Magus Question - Spellstrike with Spell Combat


Rules Questions

Dark Archive

If you combine Spellstrike with Spell Combat, do you get to make an additional melee attack? Example, I'm casting shocking grasp, and choose to cast it through my scimitar with a melee attack. May I also, using Spell Combat, make an additional melee attack (no spell attached) if both of these attacks take the -2 penalty?


Yeah!


Pathfinder Companion, Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber
Dust Raven wrote:
If you combine Spellstrike with Spell Combat, do you get to make an additional melee attack? Example, I'm casting shocking grasp, and choose to cast it through my scimitar with a melee attack. May I also, using Spell Combat, make an additional melee attack (no spell attached) if both of these attacks take the -2 penalty?

Correct.

Look at it this way. Spell Combat allows you to attack (at -2) AND cast a spell. If that spell allows an attack roll, it too is at -2. If that spell is able to be used with Spellstrike, resolve it normally (standard AC at -2 due to Spell Combat). So attack AND Spellstrike. Two attacks with the weapon, both at -2, one of which has a spell attached to it.

*enter Grick with the understanding Spell Combat and Spellstrike thread! :)


Dust Raven wrote:
If you combine Spellstrike with Spell Combat, do you get to make an additional melee attack? Example, I'm casting shocking grasp, and choose to cast it through my scimitar with a melee attack. May I also, using Spell Combat, make an additional melee attack (no spell attached) if both of these attacks take the -2 penalty?

When you cast a touch spell, you get to make a touch attack as a free action any time during the turn in which you cast the spell.

Using spellstrike to deliver the spell with your weapon doesn't change this.

Spell Combat lets you make your regular attack(s) and also cast a spell.

So if you use Spell Combat and cast a touch spell, then you get a free attack as well as your regular attack(s). That free attack can be a touch attack, or a melee attack if you use Spellstrike. All of those attacks will suffer the -2 penalty.

Here's A Guide to Touch Spells, Spellstrike, and Spell Combat.


yup. However, if you cast the spell on the first attack and miss, you can still try and get it off with the next attack.

Dark Archive

Grick wrote:


Here's A Guide to Touch Spells, Spellstrike, and Spell Combat.

Nice!

Sovereign Court

1 person marked this as a favorite.

That was... remarkably painless.

This is the 700th time Grick has answered that question, and he has become... exceedingly efficient.


Illeist wrote:

That was... remarkably painless.

This is the 700th time Grick has answered that question, and he has become... exceedingly efficient.

I think he has a macro...

Dark Archive

Illeist wrote:

That was... remarkably painless.

This is the 700th time Grick has answered that question, and he has become... exceedingly efficient.

Which makes me feel bad, because I searched for an answer before posting, figuring it must have been asked before. My search-fu is weak lately.

Dark Archive

Something just occurred to me. Can I use arcane mark to effectively gain an additional melee attack each round for free? Well, not for free really, more like in exchange for provoking an AoO or making a concentration check... but that still sound pretty free to me.


Dust Raven wrote:
Something just occurred to me. Can I use arcane mark to effectively gain an additional melee attack each round for free? Well, not for free really, more like in exchange for provoking an AoO or making a concentration check... but that still sound pretty free to me.

The dozen or so existing threads addressing this exact question seem to have the general consensus of "yes you can."

Search "arcane mark spellstrike" for previous discussion of this issue.


Dust Raven wrote:
Something just occurred to me. Can I use arcane mark to effectively gain an additional melee attack each round for free? Well, not for free really, more like in exchange for provoking an AoO or making a concentration check... but that still sound pretty free to me.

Short answer is yes, though some GMs may rule against it. I highly recommend A-Guide-to-Touch-Spells-Spellstrike-and-Spell Combat as it answers many of the questions about how the magus works.


Pathfinder Companion, Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber
Dust Raven wrote:
Something just occurred to me. Can I use arcane mark to effectively gain an additional melee attack each round for free? Well, not for free really, more like in exchange for provoking an AoO or making a concentration check... but that still sound pretty free to me.

Unfortunately, yes. Before the Magus came a long, Arcane Mark was never considered an "attack" spell, and was never used in combat, but that was before. If history was rewritten I'm sure all the iconic wizards of old would have used Arcane Mark to smite down their foes...

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Magus Question - Spellstrike with Spell Combat All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.