Master of Many Styles...


Rules Questions

1 to 50 of 67 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>

29 people marked this as FAQ candidate. Answered in the FAQ. 1 person marked this as a favorite.

I have looked through various threads when I searched for it, but just like the wording, it was vague...

What is the official answer to the wording...

Spoiler:
At 1st level, 2nd level, and every four levels thereafter, a master of many styles may select a bonus style feat or the Elemental Fist feat. He does not have to meet the prerequisites of that feat, except the Elemental Fist feat. Alternatively, a master of many styles may choose a feat in that style’s feat path (such as Earth Child Topple) as one of these bonus feats if he already has the appropriate style feat (such as Earth Child Style). The master of many styles does not need to meet any other prerequisite of the feat in the style’s feat path.

The main problem I see is that either side requires a change in the wording...

To limit access to Elemental Fist the wording should be...

Spoiler:
He does not have to meet the prerequisites of that feat, except for the Elemental Fist feat.

To grant access to Elemental Fist the wording should be...

Spoiler:
He does not have to meet the prerequisites of that feat, except for having the Elemental Fist feat.

Both are reasonable, but both modifiy the RAW.


Seems pretty clear. They do not need to meet feat prerequisites for style feats. They do need to meet the prerequisites for Elemental Fist. I'm not sure where the misunderstanding is? Could you explain a little better?


2 people marked this as a favorite.

The wording itself is unclear.

In order to come to your conclusion, it is required to use 'implied meaning' to fill in the blanks.

Problem: 'implied meaning' is subjective, if you want it to be limiting, you assume that the 'implied' is restrictive.

Conversly: If you want it to be open, you assume that the 'implied meaning' is permissive.

I attempt to take a objective view, and therefore, refuse to assume either way, and call for an official statement of RAI.


What is subjective about it?

PRD wrote:
At 1st level, 2nd level, and every four levels thereafter, a master of many styles may select a bonus style feat or the Elemental Fist feat. He does not have to meet the prerequisites of that feat, except the Elemental Fist feat.

First, it says what he may select as bonus feats. Style feats and Elemental Fist.

Then, it gives us two things. First, in italics, it states he ignores perquisites for style feats. Then after the comma, it states (the bolded parts) that there is an exception, the Elemental Fist feat. Not in relation to style feats, in relation to taking the feat itself.

That isn't subjective. It isn't implied meaning. It is stated directly.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Krigare wrote:
That isn't subjective. It isn't implied meaning. It is stated directly.

You can read the sentence in two ways:

1) He does need to meet the prerequisites of Elemental Fist

2) While he ignores prerequisites for style feats, if a style feat has Elemental Fist as a prerequisite, he still needs Elemental Fist to take the style.

To be honest, I rather think it's #2. The styles that require Elemental Fist don't function at all if you do not have it, as all the do is modify its use. That to me indicates that you must have Elemental Fist before taking them (and also explains why the Master of Many Styles can take Elemental Fist as a bonus feat to begin with).


Looks like I need to get my tweed jacket...

The question is how the dependant clause modifies the independant clause.

OR

Whether the dependant clause is adding a condition or an exemption.

In general, expecially in rules, the dependant clause is adding a condition.

This brings me back to asking for an official position.

Strictly from an english standpoint, #2 is the most likely. Though it still is an awkward sentance that can use with clerification.


I coulda sworn I saw some caveat in there about how you have to choose one type of damage and stick with it if you take the Feat without meeting the prerequisites, until such time that you meet the prerequisites.

Ah, found it. Turns out that was just if you took Dragon Ferocity.


I would say with confidence that it is case 2: You may ignore any prerequisites for Style feats unless they require Elemental Fist. In that case you may ignore all the other prerequisites but must have Elemental Fist before buying the feat.


Just another thought...

If the intent was #1, it would have been easier, not to mention clearer, to just word it as "He does not have to meet the prerequisites of style feats."


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

I would read it, and it has been ruled for PFS at least in the same manner, that he:
1: ignores the prereqs for the first style feat in any chain, and once he has the first, ignores any prereqs for the following feats in that style chain.
2: With the exception of elemental fist, which he has to meet the prereqs for, and any style feat that requires elemental fist, which he has to have altho he ignores any -other- prereqs of those feats.

Because that means he has to take dragon style, and choose only one element for the elemental fist feat to apply to until he achieves 8th level.

My logic is that this is RAI, otherwise the Master of Four Winds, who gets elemental fist at level 1, applicable to all elements, is pretty much made obselete, which they try not to do.


TG can you cite your source please.


Tempest_Knight wrote:
TG can you cite your source please.

I'm not TG but I'd be willing to bet these are what he's referring to.

Quote:
At 1st level, 2nd level, and every four levels thereafter, a master of many styles may select a bonus style feat or the Elemental Fist feat. He does not have to meet the prerequisites of that feat, except the Elemental Fist feat. Alternatively, a master of many styles may choose a feat in that style’s feat path (such as Earth Child Topple) as one of these bonus feats if he already has the appropriate style feat (such as Earth Child Style). The master of many styles does not need to meet any other prerequisite of the feat in the style’s feat path.
Dragon Ferocity wrote:
Taking this feat allows you to qualify for the Elemental Fist feat even if you do not meet that feat’s prerequisites. If you do not meet that feat’s prerequisites, you must choose one of the damage types that feat offers, and you can use only that damage type with your Elemental Fist attacks until you meet the feat’s normal prerequisites. A monk with this feat can use Elemental Fist as if he were a monk of the four winds.


I am 95% confident it's #2, for what that's worth, but there's no RAW back up, only an educated guess on what RAI is.


Rynjin, if you reread the thread, you will see that this issue is about how to read that second sectince of the rules text.

Dragon Ferocity does not even enter into this.

TG has stated that there is an official PFS ruling and I was asking him to cite his source. In part, because it does something that English doesn't allow for.

English gives us two ways to read the sentence in question;
1.) you ignore prerequisites for style feats, but not Elemental Fist.

OR

2.) You ignore prerequisites other than Elemental Fist.

So I'm again back to asking for an official position.


Tempest_Knight wrote:

Rynjin, if you reread the thread, you will see that this issue is about how to read that second sectince of the rules text.

Dragon Ferocity does not even enter into this.

TG has stated that there is an official PFS ruling and I was asking him to cite his source. In part, because it does something that English doesn't allow for.

English gives us two ways to read the sentence in question;
1.) you ignore prerequisites for style feats, but not Elemental Fist.

OR

2.) You ignore prerequisites other than Elemental Fist.

So I'm again back to asking for an official position.

English gives us only one way to read that sentence.

"He does not have to meet the prerequisites of that feat, except the Elemental Fist feat."

He does not have to meet the prerequisites of that Feat (referring back to "a bonus Style Feat"). The exception to this is Elemental Fist, which you do have to meet the prerequisites for. I fail to see where this confusion stems from, even re-reading everything.

The Dragon Ferocity text is there because you asked TG to cite his source without naming any specific part of his post. Part of his post mentioned that part of the Dragon Ferocity description.


But if the independent clause is referring to the first sentence, then the dependent clause can only be modifying how we ignore the prerequisites.

If that is true, we ignore all prerequisites other than Elemental First. As Elemental Fist does not have Elemental Fist as a prerequisite, we ignore all prerequisites.

Of course, the dependent clause could be limiting the independent clause. In that case you would be correct, but that would have been more easily and clearly stated as '... doesn't have to meet the prerequisites style feat'.

This puts us back to two ways to read the sentence and, to be perfectly frank, the more grammatically correct reading would be the reading mpl is supporting.

As for TG, he stated that there was an official ruling, and that was what I was asking him to cite.


I am stating that this is how it has been ruled everytime I have been in a PFS setting.

I have no idea if this is a Mike Brock position, but it has been how the PFS GMs have run it in 3 different cities so far.

Here is a line by line on the MoMS bonus feats listing.

1. At 1st level, 2nd level, and every four levels thereafter, a master of many styles may select a bonus style feat or the Elemental Fist feat.

2. He does not have to meet the prerequisites of that feat, except the Elemental Fist feat.

3. Alternatively, a master of many styles may choose a feat in that style’s feat path (such as Earth Child Topple) as one of these bonus feats if he already has the appropriate style feat (such as Earth Child Style).

4. The master of many styles does not need to meet any other prerequisite of the feat in the style’s feat path.

The sentence marked 2 above states that of all the style feats, only the elemental fist feat prereqs need to be met.

Elemental Fist (Combat)
You empower your strike with elemental energy

Prerequisites: Con 13, Wis 13, Improved Unarmed Strike, base attack bonus +8.

Dragon Ferocity says that you can bypass the elemental fist prereqs.

Therefore, for a MoMS to have elemental fist, he needs to be 11th level, with a 13 con, and a 13 wis.
Or, he can be a 3rd level MoMS who took dragon style and dragon ferocity at 1st and 2nd level, then takes elemental fist as his 3rd level feat.


The problem remains, there are two reasonable readings of the rules text.

I do apologize for misunderstanding what you meant. I assumed official not 'local'.

I mean no disrespect to any GM, being one myself, but we are not infallible nor do we have an inherently better grasp on the rules then regular players. That is part of the reason I am looking for an official answer, as it is unclear. I will note that most GMs will tend towards an over abundance of caution.

I come from a competitive gaming environment, I like the rules to be clear, I prefer to rule based on the Rules as Written. I have no investment in the outcome. It will dictate how I build my MoMS, but I have no preference as to which way it goes. Both will be equally enjoyable builds.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Rynjin wrote:


English gives us only one way to read that sentence.

"He does not have to meet the prerequisites of that feat, except the Elemental Fist feat."

Not quite. Consider these made-up examples:

He can learn Whirlwind Attack, Power Attack or Spring Attack as a bonus feat. He does not have to meet the prerequisites for that feat, except for Spring Attack.

He can learn Whirlwind Attack, Power Attack or Spring Attack as a bonus feat. He does not have to meet the prerequisites for that feat, except for minimum Base Attack Bonus requirements.

In the first example, the word 'except' refers to the feats. In the second example, the word 'except' refers to the prerequisites.

In the original question, Elemental Fist is both a feat and a prerequisite for other feats, which makes it ambiguous.


Tempest_Knight wrote:
The problem remains, there are two reasonable readings of the rules text

This is, of course, your opinion.

I think several people have given you what is the standard, accepted, reasonable interpretation of this. It's fine that you don't agree, but does this thread really need to keep going on and on?


Rynjin wrote:
English gives us only one way to read that sentence.

No, it does not. It gives us two, which is why there is a question at all.

In fact, not only does it give us two, but the opposite answer to what you're suggesting is the only way to read it is far more likely to be true based on context.

L. A. Paladin wrote:
Tempest_Knight wrote:
The problem remains, there are two reasonable readings of the rules text

This is, of course, your opinion.

I think several people have given you what is the standard, accepted, reasonable interpretation of this. It's fine that you don't agree, but does this thread really need to keep going on and on?

Several people have given a standard, accepted, reasonable interpretation, but have not agreed on what that is.


Ok people, lets clarify a few things here. Take the example of Marid Style, a style feat that has Elemental Fist as a prereq. The question at hand is, does the statement "At 1st level, 2nd level, and every four levels thereafter, a master of many styles may select a bonus style feat or the Elemental Fist feat. He does not have to meet the prerequisites of that feat, except the Elemental Fist feat." mean you can ignore all other prereqs of Marid Style except for the E.Fist prereq (ie. you still need to have E.Fist to qualify but no other prereq)? Or does it mean you ignore the prereqs for E.Fist specifically? He's absolutely right that the wording is ambiguous. Carry on.


I have noticed that one side of this discussion is refusing to admit to any other reading of the rules.

I have also noticed that the other side is clear that the issue has two ways it can be read, and therefore, is in need of clarification.

L. A. I know that people have posted a 'standard, acceptable, reasonable interpretation' but you are disagreeing with them. An equal number have posted your position. Do note that your position is covered as a possible interpretation by the other side.

Sczarni

FAQ'd. I have nothing to add other then to say that prior to reading this thread I only read this one way.

After reading the well articulated explanations supporting the ambiguity of the wording I now believe my prior interpretation was wrong.


I'm not saying that one specific reading is wrong. I am striving for exactitude of meaning, so that all players are on the same page. This being especially important for PFS.

Hopefully we can get a clerification or FAQ.


2 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

Two readings:

"At 1st level, 2nd level, and every four levels thereafter, a master of many styles may select a bonus style feat without meeting its prerequisites. Alternatively, may select the Elemental Fist feat, but only if he meets its prerequisites."

or

"At 1st level, 2nd level, and every four levels thereafter, a master of many styles may select Elemental Fist as a bonus feat without meeting its prerequisites. Alternatively, he may select a style feat. He must possess the Elemental Fist feat if the style feat includes it as a prerequisite, but does not need to meet any other prerequisites of the style feat."

Personally, I read it the second way.


AvalonXQ wrote:

Two readings:

"At 1st level, 2nd level, and every four levels thereafter, a master of many styles may select a bonus style feat without meeting its prerequisites. Alternatively, may select the Elemental Fist feat, but only if he meets its prerequisites."

or

"At 1st level, 2nd level, and every four levels thereafter, a master of many styles may select Elemental Fist as a bonus feat without meeting its prerequisites. Alternatively, he may select a style feat. He must possess the Elemental Fist feat if the style feat includes it as a prerequisite, but does not need to meet any other prerequisites of the style feat."

Personally, I read it the second way.

I read this as the first way. I never even questioned it. Honestly, why would I take Djinni style (Efreeti style, whatever), if I didn't have Elemental Fist? They only work when using the first or you have fists left over that day.

I guess "why" doesn't matter. I concur. This does call for some clarification, just to be sure. I thought the wording was funky the first time I read it, and I re-read it a few times until I got a meaning I was satisfied with.


Red, if you agree it needs clerification, please make sure to click the FAQ tag on the original post.

Just to make sure I understand you; your position is that the wording means you CAN take Djinni Style before Elemental Fist. Correct?


I wonder if this issue is being looked in to?


Tempest_Knight wrote:

Red, if you agree it needs clerification, please make sure to click the FAQ tag on the original post.

Just to make sure I understand you; your position is that the wording means you CAN take Djinni Style before Elemental Fist. Correct?

My stance is so, yes. It's a sub-par option, but since when has this game ever prevented you from taking sub-par options?

I hit FAQ too though. Whether or not I think I'm wrong clarification never hurts.

Usually.


Tempest_Knight wrote:

Red, if you agree it needs clerification, please make sure to click the FAQ tag on the original post.

Just to make sure I understand you; your position is that the wording means you CAN take Djinni Style before Elemental Fist. Correct?

Yeah. Believe me, it makes no sense, but that's how I read it. I'm usually really good on getting rules right, but I'm honestly not sure how it was meant to be this time.


It is a poorly worded sentence. Like I have said before, both readings should have been written differently to be clear.

Hopefully we will get clerification soon


We are still waiting on a clerification.

RPG Superstar Season 9 Top 16

I asked this same question last week. So, I'm recommending this as a FAQ candidate.

http://paizo.com/threads/rzs2pb1a?Master-of-Many-Styles-Do-you-need-the-pre reqs

It's pretty obvious that you need Elemental Fist to take feats that require it. Otherwise, those feats would be modifying an ability the character does not possess.

My question is: can you take Elemental Fist without meeting its requirements? The wording suggests you must meet the pre-reqs to take Elemental Fist. Otherwise, the Four Winds archetype would not be as competitive to MoMS.


Mot4W keeps Flurry of Blows and scaling extra damage with Elemental Fist. More then enough to keep it "competitive" with MoMS.

But, getting back on topic...

The wording allows for two possible interpretations;

1). You ignore the prerequisites of style feats. But must meet the requirements for Elemental Fist.

2). You ignore the prerequisites of style feats and Elemental Fist, except that you must meet the prerequisite of having Elemental Fist for those feats that require it.

This should be a rather simple issue to clarify.

Hopefully we get an answer soon.

Lantern Lodge

Ultimate Combat PP59-60 wrote:
He does not have to meet the prerequisites of that feat, except the Elemental Fist feat. Alternatively, a master of many styles may choose a feat in that style’s feat path (such as Earth Child Topple) as one of these bonus feats if he already has the appropriate style feat (such as Earth Child Style). The master of many styles does not need to meet any other prerequisite of the feat in the style’s feat path.

I can see where this is a little vague, however, I would think it means you have to meet the prerequisites of Elemental Fist. The reason I say this is the amount of explanation they give to the style feat paths in the next two sentences, they give very specific detail on how the process works. This makes me believe that if they meant your number "2)" then they would have used words fairly similar to those you used. The sentence "He does not have to meet the prerequisites of that feat, except the Elemental Fist feat." taken alone would mean exactly what you typed in number "1)" and I bet that's their intention given the choice of wording and punctuation. This would mean that you could take it as a bonus feat from the class at level 14 at the earliest, but be able to purchase it as a normal feat at level 11.

However, it is possible that they made a mistake so it may be that only an official Paizo representative can truly answer your question.


FAQ'd, and I agree it is confusing. Personally I think it means you must have elemental fist before taking the style feats. I also think it means you do not need the prerequisites for elemental fist.

- Gauss


Rendrin, the rest of that section talks about extending a style's feat path. That is not covered in the first section, and honestly has little bearing on this topic.

We still come down to trying to decide whether the dependant clause is an exception or a modification of the independent clause.

Your position is best written as '... does not need to meet the prerequisites of style feats.'

The English assumption is that the dependant clause is modifying the indepentant clause.

The modifying assumption whould have been better written as '... does not need to meet thee requirements of style feats, other than Elemental Fist.'

Since Elemental Fist is not a style feat there is no confusion. It does add a couple of words but not many, and it makes it crystal clear.

Lantern Lodge

I know exactly what it's talking about. My point is that they explained that section on style paths in great detail and did not explain the Elemental Fist confusion in as much detail. When I look at it in the simple context it is written I take it to mean that you have to meet the prerequisites of the feat.

Ultimate Combat PP59-60 wrote:
"...a master of many styles may select a bonus style feat or the Elemental Fist feat...He does not have to meet the prerequisites of that feat, except the Elemental Fist Feat."

There are two categories of feats, style feats and Elemental Fist. A MoMS does not have to meet the prerequisites of the style feat category, but does have to meet them for Elemental Fist. If they meant that the monk would be able to take any of them without prerequisites, except Elemental Fist as a prerequisite, they would have gone into more detail explaining that, such as the amount of detail they went into when discussing the style feat paths.

The wording would probably be something similar to the following. "He does not have to meet the prerequisite of that feat, unless that prerequisite is the Elemental Fist feat, in which case he must take the Elemental Fist feat first." That would be an explanation of great detail, such as the amount they gave for style feat paths.

As I said however, it is vague and it is possible that it needs to be clarified.

As with anything that anyone without official capacity writes I am writing from my viewpoint. My viewpoint is, while the wording is vague and can leave room for interpretation, it seems to be written simply so that it would be read simply and that is how I simply read it, whether it is right or wrong. If one does need to meet the prerequisites of Elemental Fist, perhaps ", which he must meet the prerequisites of." needs to be added to the end of that sentence.

Even though this is not a question for me, I will FAQ it in the probable case that I am wrong.


Only the first feat in each of the style feat paths is a style feat.

The remaining section grants an allowance to ignore prerequisites, except the starting feat.

Also, if you want the sentence in question written simply and expressing you position...
"He does not have to meet the prerequitites of style feats."

Simple AND clear.

Since that wording wasn't used, it brings great doubt to your assumption.

Conversely, for the other position, changing "that feat." into "style feats." would also have made it clear and simple.

We return to the fact that it is worded unclearly, thus in need of clarification.


Anyone have any ideas how to get some official insight on this topic?


Now that the Staff is back...

Can we get a clerification on this?


Can we get an official clerification?


1 person marked this as a favorite.

I would like to know as well, as to most of our group the logical conclusion is that its poorly worded but you do not need to meet the prerequisites of Elemental fist, but you do need Elemental fist for the style feats that require it (since they would be unusable otherwise).


Well I FAQ'd it as well. This wording really needs clarification.

My 2 cents is they intended to make him ignore the elemental fist prereqs and that caveat is there so the MOMS does not take a feat that modifies an ability he doesn't have.

I personally don't think they would have created the MOMS with the intention of needing to take the dragon style feat or lose a bunch of style feat options


Come on Paizo... we have 21 FAQ requests on this issue, when are we going to get an answer?


You do realize that this is the 3rd thread that I've seen asking this same question for FAQ, and the other two are several months old right?

If you want a timeline, look at the Sunder as attack or standard action threads.

They do a great job, but they're busy a lot too. Although with all the people using this archetype as a dip, it's higher up than some monk concerns IMO.


I would be happy with a statement that they are looking into it, if they don't have an answer yet.


I get that they are busy, maybe I'm over simplifying it but isn't this just a matter of taking to whomever designed the archetype (I'll call him Bob for example).

"Hey Bob when you wrote this did you mean the have to meet the prereqs for elemental fist or are they ignored?"

Bob answers

Post answer.

Should take 5-10 min tops.


2 people marked this as a favorite.
Flamephoenix182 wrote:

I get that they are busy, maybe I'm over simplifying it but isn't this just a matter of taking to whomever designed the archetype (I'll call him Bob for example).

"Hey Bob when you wrote this did you mean the have to meet the prereqs for elemental fist or are they ignored?"

Bob answers

Post answer.

Should take 5-10 min tops.

The problem is that writers don't always have final control over their work, so what they intended might be totally different than how it ends up. Editors and others may change things to fit the system or their vision better, or there might be some kind of miscommunication in general about what it's supposed to do...

For example, lets pretend I wrote this ability. Let's pretend my intention was that you needed Elemental Fist to take the styles that require it, but otherwise you could ignore pre-requisites.

I submit the ability, but I wrote it strangely, and the first editors change the wording, but in the process accidentally make it ambiguous. Then it gets submitted to the rules development team, and they read it as needing to meet the requirements of Elemental Fist, but that you could otherwise take styles that required it without taking it first.

They decide that's ok, and let it through. So even though my intention was A, they evaluated it and accepted it as B. Does my original intention matter more than theirs?

Anyway, the end result is, it's a hell of a lot more complicated to get an answer to a question like this on a team project than you think.

1 to 50 of 67 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>
Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Master of Many Styles... All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.