Using a Lance While Mounted


Rules Questions

Liberty's Edge

1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

When I use a lance while mounted, do I treat i as a one handed weapon and add STR damage, or as a two handed weapon and add 1.5 STR damage?


When you wield the lance one-handed while mounted you only get Str, not 1.5 Str, this would be like using a bastard sword one-handed, but the lance does double damage when charging


2 people marked this as a favorite.

That is incorrect.

You treat it as a two-handed weapon and add 1.5 STR damage.

In situations like the Titan Mauler's jotungrip ability or the Phalanx Soldier's phalanx fighting ability, where you actually use it as a one-handed weapon, you add 1x STR and 1x Power Attack.
Relevant FAQ

However, in situations like wielding a lance while mounted, where it is still a two-handed weapon, but is just being used in one hand, you add 1.5x STR and 1.5x Power attack.
Relevant FAQ

If those FAQs seem contradictory to you, don't worry.
You
are
not
alone.

The bastard sword is a completely separate issue that I really don't want to get into right now, and trust me, you don't either. Also, I would have to link 3 more FAQs, and that would take much too long.


Yes those are contradictory, That first FAQ you mention is the later one and it does say

If you're wielding it in one hand (even if it is normally a two-handed weapon), treat it as a one-handed weapon for the purpose of how much Strength to apply, the Power Attack damage bonus, and so on.

Jotungrip seems to say the same. Phalanx Soldier only mentions using it one handed, so with all that I find the most inconsistent thing is the second FAQ you mentioned.

Maybe the most confusing part though is that the lance description doesn't mention treating it as a 1-handed weapon, so you could rule that it was still 1.5x Str.

Personal opinion, I would still go with 1-handed wielding = 1x Str, simpler all around. Lance is already devastating without that extra 0.5 Str

How do they handle this in PFS?


1.5 str

Grand Lodge

They are easy to resolve as non-contradictory, though (most people just don't want to, because it requires making a distinction between two very similar phrases that may or may not be intended to have been different). The language used for the lance is different from the other abilities. Namely, it lacks the "as one-handed" language that Jotungrip and Phalanx Fighting have.

So, yeah. They can be resolved as non-contradictory, but they really need to have the language cleared up and the designer's intent shown.

As for PFS, there's no specific rules in place so we handle it the same way that the Rules forum has: the dreaded table variation.

Sovereign Court

It's 1.5x Str, and it counts as two-handed for PA for that matter. It's not that complicated, and it's not contradictory.


I'm all for more clarity, how would you have this read? So far in groups I've played in we've never done 1.5 Str using any weapon in one hand. If that's incorrect I'd like to see that specific language so I can bring it to my group.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

You may not necessarily apply the power attack faq on the lance to the strength.

Its in "who the heck knows, someone broke the game" territory.


Sounds like we'll probably not make any changes anytime soon.

Liberty's Edge

"Go not to the Elves for counsel, for they will say both 'no' and 'yes'."
- J. R. R. Tolkien

I'll just go with 1x.
Now I'll go back to translating some Latin sentences.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Maps Subscriber

Use the search feature to find all the other threads about this.
Like This one or This one.

A two-handed weapon wieldable in one hand by special exception (the lance) remains a two-handed weapon for all other purposes (power attack, etc.).
A two-handed weapon "treated as a one-handed weapon" calculates as a one-handed weapon for all purposes.

Sczarni

I recently ran into this problem with the Iconic Cavalier. His statblock from Master of the Fallen Fortress lists his Strength bonus as being 1x. He doesn't have Power Attack.

I interpret the two FAQs this way: that the general rule regarding Strength/Power Attack is that you get 1x when wielding a two-handed weapon one-handed, but that the Lance is a specific exception regarding Power Attack.

Kind of like the Monk FoB. 1x Strength with a two-handed weapon, but 1.5x with Power Attack.

I would love those two FAQs to be consolidated into one, though.


Yeah, the two FAQs technically aren't contradictory, but a lot of people are either confused by or just plain don't like how it works off of very minute language differences that aren't explicitly called out anywhere in the rulebooks. In other words, it's typical of the kind of Paizo FAQs that generate a lot of controversy.

Sovereign Court

Theconiel wrote:

"Go not to the Elves for counsel, for they will say both 'no' and 'yes'."

- J. R. R. Tolkien

I'll just go with 1x.
Now I'll go back to translating some Latin sentences.

You can do you what you want - but that would be a houserule. By the rules - you get 1.5x str & 3:1 PA ratio.


I'm sorry, maybe I'm blind, but I don't see anything in the FAQ that was quoted that mentioned 1.5 strength bonus. I see power attack, but not strength. Am I missing something?

The rules in the combat section reference only the amount of hands you're wielding your weapon in, so it should be 1x strength.

The rules for power attack reference a one handed weapon wielded in two hands or a two handed weapon. A lance is listed under two handed weapons, so it gets the 3 to 1 power attack ratio.

So from what I can see, the answer is 1x strength. Seems to work just fine.


The lance gets special snowflake rules that contradict every similar case.

No, I don't understand it either.


rules are rules, you can wield a lance in one hand while mounted , but you don't get the 1.5 str unless you wield in two hands as stated in the combat rules. The faq mentioned several times above only covers power attack when using a lance while mounted and gives you the bonus for it being a two handed weapon regardless of how many hands you are using.

Silver Crusade

One youn cannot weild a lance 2-handed while mounted it is physicaly impossible.
You are getting the bonus damage from the momentum of the charging 2000pound horse that you are mounted on.the person who wrote that rule most likely inferred that someone reading the rule would take that into consideration. The knight is not using his own muscle to power the lance, the butt off the lance is in a cup that is attached to his horses saddle.

That is why there are crave outs in the rules for mounted lances. Have any of the poster ever seen a joust lances are never used two handed while mounted you have a shield in your off hand. You don't fight with a lance dismounted they are made of wood and would not last more than one blow with any melee weapon.

Grand Lodge

Lou, nothing you just said is reflected in the rules of the game. In fact, the second thing you said (not fighting with a lance dismounted) is explicitly wrong per the rules of the game.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Maps Subscriber

Lou, there was a lance used from horseback with two hands. It's call the Kontos


Lou Diamond wrote:

One youn cannot weild a lance 2-handed while mounted it is physicaly impossible.

You are getting the bonus damage from the momentum of the charging 2000pound horse that you are mounted on.the person who wrote that rule most likely inferred that someone reading the rule would take that into consideration. The knight is not using his own muscle to power the lance, the butt off the lance is in a cup that is attached to his horses saddle.

That is why there are crave outs in the rules for mounted lances. Have any of the poster ever seen a joust lances are never used two handed while mounted you have a shield in your off hand. You don't fight with a lance dismounted they are made of wood and would not last more than one blow with any melee weapon.

OK I have seen the whole real life mechanics argument before, but this is not real life, this is a table top rpg with magic. If you want to argue and use real life mechanics then go do it in real life. And using the whole momentum of the horse or Mount(in my case a dragon) argument, been there done that, didn't fly with my gm. I was not happy about it, but after reading the rules I can see why he made the decision. Again show me in the rules or faqs where it says you get the 1.5 str modifier added to the lance wielding it one-handed while mounted. I know the rules and faqs concerning mounted combat are not the best and need to be redone. When you get down to it this becomes a RAW vs RAI, then its totally up to the dm/gm running the campaign.


Lou Diamond wrote:

One youn cannot weild a lance 2-handed while mounted it is physicaly impossible.

You are getting the bonus damage from the momentum of the charging 2000pound horse that you are mounted on.the person who wrote that rule most likely inferred that someone reading the rule would take that into consideration. The knight is not using his own muscle to power the lance, the butt off the lance is in a cup that is attached to his horses saddle.

That is why there are crave outs in the rules for mounted lances. Have any of the poster ever seen a joust lances are never used two handed while mounted you have a shield in your off hand. You don't fight with a lance dismounted they are made of wood and would not last more than one blow with any melee weapon.

Reality vs fantasy aside, saying you can't wield a lance 2 handed is not true.

You might be making the understandable mistake of only taking jousting lances in account. In actual combat there are many examples of 2 handed use.

And I guess OP that would be my 2 cents, if the player wants to wield a shield along with the lance, it's 1x strength bonus. If he/she wields it in both hands, it's 1.5x strength


Pathfinder Maps Subscriber
swordfalcon wrote:
Again show me in the rules or faqs where it says you get the 1.5 str modifier added to the lance wielding it one-handed while mounted.

Right HERE

It says "Power Attack: If I am using a two-handed weapon with one hand (such as a lance while mounted), do still I get the +50% damage for using a two-handed weapon?
Yes."

Good enough ?


2 people marked this as a favorite.
SlimGauge wrote:
swordfalcon wrote:
Again show me in the rules or faqs where it says you get the 1.5 str modifier added to the lance wielding it one-handed while mounted.

Right HERE

It says "Power Attack: If I am using a two-handed weapon with one hand (such as a lance while mounted), do still I get the +50% damage for using a two-handed weapon?
Yes."

Good enough ?

Um, that question is specifically in reference to power attack. That's why it starts with "Power Attack:".


SlimGauge wrote:
swordfalcon wrote:
Again show me in the rules or faqs where it says you get the 1.5 str modifier added to the lance wielding it one-handed while mounted.

Right HERE

It says "Power Attack: If I am using a two-handed weapon with one hand (such as a lance while mounted), do still I get the +50% damage for using a two-handed weapon?
Yes."

Good enough ?

Again key words are "str modifier" not power attack. The faq you referenced covers power attack only. Again wish paizo would clarify this more, until then this is a RAW vs RAI. You can infer all you want and maybe get your gm/dm to houserule it, if your lucky. But alot of your stricter DM/GM(s) will go by the rules as written.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Using a Lance While Mounted All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.