Be All That You Can Be! In Adven-n-n-ture Deck 2!

Tuesday, June 23, 2015

Important! This blog post, including previewed cards, features substantial spoilers of the plot and events in the second installment of the Wrath of the Righteous Adventure Path. Please tread carefully if you plan to play through the Pathfinder RPG version of the story, or if you like to be surprised by events in the Pathfinder Adventure Card Game.

When we left our intrepid heroes, they had just fled a collapsing city (and the Storm King), fought through the underground, and reclaimed their city from hordes of undead. Now all they have to do is travel through the heart of the Worldwound and conquer another city filled with demons in Wrath of the Righteous Adventure Deck 2: Sword of Valor. Piece of cake!

Your adventure begins with the scenario "The Gibbering Swarm." If you're anything like me, you're always having trouble finding the monsters in a location deck. You keep running into the constant frustration of finding allies and weapons. Well, this scenario takes that frustration away! For each of the locations you'll face here, take all of the monsters and put them right on top of the deck. You'll never have to search for them again!


Why must they gibber?

Those monsters are aided by the annoying little Vescavor Swarms we last saw in Elven Entanglement. I'm sure you remember them. (You certainly would if you had to banish your weapon when fighting them before.)


Game over, man! Game over!

And of course, we have their queen. You do not want to get close to her! At least, not if you only want to have to beat a 20 on your combat check. But if you're happy to add another 1d6 to that, by all means, wade right into melee.

How Many Demons in a Cadre?

Wrath of the Righteous is not afraid to try new things, and in this adventure, we're introducing armies. The players and the banes both have armies of a sort. Let's look at the player's version first. In certain scenarios, the players get a new support card type: the troop card. In adventure deck 2, your troops are the Knights of Kenabres, the loyal army you're marching to Drezen.


We are the knights who say "Kenabres!"

While you're traveling with your troop, after you complete each scenario in this adventure, you'll check one of the six boxes on this card; each one corresponds to a skill such as Strength or Intelligence. Whenever you encounter a barrier that has the Army trait (because an army is much too big to just be a "monster"), each character adds 1d6 to his checks against the army when using the skills you checked on your troop. Also, at the end of the adventure, when the town of Drezen is cleared of all its baddies, everyone gets an amazing reward based on the skills you checked, so choose carefully!

Of course, your enemies have their own armies, and they are no joke. When you encounter an enemy Army, all characters must face them, no matter where they are. (After all, armies are really big.) Characters must each attempt a different check from among those listed on the card. If any of the checks fail, the army is undefeated. Not only that, but the enemy army immediately pillages the location deck for any remaining boons before heading off to maraud another open location. You're definitely going to need those bonuses from the Knights of Kenabres.


What forces all these chaotic creatures to march together?

Moar Demons

There are, of course, several new demons for you to face. The Incubus, as you might imagine, has a "close friend" in the form of the adventure's servitor demon. And if you lose the fight, he'll just have to take one of your allies with him when he goes. Nobody parties quite like the Incubus.


Often seen drinking together.

The Betrayal Demon doesn't really have any friends, so he wants to make sure that you don't have any either: no allies for you, and other players can't pitch in to help. On his way out, he'll somehow convince you to stab one of your friends. That's sure to increase your popularity.

Lead Me Not into Temptation

There's another mechanic that is new to Wrath of the Righteous that I haven't really talked about yet: Temptation. These banes are a new kind of barrier. Unlike other banes, you don't have to defeat them. When you encounter them, they present a choice to the players—sometimes immediately, and sometimes they lie in wait. Each of them provides a valuable new ability to the players, but there's always a cost.

Adventure 2 introduces the Blood of Eustoyriax. I'm sure your mother warned you never to drink the blood of a demon, but she's not here right now, so maybe you should consider it. After all, drawing a bunch of cards at the start of your turn seems like a pretty big advantage, and you might not even have to bury any cards (if you get lucky).


Tastes like burning!

The Good Guys

Not everything is made of flames and death. This expansion includes some new cohorts. Queen Galfrey lets you either gain a bunch of boons or raise the dead, and Nurah Dendiwhar lets you add to any check. Of course, it turns out one of these women might have a different agenda than the other one, so there could be some consequences to her help, but I wouldn't worry about it too much...


At least one of these women will help you.

One More Cool Thing

You know all of those irritating Corrupted cards you've been carrying around and wondering what to do with? Behold the Corruption Forge!


Redeem boons for valuable prizes!

This set gives you your first opportunity to redeem a Corrupted item. All you have to do is banish a non-Corrupted blessing when you close the location. Then you can redeem any card in any character's hand. Which one will you pick?

Well, that about wraps it up for Adventure Deck 2. Come back soon for a peek at Adventure Deck 3. Wait... Adventure Deck 3? OH MY GOODNESS! Wait until you see it! We did something we've never done before! We actually put a...

Mike: BACK TO WORK, PETERSON!

Paul Peterson
Adventure Card Game Designer

More Paizo Blog.
Tags: Pathfinder Adventure Card Game
51 to 74 of 74 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>
Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

2 people marked this as a favorite.

If your Stealth skill is based on your Dexterity skill, and you are using your Stealth skill, you are also using your Dexterity skill.

But if you don't have the Stealth skill on your character card (so you're just using a d4), then you are using *only* your Stealth skill; your Dexterity doesn't come into play.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Longshot11 wrote:

From this blog post, a few questions spring to mind:

1) "...the enemy army immediately pillages the location deck for any remaining boons before heading off to maraud another open location..."

Is that the real intent of the Armies? Does that mean they should be FAQed to shuffle into "ANOTHER random location" ?

Mechanically, you may have several different cards that each represent the army, but conceptually, it's one big army that you keep encountering all over the place.

Longshot11 wrote:
The Cohorts: I thought when you banish a Cohort, you're supposed to remove it from the game? Does that mean these cards are supposed to be one-off, kinda like the Genie ally loot in S&S?

For cohorts that have only "banish" powers, yes.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

Michael Klaus wrote:
Apparently Troop is a 4th new, not covored by the rule book, Support type.

We're sneaky that way. The rules for the troop card type appear on the back of the troop card.

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game Developer

Keith Richmond wrote:
When Seelah smites the army of demons down, ain't nobody got time for some Craft check.

Of course, because she's the best!


Vic Wertz wrote:
Michael Klaus wrote:
Apparently Troop is a 4th new, not covored by the rule book, Support type.
We're sneaky that way. The rules for the troop card type appear on the back of the troop card.

Ah that makes sense. I like this kind of surprise.

When we were reading the rules for cohorts for the first time a few days ago, I had just theorized if y group of cohort soldiers would show up in an upcoming adventure, but this works out even better.


Longshot11 wrote:
elcoderdude wrote:
Also, it's difficult to see how the Knights power could have been worded to make this clearer.

Actually, there're at least two way and that's the thing. My biggest red flag that the Knights do not apply to Stealth et al. is an *argument from the contrary*: if it was intended to work with those skills, the card could easily say either of the following:

"a Strength/Dexterity/... check"
or
"a check with the Strength/Dexterity/... trait"

The fact that this is not the language used indicates for me that it specifically wanted to exclude derivative skills. mind you, this is not the first PACG to see the light of day, and as each edition gradually improves wording and gets more attention to detail, I don't believe this can be just an oversight, especially on such gard that's granted to get a lot of exposure.

Thank you Vic, Mike etc. for sneaking this into the rules:

Wrath rulebook says wrote:
"The skill you’re using for the check, and any skill referenced by that skill, are added as traits to the check."
Skull rulebook says wrote:
"Any skills you use are added as traits to the check."

So Longshot is right and all others (including me) are wrong: As of Wrath you can only ever use one Skill not two on a check. I am not happy with this resolution since apparently no one told the designer of the Knight of Kenabres about this.

So wheter Adowyn makes a Stealth or a combat check, RAW she can never make use of the current troop card.
I hope that this will get an FAQ instead of simply putting it aside with a "people will understand what we mean" attitude.
And while rewriting page 12: a)The more general rule for a combat check is still hidden at the end of that paragraph. b)Determining the type of check by skill used and trait(s) is still redundant if it is clear that the skill used is added as a trait.


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber
Michael Klaus wrote:
So Longshot is right and all others (including me) are wrong: As of Wrath you can only ever use one Skill not two on a check.

Ahem.

Actually, 5 posts above you Vic confirmed the contrary:

"If your Stealth skill is based on your Dexterity skill, and you are using your Stealth skill, you are also using your Dexterity skill."

So, Yey! fro Knights not being useless, Boo! for wording clarity.


Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

"Any skills you use are added as traits to the check" doesn't mean there may only be one skill used. It just means you cannot add to the initial number of skills involved during the "determine which skill you use" check.
But that initial number may be two - typically if you determine you gonna use a Arcane check and you have Arcane = Intelligence +2 on your character card. Then both Arcane and Intelligence are part of your initial determination.

Just rephrasing Vic...

Am I making sense?


2 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

So, Paul has been hinting at something that Mike keeps stopping him from really talking about. And it looks like it comes in Adventure 3. Here are the things he's said:

First Hint

Paul Peterson wrote:
In fact, I hope you're very excited (and a little afraid). I know that I am! I can't wait to tell you more about each of the adventure decks, especially Adventure Deck 3, where we'll be releasing...

Second Hint

Paul Peterson wrote:
In the adventure path, Radiance is just a simple sword that you find early on, but as you perform brave deeds, more of its abilities unlock, and it grows along with the characters. You'll see more about how we are doing this in a really cool way in adventure...

Third Hint (at the end of this blog)

Paul Peterson wrote:
Come back soon for a peek at Adventure Deck 3. Wait... Adventure Deck 3? OH MY GOODNESS! Wait until you see it! We did something we've never done before! We actually put a...

Now, the first and second hint specifically mention deck 3, while the second does not. These could be foreshadowing 1 thing or 3 things. But I know this: I'm super excited for July. Now I've just got to make sure I've got a party through deck 2 in time to enjoy deck 3. I just hope they can survive that long.


Hawkmoon269 wrote:


Second Hint

Paul Peterson wrote:
In the adventure path, Radiance is just a simple sword that you find early on, but as you perform brave deeds, more of its abilities unlock, and it grows along with the characters. You'll see more about how we are doing this in a really cool way in adventure...

I've thought about this occasionally ever since Paul first wrote it. I expected it to be explained when I read Radiance and it wasn't, which it was has been so intriguing...


It could just be a new card altogether.

"When permanently closed: On closing, you may remove from the game 1 "Radiance" in your hand to draw the loot "Awakened Radiance."


Orbis Orboros wrote:

It could just be a new card altogether.

"When permanently closed: On closing, you may remove from the game 1 "Radiance" in your hand to draw the loot "Awakened Radiance."

I wondered that

Pokemon, then ;)


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber
Vic Wertz wrote:
Longshot11 wrote:
The Cohorts: I thought when you banish a Cohort, you're supposed to remove it from the game? Does that mean these cards are supposed to be one-off, kinda like the Genie ally loot in S&S?
For cohorts that have only "banish" powers, yes.

Unless it;s purely for gameplay reasons, can someone spoler-tag for me what happens with those two cohorts in the RPG, as I generally take 'banish' on an ally to mean "dies" (I presumed that for that farmer Ally in RotR from the Skinsaw Murders and never looked back)


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

I've often wondered that too, though I think "banish" is sometimes just meant to keep you from reusing the power or represents a character that shows up from time to time. For example, Ven Vinder is the shopkeeper. His power lets you banish him to get a random item. You are basically shopping at his shop. Ameiko has a banish power too, but I don't get the impression she dies. She just shows up to help you from time to time.

Now, the Guard being banished to reduce damage to you, I pictured that as him sacrificing his life for yours.

The cohorts though are removed from the game when banished, so that could more easily represent them dying.


Longshot11 wrote:
Vic Wertz wrote:
Longshot11 wrote:
The Cohorts: I thought when you banish a Cohort, you're supposed to remove it from the game? Does that mean these cards are supposed to be one-off, kinda like the Genie ally loot in S&S?
For cohorts that have only "banish" powers, yes.

Unless it;s purely for gameplay reasons, can someone spoler-tag for me what happens with those two cohorts in the RPG, as I generally take 'banish' on an ally to mean "dies" (I presumed that for that farmer Ally in RotR from the Skinsaw Murders and never looked back)

"Banish a cohort" is a game mechanic. Its implication could be a spoiler for the RPG AP. I haven't played it, but it seems pretty clear to me:

Spoiler:
Being the actual queen, Galfrey supports you with a singular boon; due to Mendev's political situation, she can't do much more for the team.

Nurah, as you might guess from her 1/12 chance effect, is Chaotic Evil and has found a chance to betray you and murder one of your friends. Needless to say, she's not welcome back if this happens.


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

The cutest Chaotic Evil around. :(

Not having melee characters, the AP2 Cohorts were often underwhelming choices to us. We only used to the bard's power two or three times, but a recharge to explore is too exciting to pass up!

Though, if I'm remembering the rules of the card right, I was sure to keep a Basic Riding Horse around as a sacrificial lamb.

Scarab Sages

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

The title of this blog post would have been so much better for Adventure Deck 3, which would have made it rhyme. Because rhyming is awesome.


Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Card Game, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber
Calthaer wrote:
The title of this blog post would have been so much better for Adventure Deck 3, which would have made it rhyme. Because rhyming is awesome.

I'm sure Paul Peterson already has the blog post for adventure 3 written and waiting to post the second Mike lets him, given how anxious he's been about telling us about The Thing In Adventure Deck 3.

Sovereign Court

2 people marked this as a favorite.

I can see it now

"Aw nuts, I forgot it was actually Adventure FOUR where awesome thing happens!"


Well, this I can say: the banes more than offset Mythic Path. So the end reward is most certainly NOT overpowered even if bane scaling doesn't account for it.

(Keep in mind also that the skill feats are distributed across five stats, so their actual effect on your character will be less than "oh my pantheon, five skill feats!" would suggest.)


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber
Aron Kir wrote:
Recharge this card to add 1d6 plus the scenario's adventure deck number to any Strength, Melee, or Disable check by a character at your location; then if you don't have a role card, bury any cards that have the Liquid trait.

The art for this card depicts a character that looks a little tipsy... I like to think that you have to banish liquid trait cards because he drinks all your booze - or at least everything he thinks is booze. Please tell me this is the case with the character in the AP.


Aron Kir, Crusader Tactician and Engineer:

Aron has lead a rough life, but with the support of his lover Sosiel, he’s made great strides forward. His knowledge of battlefield tactics aids the defense of the Knights of Kenabres, but if he succumbs to old addictions, he may well become a dangerous liability to the heroes.


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber
Xexyz wrote:
Aron Kir wrote:
... then if you don't have a role card, bury ANY cards that have the Liquid trait.

If this is indeed the text of the card, where do you bury from? Your discard? Your hand? Both?


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

If unspecified, it is always your hand.

51 to 74 of 74 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>
Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / General Discussion / Paizo Blog: Be All That You Can Be! In Adven-n-n-ture Deck 2! All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in General Discussion