Murdock Mudeater
|
So much trouble making heads or tails of these rules. Apparently, they are PFS legal, so I'm inclined to give them a try, but each time I read them, I run into confusion after confusion.
First issue, before the individual effects, just the basic ability. As I read it, we do the individual effect AND add half the normal dice for the cleric's normal channel ability. For example, when channeling postive energy to harm undead, we'd add half the normal channel dice as normal in positive energy damage, plus the bonus effect listed for our variant channel effect. So at first level, when I have only a single die for channel, can I use the variant channelling at all? How does Variant Channelling work for a 1st level character?
Second, according to the general variant channeling, targets not normally affected by the channel remain unaffected. For example, variant channelling positive energy to heal living creatures, would not bestow the variant channelling effect on Undead. So, how does this work when the variant channeling ability has no effect on the creature type specifically mentioned within the variant channelling ability? For example, the Forge when channeled to harm, would not affect Constructs with normal channeling, but at the same time, effect describes itself as being enhanced against constructs....How does this work? Same issue with the heal on the Slavery/Tyranny (because they deities that can take it, can only channel negative energy, so it only affects undead).
Third, Can a Bones Oracle take Variant Channeling? The variant channeling says that necromancers are only ineligible because their channel ability does not come from a deity.
Murdock Mudeater
|
Quote:For example, paladins can select alternative channeling abilities if they serve a deity, as can oracles with the Life mystery (as they serve many deities), but necromancer wizards cannot.
A bones oracle is not a life oracle. My question is regarding the bones oracle. The reason I ask is that the Bones Oracle channel ability has very similar wording to the Necromancer's one, so it seems kinda unclear where the intention lies.
KingOfAnything
|
| 1 person marked this as a favorite. |
A list of examples is not exhaustive. The condition is, "does my spellcaster gain channel from a deity?." The answer for an oracle is "yes". An oracle is a divine class, a necromancer is not.
Variant Channeling wouldn't do anything for a Bones oracle, because they don't heal or harm.