![]()
![]()
Male Human Glitter Boy; Parry=7 (-2 size), (-2 when dug in); Toughness=32(18); Pace=10 (run d10); Charisma+2; Bennies=3; Wounds=0; Fatigue=0
![]() Ace continues to run toward the source of the problem : 3" from door of shop. Running: 1d6 ⇒ 5 = 11" I would move my icon into the shop, but I don't have editing access. Can you please give me the ability to edit the apothecary shop, so I can move my icon? Thanks! ![]()
Male Human Glitter Boy; Parry=7 (-2 size), (-2 when dug in); Toughness=32(18); Pace=10 (run d10); Charisma+2; Bennies=3; Wounds=0; Fatigue=0
![]() Sorry, I usually wait for the GM to say "so-and-so and so-and-so can act" or "everyone can act", I don't like to assume. Ace continues to run towards the problem : 25" - 11" (last run) = 14" Running: 1d6 ⇒ 5 = 11" Am I now 3" away from the shop's entrance, or 3" away from the source of the fliers? ![]()
Male Human Glitter Boy; Parry=7 (-2 size), (-2 when dug in); Toughness=32(18); Pace=10 (run d10); Charisma+2; Bennies=3; Wounds=0; Fatigue=0
![]() Thanks for the map, that looks really great!
Or, since the baddies have gone first, does it really matter if we don't stick to the listed order? Or do you want us to go in "groups" (like, Jace, Aresnio and Thumper go first, but in any order between them)? ![]()
Male Human Glitter Boy; Parry=7 (-2 size), (-2 when dug in); Toughness=32(18); Pace=10 (run d10); Charisma+2; Bennies=3; Wounds=0; Fatigue=0
![]() Please go ahead and ask, more clarification can't hurt. But he only answers questions once or twice a week, so it may be a few days before you get an answer - I really lucked up with a 1-day turnaround. But based on my statement :
And his answer (emphasis added) :
Seems to indicate that the +1 in a d12+1 is indeed a "modifier", and so gets applied to the d6. However, you've said several times that that is inconsistent - I would disagree. Treating any "+N" from *anywhere* as a modifier is more consistent, is it not? ![]()
Male Human Glitter Boy; Parry=7 (-2 size), (-2 when dug in); Toughness=32(18); Pace=10 (run d10); Charisma+2; Bennies=3; Wounds=0; Fatigue=0
![]() Rigor wrote: The core issue is this: why does the Wild Die stay static through all your dice changes, from d4 to d12, and then suddenly start increasing in step with your skill die, but only in this circumstance? Because as Clint said, all total modifiers to the Trait die also applies to the d6. Below d12+1, there are no inherent modifiers to the Trait die, so the d6 stays d6. But as soon as the +1 appears, it also applies to the d6 because it is a modifier. But I know you don't agree with this answer, and I think the reason is you're seeing the +1 in d12+1 as part of the Trait roll, not as a "Trait roll with a modifier". So please phrase the question that I'll post on the Core Rules board. I'll give you a starting point, please feel free to modify it or replace it as desired : When a Trait die is d12+1 (or +2, +3, etc.), does the +1 also apply to the Wild die? If the roll is d12+1 *plus* some other bonus from an Edge or circumstance, does the +1 and the bonus apply to the Wild die? Example : the Trait roll is d12+2. Is the Wild die d6 or d6+2? Example : the Trait roll is d12+1 and +2 from some Edge. Is the Wild die d6+2 or d6+3? P.S. - I hope I'm being civil enough, I don't want to sound insulting. ![]()
Male Human Glitter Boy; Parry=7 (-2 size), (-2 when dug in); Toughness=32(18); Pace=10 (run d10); Charisma+2; Bennies=3; Wounds=0; Fatigue=0
![]() Rigor - the specific question to Clint was "If you have a trait of d12+1", so I think it's pretty clear that the question is addressing the very same issue we are. And Clint's answer is "all modifiers apply to the higher die result...without exception". I would like to post this question over at PEG, but would like you to phrase it here, so there can be no doubt about its resolution. ![]()
Male Human Glitter Boy; Parry=7 (-2 size), (-2 when dug in); Toughness=32(18); Pace=10 (run d10); Charisma+2; Bennies=3; Wounds=0; Fatigue=0
![]() Rigor - the question is literally about whether the +1 on a d12 carries over to the d6, and Clint said yes. I don't know how he could have mis-read the question. Also, some things about the rules are so "core" that they simply don't change over time. On that different note, if you'll allow me to ret-con, :
Running: 1d6 ⇒ 5 = Moves 11"
If I can't ret-con, I will have been blasting at the creatures to cover the ambassador's escape. ![]()
Male Human Glitter Boy; Parry=7 (-2 size), (-2 when dug in); Toughness=32(18); Pace=10 (run d10); Charisma+2; Bennies=3; Wounds=0; Fatigue=0
![]() Ace continues to protect the ambassador, shooting at anything that comes near, using a 3-round burst :
Assuming that hits with penalties, he does
![]()
Male Human Glitter Boy; Parry=7 (-2 size), (-2 when dug in); Toughness=32(18); Pace=10 (run d10); Charisma+2; Bennies=3; Wounds=0; Fatigue=0
![]() Rigor - from HERE, a system developer has said "All modifiers apply to the higher die result whether it is the Trait die or the Wild Die, without exception." (emphasis added). ![]()
Male Human Glitter Boy; Parry=7 (-2 size), (-2 when dug in); Toughness=32(18); Pace=10 (run d10); Charisma+2; Bennies=3; Wounds=0; Fatigue=0
![]() K-842 wrote: My actions are taken up by the run, extra action for ranged attack? I doubt there's any official rulings on this situation on the PEG boards about this, but I suppose if Running is your only other Action, then there's no MAP for the Shooting. I hadn't thought of it that way... ![]()
Male Human Glitter Boy; Parry=7 (-2 size), (-2 when dug in); Toughness=32(18); Pace=10 (run d10); Charisma+2; Bennies=3; Wounds=0; Fatigue=0
![]() Elaina - if I'm understand things correctly, you only took 1 action on your second "turn" from the Quickness, so there' no MAP (each turn in Quickness is separated from the other). That means your Shooting was an 8, which is a Raise, so add another d6 to your damage! ![]()
Male Human Glitter Boy; Parry=7 (-2 size), (-2 when dug in); Toughness=32(18); Pace=10 (run d10); Charisma+2; Bennies=3; Wounds=0; Fatigue=0
![]() Just out of curiosity, how far is the Ambassador from the Shoppe in inches? Ace continues to protect the ambassador, shooting at anything that comes near, using a 3-round burst :
Doing
Assuming the 16 doesn't get knocked down to below 8 due to penalties : Damage Raise: 1d6 ⇒ 2 = 22 ![]()
Male Human Glitter Boy; Parry=7 (-2 size), (-2 when dug in); Toughness=32(18); Pace=10 (run d10); Charisma+2; Bennies=3; Wounds=0; Fatigue=0
![]() It appears that it wasn't stated in SWD, but it was clarified by the game developers HERE. It's stated explicitly in SWADE : "Running dice never Ace" (page 92). ![]()
Male Human Glitter Boy; Parry=7 (-2 size), (-2 when dug in); Toughness=32(18); Pace=10 (run d10); Charisma+2; Bennies=3; Wounds=0; Fatigue=0
![]() Elaina - sorry, I just saw you making rolls and didn't look to see why. Nevermind... Ace stays near the ambassador, shooting at anything that comes near, using a 3-round burst :
Doing
In case the 11 doesn't get knocked down to below 8 due to penalties :
![]()
Male Human Glitter Boy; Parry=7 (-2 size), (-2 when dug in); Toughness=32(18); Pace=10 (run d10); Charisma+2; Bennies=3; Wounds=0; Fatigue=0
![]() Elaina - sorry for the late correction, but if you're Shaken, you can't attack. However, you get a free Spirit roll (no penalty since you're not Wounded) to recover, and if that fails (and you want to keep the attack) you can spend a Benny to automatically recover. ![]()
Male Human Glitter Boy; Parry=7 (-2 size), (-2 when dug in); Toughness=32(18); Pace=10 (run d10); Charisma+2; Bennies=3; Wounds=0; Fatigue=0
![]() Boomer says into his comms : "I repeat, does anyone have any idea what the source of these creatures is? If so, let us all know so we can all nullify it!" Rigor - I thought you said there weren't too many near us, but if there are creatures close enough that the ambassador can shoot at them, Boomer will too (at this point, in the next round, I guess)... ![]()
Male Human Glitter Boy; Parry=7 (-2 size), (-2 when dug in); Toughness=32(18); Pace=10 (run d10); Charisma+2; Bennies=3; Wounds=0; Fatigue=0
![]() HERE. Free download. Now that I've looked at them again, what I don't like about them is you get a Wound on an ordinary Failure, which could put some PC's out of the fight really quickly. ![]()
Male Human Glitter Boy; Parry=7 (-2 size), (-2 when dug in); Toughness=32(18); Pace=10 (run d10); Charisma+2; Bennies=3; Wounds=0; Fatigue=0
![]() PEG published something after SWD, but well before SWADE, called Quick Combat Rules. I *think* it's available as a free download PDF, and it's only 2 pages long. The problem with Dramatic Tasks is that one PC is usually trying to accomplish a specific goal, like defusing a bomb or finishing a ritual, while the other PC's are just vaguely "fighting the bad guys". The Quick Combat rules engage every PC, with different results for each PC depending on their rolls. ![]()
Male Human Glitter Boy; Parry=7 (-2 size), (-2 when dug in); Toughness=32(18); Pace=10 (run d10); Charisma+2; Bennies=3; Wounds=0; Fatigue=0
![]() K-842 : the roll is at -2, not +2, and you always apply the same modifiers to the Wild die as well. So you rolled a 1, 5 less than the TN. So you add 5 to your d20 roll of 12, getting 17, which means you have a Major Phobia. ![]()
Male Human Glitter Boy; Parry=7 (-2 size), (-2 when dug in); Toughness=32(18); Pace=10 (run d10); Charisma+2; Bennies=3; Wounds=0; Fatigue=0
![]() Rigor wrote: I've always played it as being effective immediately. That's been confirmed by a game developer on the SW boards. After casting Quickness, you get a second action in the same turn. ![]()
Male Human Glitter Boy; Parry=7 (-2 size), (-2 when dug in); Toughness=32(18); Pace=10 (run d10); Charisma+2; Bennies=3; Wounds=0; Fatigue=0
![]() Boomer holds his position, ready to fire upon any creatures that approach his little group. He is technically "On Hold". Do we have "comms" units in our ears? If so... "Does anyone have any idea what the source of these creatures is? If so, nullify it!" ![]()
Male Human Glitter Boy; Parry=7 (-2 size), (-2 when dug in); Toughness=32(18); Pace=10 (run d10); Charisma+2; Bennies=3; Wounds=0; Fatigue=0
![]() Thumper, once you're un-Shaken by spending a Benny, you can act normally this round. Boomer was with Wraith and the ambassador, and was momentarily confused by the sudden darkness : Spirit & Wild,+2 Edge, +2 Joker: 1d6 + 2 + 2 ⇒ (3) + 2 + 2 = 71d6 + 2 + 2 ⇒ (4) + 2 + 2 = 8 Having recovered, he chooses to stick close to the ambassador and shoot anything that comes near them. I may post further actions depending on the answers to the following questions... Rigor - are there any targets within 40" of us? If any are heading in our direction, I'll shoot at those first, otherwise just aim at anything. And what's the Illumination penalty for those of us with regular human eyes? ![]()
Male Human Glitter Boy; Parry=7 (-2 size), (-2 when dug in); Toughness=32(18); Pace=10 (run d10); Charisma+2; Bennies=3; Wounds=0; Fatigue=0
![]() Rigor - any estimate on when you'll be able to start the game again? I'm sure there's lots to review in order to make a reminder summary - I'm not in a hurry, just curious. ![]()
Male Human Glitter Boy; Parry=7 (-2 size), (-2 when dug in); Toughness=32(18); Pace=10 (run d10); Charisma+2; Bennies=3; Wounds=0; Fatigue=0
![]() Thumper's "mysterious mage" is still a possible option, depending on who it is and what Thumper thinks he might be able to do for us. Let's see what he says when he comes back from the con...
|