the location Collapsing Bridge, change the At This Location text to "At the end of your turn, roll 1d10; if you roll higher than the number of cards in this deck, search it for boons and banish them all."

posted | back to top


If I fail to defeat a Cultist of Deskari, and the blessings deck contains non-blessings, can they get shuffled into my location deck?

No. Instead, search the blessings deck until you find the appropriate number of blessings and shuffle them into your location deck.

Resolution: On the henchman Cultist of Deskari, change "If undefeated, shuffle a number of cards from the blessings deck equal to the scenario’s adventure deck number into your location deck" to "If undefeated, search the blessings deck until you find a number of blessings equal to the scenario’s adventure deck number and shuffle them into your location deck".

posted | back to top


The Accursed Priest is undead. Shouldn't it be immune to the Mental and Poison traits?

Yes.

Resolution: On the monster Accursed Priest, add "The Accursed Priest is immune to the Mental and Poison traits."

posted | back to top


The first sentence of Crazed Cultists says "each character at an open location" has to summon and encounter a henchman, while the second sentence says "each character who does not evade or defeat" that henchman has to banish an ally. If I wasn't at an open location, and didn't even encounter a henchman, do I still have to banish an ally?

No.

Resolution: On the barrier Crazed Cultists, change the second sentence to "Each character that encounters a henchman and does not evade or defeat it banishes an ally."

posted | back to top


Is Poison Spiked Pit Trap supposed to deal the Poison damage to characters at other locations?

No, just the ones at the barrier's location.

Resolution: On the barrier Poison Spiked Pit Trap, change the last power to "If undefeated, each character at this location is dealt 1d4 Combat damage, then 1d4 Poison damage, then end your turn."

posted | back to top


When you play Life Drain, when exactly should you shuffle the card from your discard pile into your deck?

After you have discarded, recharged, or banished Life Drain.

Resolution: On the spell Life Drain, the first paragraph should be just “For your combat check, discard this card to use your Arcane or Divine skill + 2d4.” The second paragraph should end with “Then shuffle a random card from your discard pile into your deck.”

posted | back to top


Should the sword Radiance have the Slashing trait?

Yep.

Resolution: On the loot Radiance, add the Slashing trait.

posted | back to top


Card Questions: Sword of Valor (Wrath of the Righteous Adventure Deck 2)

In The Siege of Drezen, when I build each location deck, do I include henchmen? When I build the Citadel, do I include the cards from the previous location deck?

Here's what's going on in non-technical terms: During setup, build only the first location, which should include its regular card list plus a Worldwound Cadre.When you close that, build the next listed location using its regular card list, plus a Worldwound Cadre, plus all the leftover cards from the previous location. Repeat that until you close the last location listed for your number of characters. Then set out the Citadel. Shuffle together the villain, one Brimorak per character, and the leftover cards from the last location. (Note you are ignoring the Citadel's card list and you are not adding a Worldwound Cadre this time.)

Resolution: On the scenario The Siege of Drezen, replace During This Scenario with the following text:

When setting up, build only the first location. Before closing a location, summon and build the next location, add a henchman, then shuffle the current location deck into it. Before closing the final location listed for your number of players, set out the location Citadel, add the villain Soltengrebbe and 1 henchman Brimorak per character, then shuffle the current location deck into it. To win the scenario, defeat Soltengrebbe.

posted | back to top


Is the restriction on searching and examining Chasm of Shadows limited to characters at that location?

No—nobody gets to search or examine that deck.

Resolution: On the location Chasm of Shadows, change the At This Location power to "This location deck cannot be searched or examined."

posted | back to top


Nulkineth cares about my "Divine bonus." What is that?

That should be your Divine modifier. (If your character card says "Wisdom: d12 +1", and “Divine: Wisdom +2,” the modifier for your Divine skill is +3.)

Resolution: On the villain Nulkineth, change "Divine bonus" to "Divine modifier".

posted | back to top


If Theruk Nul would deal me damage, am I dealt the damage?

Yes. You just discard from your deck instead of your hand.

Resolution: On the henchman Theruk Nul, change "While you act, when you would be dealt damage by Theruk Nul, discard that number of cards from the top of your deck instead of your hand" to "While you act, when you are dealt damage by Theruk Nul, discard cards from the top of your deck instead of your hand".

posted | back to top


If I fail to defeat a Cultist Archer, and the top card of the blessings deck is not a blessing, do I shuffle it into my location deck?

No. Instead, search the blessings deck until you find a blessing and shuffle it into your location deck.

Resolution: On the monster Cultist Archer, change "If undefeated, shuffle the top card of the blessings deck into your location deck" to "If undefeated, search the blessings deck until you find a blessing and shuffle it into your location deck".

posted | back to top


To whom does Telekinesis Trap deal Acid damage? Everyone? The person who encountered it? Anyone at its location? And who gets to try to banish it?

Anyone at its location at the appropriate time.

Resolution: On the barrier Telekinesis Trap, change "At the end of your turn" to "When you end your turn at this location", and change "At the end of your move step" to "When you end your move step at this location".

posted | back to top


Should Marksman's Bow have the 2-Handed trait?

Yes.

Resolution: On the weapon Marksman's Bow, add the 2-Handed trait.

posted | back to top


If I play Dismissal on my combat check, do I have to do anything with the card?

You have to discard it.

Resolution: On the spell Dismissal, change "use your Arcane or Divine skill + 2d8 plus the scenario’s adventure deck number" to "discard this card to use your Arcane or Divine skill + 2d8 plus the scenario’s adventure deck number".

posted | back to top


Should Paralyze have the Attack trait?

Yes.

Resolution: On the spell Paralyze, add the Attack trait.

posted | back to top


Should Armor of the Pious have the Iomedae trait?

Yes.

Resolution: On the armor Armor of the Pious, add the Iomedae trait.

posted | back to top


When I use Planar Tuning Fork, and the location I'm at already has an "At This Location" power on the closed side, am I augmenting that power or replacing it?

You're replacing it.

Resolution: On the item Planar Tuning Fork, add the italicized text to the following sentence: "While displayed, treat the closed location as if it had the At This Location power from the displayed card, and ignore any such power on the original location card."

posted | back to top


Soulshear can make me summon a demon after I use its reroll power. Should I finish the current check before I do that?

Yes.

Resolution: On the loot Soulshear, change "on a 1, summon and defeat this adventure’s servitor demon" to "on a 1, after the check, summon and defeat this adventure’s servitor demon".

posted | back to top


Card Questions: Demon's Heresy (Wrath of the Righteous Adventure Deck 3)

The scenario Crusader's Legacy and the henchman Alrys Harnaste each tell me contradictory things to do when I defeat Alrys. Is that intended?

No—the scenario should tell you what to do when you would banish him.

Resolution: On the scenario Crusader's Legacy, change the last power to "When you would banish Alrys Harnaste, shuffle him into a random open location deck."

posted | back to top


In The Demon's Redoubt, you add Grimslakes to the top of the location deck before you add the villain and henchmen, so they get shuffled in. Is that right? And are you meant to put a Grimslake on top of the Tower of the Fourth Sphere deck?

You should shuffle the villain and henchmen in first, then add the Grimslakes to the top. And you should only add the Grimslakes during setup, not whenever you build a location.

Resolution: On the scenario The Demon's Redoubt, change "After you build location decks, put a Grimslake henchman on top of each one" to "After you add the villain and henchmen to the location decks, put a Grimslake henchman on top of each".

posted | back to top


In Wintersun, when you use the scenario's power to defeat or acquire a card with multiple checks, do you get to add 1d8 to all of those checks?

Yes.

Resolution: On the scenario Wintersun, change "add 1d8 to your check to defeat or acquire a card" to "add 1d8 to your checks to defeat or acquire a card".

posted | back to top


Do you display Alrys Harnaste if you fail to close the location he came from, or only if you succeed?

Only if you succeed.

Resolution: On the henchman Alrys Harnaste, change "if you do, display this card next to your deck" to "if you succeed, display this card next to your deck".

posted | back to top


Only one of my checks to defeat the Drake Rider has the Force or Ranged trait. Do I get to add 5 to the check that doesn't?

Nope.

Resolution: On the monster Drake Rider, change "If you succeed at an Intelligence or Knowledge 12 check, or if your check has the Force or Ranged trait, add 5 to your checks to defeat it" to "On each check to defeat, if you succeed at an Intelligence or Knowledge 12 check, or if the check has the Force or Ranged trait, add 5."

posted | back to top


Should the Locust Demon have the Vermin trait?

Despite its insectoid appearance, no.

Resolution: On the monster Locust Demon, remove the Vermin trait.

posted | back to top


Card Questions: The Midnight Isles (Wrath of the Righteous Adventure Deck 4)

Brutalized Flesh Golem is only displayed if it gets into your hand via Skinstitcher's Manual. What if it gets into my hand some other way? Also, it seems like its powers should only function while displayed.

Yeah, those need some help.

Resolution: On the item Skinstitcher's Manual, change the first sentence of the first power to "Bury this card to draw the cohort Brutalized Flesh Golem from the box." On the cohort Brutalized Flesh Golem, change the power to the following:

You may display this card. While displayed, you may recharge this card to reduce damage other than Combat damage dealt to a character at your location to 0, or discard this card to explore your location; if you discard it, during this exploration, banish any boons you encounter and add 1d6 plus your number of mythic charges to your combat checks. While displayed, at the end of your turn, if you have mythic charges, banish this card.

posted | back to top


Demondome says "When 1 of these location decks is empty, close that location". Does that first part apply only when exactly 1 deck is empty? And does "close that location" mean "attempt to close" or "automatically close"?

The first part applies when any of the location decks is empty. And it closes automatically.

Resolution: On the scenario Demondome, change the text quoted in the question to "When any of these location decks is empty, that location automatically closes".

posted | back to top


In The Nahyndrian Mine, how do I look at the top card of the blessings deck to see if it has the Corrupted trait?

You don't. You look at the top card of the blessings discard pile.

Resolution: In the scenario The Nahyndrian Mine, change the During This Scenario power from "After you advance the blessings deck, if the top card of that deck has the Corrupted trait" to "After you advance the blessings deck, if the top card of the blessings discard pile has the Corrupted trait".

posted | back to top


In Nocticula's Attention, do I have to win at the moment that the number of displayed Blessings of Nocticula is greater than or equal to the number of characters?

Nope. If you want to try to keep farming those blessings, you're welcome to—but the consequences of that decision are all on you!

Resolution: On the scenario Nocticula's Attention, change "You win the scenario only when the number of Blessing of Nocticula cards displayed is greater than or equal to the number of characters" to "When you display a Blessing of Nocticula next to this scenario, if the number displayed is at least equal to the number of characters, you may win the scenario".

posted | back to top


I'm at Battlebliss. If I succeed (by 12 or more) at my first check to defeat a Demon that has multiple checks to defeat, can I attempt to close the location before I attempt the second check?

No—you can only attempt to close after you defeat the monster.

Resolution: On the location Battlebliss, change "When you succeed at a check to defeat a monster that has the Demon trait by 12 or more, you may attempt to close your location" to "When you succeed at a check to defeat a monster that has the Demon trait by 12 or more, after defeating it you may attempt to close your location".

posted | back to top


I explored at the Qlippoth Runestone and then failed the Wisdom check. Do I get to decide where I move?

No—you move to a random other location.

Resolution: On the location Qlippoth Runestone, under At This Location, change "After you explore, succeed at a Wisdom 9 check or be moved to another location" to "After you explore, succeed at a Wisdom 9 check or move to a random other location".

posted | back to top


If I'm moved by Rapture of Rupture, can't I just move right back?

That would be a pretty useless power!

Resolution: On the location Rapture of Rupture, change "move to a random location" to "move to a random location and you may not move during your move step".

posted | back to top


Heart of the Fane says "If undefeated, and if the location Grinder is open, the villain does not escape." What if the Grinder is temporarily closed?

Normally, temporarily closing a location doesn't do anything other than prevent the villain from escaping to that location, but we do want this power to apply when the Grinder is temporarily closed.

Resolution: On the villain Heart of the Fane, change "if the location Grinder is open" to "if the location Grinder has not been banished and is not temporarily closed".

posted | back to top


Nezirrius deals Ranged damage before you act. Should that be Ranged Combat damage?

Yes.

Resolution: On the henchman Nezirrius, change "Ranged damage" to "Ranged Combat damage".

posted | back to top


Now that Mummy's Mask is out, should the Blasphemy Demon have the Trigger trait?

We're not officially retrofitting old cards with Triggers, but if we were, the monster Blasphemy Demon would be the one. If you would like to treat it as if it has the Trigger trait, you may do so. Change "If you played a boon to examine this card, bury the boon" to "When you play a boon to examine this card, bury the boon", and make that the first power on the card.

posted | back to top


On Abyssal Shortcut, who does "you" refer to: the person who defeated the barrier, or whoever's at the location where Abyssal Shortcut is displayed?

The latter.

Resolution: On the barrier Abyssal Shortcut, change the second power to "While displayed, immediately after a character at this location resolves an encounter, he may roll 1d6. On an even result, he may move. On an odd result, discard that many cards from the blessings deck."

posted | back to top


Can Climber’s Gloves be used every time I shuffle a location deck?

Not quite. It can only be used once per check or step.

Resolution: On the item Climber’s Gloves, add the following sentence to the end of the second power: ”You may not use this power more than once per check or step.”

posted | back to top


Pit Gladiator lets you recharge it if you use it to defeat a bane by 10 more. What if the bane has multiple checks?

We only care about how well you do on the check that the Pit Gladiator is played on.

Resolution: On the ally Pit Gladiator, replace "If you defeat the bane by 10 or more, recharge this card instead" with "If the result exceeds the difficulty by 10 or more, recharge this card instead”.

posted | back to top


Should the sword Holy Radiance have the Slashing trait?

Yep.

Resolution: On the loot Holy Radiance, add the Slashing trait.

posted | back to top


Card Questions: Herald of the Ivory Labyrinth (Wrath of the Righteous Adventure Deck 5)

Lady of Valor allows you to recharge cards then talks about the cards you discarded. Which is it?

Recharging is correct.

Resolution: On the villain Lady of Valor, change "For each card discarded" to "For each card recharged".

posted | back to top


The Corruption Demon is displayed next to my deck. Do I have to decide whether or not I'm burying cards before I roll to find out how many need to be buried?

Roll first, then decide.

Resolution: On the monster Corruption Demon, change the last sentence to "At the start of your turn, roll 1d4; you may bury that number of cards to banish this card."

posted | back to top


Disrupting Warhammer says "roll your Strength or Melee die." Do you mean "use your Strength or Melee skill?"

Yes.

Resolution: On the weapon Disrupting Warhammer, change "roll your Strength or Melee die" to "use your Strength or Melee skill".

posted | back to top


Does Elemental Bombardment really wait till the end of the turn to discard itself?

No, it happens after whatever check you use it on.

Resolution: On the spell Elemental Bombardment, change "At the end of your turn, if you do not have either the Arcane or Divine skill, banish this card" to "After playing this card, if you do not have either the Arcane or Divine skill, banish it".

posted | back to top


Should using the Evocation Staff for a combat check count as playing a spell? And shouldn't you have to discard it for the power bump?

Yes and yes.

Resolution: On the item Evocation Staff, change the first power to "For your combat check, reveal this card and discard a spell to use your Arcane skill + 1d10; this counts as playing a spell. You may additionally discard this card to add another 2d10 and the Cold, Electricity, Fire, or Force trait."

posted | back to top


Should all boons that reference mythic charges have the Mythic trait?

They do, with the exception of 4 boons in adventure deck 5. Mechanically speaking, the only powers that reference the Mythic trait affect only banes with that trait, so this is completely cosmetic, but for consistency's sake, those 4 boons really should have the trait.

Resolution: On the item Torc of the Heavens and the loots Ball of Twine, Chalice of Ozem, and Dawnflower's Kiss, add the Mythic trait.

posted | back to top


Should Dawnflower's Kiss have the Slashing trait?

Yes.

Resolution: On the loot Dawnflower's Kiss, add the Slashing trait.

posted | back to top


Card Questions: City of Locusts (Wrath of the Righteous Adventure Deck 6)

Onslaught on Drezen has you gain a medal at the start of the scenario. If I fail the scenario so that I have to replay it, do I gain another medal? It's not a reward, so there's no rule that says I can't gain it twice...

Ha ha, nice try. NO.

Resolution: On the scenario Onslaught on Drezen, change "At the start of the scenario, gain a medal on the troop Champions of Mendev" to "At the start of the adventure, gain a medal on the troop Champions of Mendev". (Or, better yet, put that text on the adventure card instead of the scenario card.)

posted | back to top


Onslaught on Drezen doesn't list a villain. How do you beat it?

Defeat and corner Aponavicius.

Resolution: On the scenario Onslaught on Drezen, add the following to the end of the At This Scenario text: "You win the scenario only when you defeat and corner Aponavicius."

posted | back to top


In the scenario The Pleasure Center, which location do I shuffle any remaining henchmen into? And shouldn't I do that after I add the villain and henchman rather than before?

They should go into The Yearning House, after adding the villain and henchmen.

Resolution: In the scenario The Pleasure Center, change "After you build location decks, shuffle any henchmen from this scenario that remain in the box into the Pleasure Center" to "After you add the villain and henchmen to the location decks, shuffle any henchmen from this scenario that remain in the box into the Yearning House".

posted | back to top


What henchmen are needed for Closing the Worldwound?

We cut off the end of that list. It should have 1 Blackfire Adept and as many Brimoraks as needed.

Resolution: On the scenario Closing the Worldwound, change the henchmen line to "Henchmen: Favored of Deskari, Gimcrack, Blackfire Adept, Brimoraks."

posted | back to top


When I play the scenario Closing the Worldwound, should I have 10 mythic charges?

No. Only banes should be treated as if the scenario's adventure deck number is 10.

Resolution: On the scenario Closing the Worldwound, change "Treat the scenario's adventure deck number as 10" to "Banes treat the scenario's adventure deck number as 10".

posted | back to top


What henchmen do I shuffle into The Rasping Rifts in the scenario Justifiable Deicide?

Random henchmen that have an adventure deck number of 5 or higher.

Resolution: On the scenario Justifiable Deicide, change the Henchmen line to "Henchmen: See Below", then change "When you build The Rasping Rifts, shuffle a number of henchmen equal to 6 times the number of characters into its location deck, then place the villain on the bottom of that deck" to "When you add the villain and henchmen to the location deck, for each character, shuffle in 6 random henchmen that have an adventure deck number of 5 or higher, then put the villain on the bottom of the deck".

posted | back to top


Heart of the Worldwound lets you banish cohorts that have the Terminus trait to add 1d20 to your check to defeat it. It seems like The Suture should be able to help with that, but since The Suture can't be banished...

Yep—The Suture should be able to help here. Since banished cohorts ultimately get removed from the game, and The Suture has no prohibition against being removed from the game, let's change the action required by Heart of the Worldwound from "banish" to "remove from the game."

Resolution: On the villain Heart of the Worldwound, change "any character may banish a cohort that has the Terminus trait to add 1d20 to her check" to "any character may remove a cohort that has the Terminus trait from the game to add 1d20 to her check".

posted | back to top


Diurgez Broodlord says "if you die, uncheck 1 skill feat or 1 card feat." But Diurgez Broodlord can't kill you—he can only wipe your hand. Also, what are "mythic tokens"?

He should force you to reset your hand, and "tokens" should be "charges."

Resolution: On the henchman Diurgez Broodlord, change the second power to "If undefeated, reset your hand and expend 1d4+2 mythic charges; if you die, uncheck 1 skill feat or 1 card feat."

posted | back to top


Can the Mental damage dealt by the Rasping Rift Portal be reduced?

No.

Resolution: On the barrier Rasping Rift Portal, change "If undefeated, you are dealt 1d6+1 Force damage, then 1d6+1 Mental damage" to "If undefeated, you are dealt 1d6+1 Force damage, then 1d6+1 Mental damage that may not be reduced".

posted | back to top


Should Dragonbreath Bow have the 2-Handed trait?

Yes.

Resolution: On the weapon Dragonbreath Bow, add the 2-Handed trait.

posted | back to top


Do I ignore a bane's immunities when I reveal Master's Lash, or only when I discard it?

Only when you discard it.

Resolution: On the weapon Master's Lash, change "you may additionally discard this card to add another 3d6+3 and the Poison trait; ignore the bane’s immunities on this check" to "you may additionally discard this card to add another 3d6+3 and the Poison trait, and ignore the bane’s immunities on this check".

posted | back to top


Miracle lets you summon and play a spell from the box. Is that random, or do you choose it?

You choose it.

Resolution: On the spell Miracle, change the first power to "Bury this card and expend a mythic charge to choose a spell from the box and summon and play it."

posted | back to top


Should Amulet of the Planes have the Veteran trait?

Yes.

Resolution: On the item Amulet of the Planes, add the Veteran trait.

posted | back to top


Should Bountiful Bottle and Iron Flask have the Item trait?

No, they should have the Object trait.

Resolution: On the items Bountiful Bottle and Iron Flask, change the Item trait to the Object trait.

posted | back to top


Can I use Dire Griffon to move when there's nobody else at my location? If there are other characters at my location, do I have to move 1 of them?

You do not have to move another character when you move.

Resolution: On the ally Dire Griffon, change the first power to "At the start or end of your turn, discard this card to move; you may also move another character at your location to your new location."

posted | back to top


When you use Eliandra to choose your hand size, how long does that last?

Until the end of the turn.

Resolution: On the ally Eliandra, change "At the end of your turn, you may choose any number as your hand size, then bury this card" to "When you reset your hand at the end of the turn, choose any number; treat your hand size as that number until the end of the turn, then bury this card."

posted | back to top


When does the last part of Blessing of the Inheritor trigger?

When you play it.

Resolution: On the blessing Blessing of the Inheritor, change "If the top card of the blessings discard pile has the Iomedae trait" to "When you play this card, if the top card of the blessings discard pile has the Iomedae trait".

posted | back to top


Card Questions: Promo Cards

Should Valais Durant have the Veteran trait?

She has no powers that would suggest that trait, so no... but nothing in the game affects cohorts with the Veteran trait, so this is cosmetic.

Resolution: On the cohort Valais Durant, remove the Veteran trait.

posted | back to top


Improvised Dinosaur seems to be the only card in the game that has the Dinosaur trait. Is that correct?

No. That should be the Animal trait.

Resolution: On the weapon Improvised Dinosaur, replace the Dinosaur trait with the Animal trait.

posted | back to top



©2002-2017 Paizo Inc.® | Privacy Policy | Contact Us
Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours, Monday through Friday, 10:00 AM to 5:00 PM Pacific time.

Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, Starfinder, the Starfinder logo, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc. The Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Legends, Pathfinder Online, Starfinder Adventure Path, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.