Polymorph Any Object Koblod to Dragon


Advice


How long do you think it would last? About half of Koblod culture is about how closely Koblods are related to dragons and the other half is about getting closer to them. So you would expect them to try.

How many dragon abilities would the koblod in question get?


Polymorph Any Object functions like Greater Polymorph.
If you use this spell to cause the target to take on the form of a dragon, the spell functions as Form of the Dragon I.

I personally will give a week before polymorphed kobold returns to his original form.


Looking at the table, I'd consider that a "7" (same kingdom- "Animal", same class- "reptilian"). So, duration would be 1 week.

The spell says it functions as greater polymorph, which itself says can function as form of the dragon I.

So-- consult form of the dragon I for the effects of casting polymorph any object to transform a kobold into a dragon.

[Edit...Ninja'd!]


Aren't they also Related?


The examples given in the spell description are "Twig is to tree" and "fur is to wolf". "Kobold is to dragon" does not fit. So no, I wouldn't consider them related.

And honestly, for balance purposes you should never really let a PC get a permanent buff like constantly being a dragon for free. However, this is an issue outside of game mechanics and many people probably disagree with me. But, as a player I would be very upset as a fighter if the GM let the wizard permanently turn himself into a dragon for no expense.

The Exchange

I dunno. They're different creature types (Humanoid vs. Dragon) so I don't know that I'd give the spell a higher duration just because they're both reptilian. (The days when the sword +2, +3 vs. reptiles had a higher effect on both are long, long gone.)


Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

And what about the 'Same or lower Intelligence' bit? Could a Kobold not be just as intelligent as a Dragon? And in the case with Form of the Dragon 1, your intelligence doesn't change.

That being said, a medium creature would have the same size as a dragon, and would have a +5 from kingdom, +2 from intelligence, +2 from size. That's a 9. Wouldn't that be a permanent buff?


This would be more useful for non-casters. A wizard can just keep renewing his buffs. I was thinking of a non-cater getting a scroll.


Manticores are Magical Beasts, shrews are animals....but they seem to count as the same class in the example. So kobold to dragon would seem to qualify to me.

I think the answer depends on precisely what dragon you are polymorphing into.

A typical kobold is small size with an Int of 10. A Very Young White dragon is small size with an Int of 8.

So you have same kingdom, same class, same size, same or lower Int = permanent duration!


Samasboy1 wrote:

Manticores are Magical Beasts, shrews are animals....but they seem to count as the same class in the example. So kobold to dragon would seem to qualify to me.

I think the answer depends on precisely what dragon you are polymorphing into.

A typical kobold is small size with an Int of 10. A Very Young White dragon is small size with an Int of 8.

So you have same kingdom, same class, same size, same or lower Int = permanent duration!

And this brings up a very interesting question, if this is true (kobold polymorph into very young white dragon+permanent duration) then what happens if that Drabold goes up a size category from age? Do they age like a dragon or kobold? Would the duration of the spell change to a shorter one? Lots of questions open up with this...


Green Smashomancer wrote:
this brings up a very interesting question, if this is true (kobold polymorph into very young white dragon+permanent duration) then what happens if that Drabold goes up a size category from age? Do they age like a dragon or kobold? Would the duration of the spell change to a shorter one? Lots of questions open up with this...

If I had to venture a guess, Polymorph Any Object is considered a magical effect and as such can be dispelled or suppressed at any time, so long as the dispeller has a higher caster level than the effect they're attempting to dispel.

There are two ways a DM could go with this while still following what rules there are:
1) It's just magic that's keeping the creature in that form. They age according to their original race but their polymorphed form shows no signs of aging. In this dragon-kobold case, they live a kobold's lifespan, never growing into another size/age category.
2) The magic has shifted the creature and is more or less remaining to maintain what the original creature once was. The kobold-dragon would age and grow as a normal dragon would, and if/when the polymorph is dispelled, the kobold either immediately dies from old age (outlived its lifespan as a kobold) or it just pops out at the exact age it was when it was transformed.

All three make for interesting possibilities.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Advice / Polymorph Any Object Koblod to Dragon All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.