Spellstrike clarification


Rules Discussion

Grand Archive

Okay so if I'm making an attack with spellstrike using a spell that targets AC, I roll a single d20 to determine whether I do damage with both the attack and the spell with a single d20 rolled.

If I'm using a save spell does it:

A.) Roll a single d20 (saving throw) to determine both the physical hit and spell, similar to how AC attacks roll a single d20 to determine both

B.) Roll two dice, first the d20 to determine if the physical hit lands, and a second d20 to determine if the spell does damage

If it's B, why would you ever use a saving throw spell ever? You have double the chance to miss or do no damage, as opposed to the AC strike only having a single d20 rolled.

If it's A, why isn't it more clear that the save takes the place of both the attacks?


1 person marked this as a favorite.

It's B.

The point it that Spellstrike is spell attack focused.

Usually spell attacks is the less desired spell type for default casters due to the fact that saves doesn't cause/suffers from MAP and usually have some effect even if the enemy pass in its save check. But spells that use spell attack still an option for them.

Magus inverts this logic, valuing spells that do spell attacks instead while still able to use spells that require saves, but in this case due to its lowest spell DC is less effective for it.


4 people marked this as a favorite.
Quote:
If it required a save, the target of the Strike rolls its saving throw normally, though if your Strike was a critical failure, the target is unaffected.

Note that even if you do not hit the strike, the target would be doing the saving throw (unless you critically fail the attack). Above quote is from Secrets of Magic Fall 2024 errata.

Grand Lodge

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Sterlingclaw wrote:

Okay so if I'm making an attack with spellstrike using a spell that targets AC, I roll a single d20 to determine whether I do damage with both the attack and the spell with a single d20 rolled.

If I'm using a save spell does it:

A.) Roll a single d20 (saving throw) to determine both the physical hit and spell, similar to how AC attacks roll a single d20 to determine both

B.) Roll two dice, first the d20 to determine if the physical hit lands, and a second d20 to determine if the spell does damage

If it's B, why would you ever use a saving throw spell ever? You have double the chance to miss or do no damage, as opposed to the AC strike only having a single d20 rolled.

If it's A, why isn't it more clear that the save takes the place of both the attacks?

There is no attack for a save spell. You attack, they make the save.

You have two chances to fail, but also two chances to succeed. Attack roll spells are all or nothing. You hit and get the Strike damage and the spell, it you miss and get nothing. Save spells you'll often get mixed results. That's not better, but it's not worse.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Sterlingclaw wrote:
If it's B, why would you ever use a saving throw spell ever?

It's not quite B, as B is described. But it is pretty close.

The difference, as others have mentioned as well, is that you don't make both d20 rolls. You make your weapon attack roll, but the enemy rolls their save against the spell.

The reason for still using it is because of action compression and targeting saves.

You could still make a Strike and then cast a saving throw spell. Like a Wizard could. But it would likely take all three actions of your turn. Doing it as a Spellstrike only takes two actions.

And targeting a weak save is still a good idea even for a Magus. Especially for a high AC enemy. You might miss the Strike and still do the spell damage. Or at least half the spell damage. Which is better than no damage.

Grand Lodge

For clarification, if you hit regularly spellstriking with a save spell and they crit fail the save, do they take the crit fail damage for the spell damage?

Conversely, if you crit on the hit, do you not do double damage on the spell damage if they save?


Aeshuura wrote:

For clarification, if you hit regularly spellstriking with a save spell and they crit fail the save, do they take the crit fail damage for the spell damage?

Conversely, if you crit on the hit, do you not do double damage on the spell damage if they save?

Secrets of Magic Spellstrike errata wrote:
If it required a save, the target of the Strike rolls its saving throw normally, though if your Strike was a critical failure, the target is unaffected.

The saving throw is rolled normally, including its normal effects listed (including the amount of damage dealt) for critical failure or critical success or any other saving throw outcome. The result of the Strike action is not considered while resolving the spell other than the case where you critically fail the Strike check - at which point the spell takes no effect also.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Aside from action compression, it might be noted that a starlit span magus with Expansive Spellstrike and a ranged weapon with a good range increment can get pretty fancy when placing cone and line spells.

"A cone or line emits from you and must include the target; if you’re not adjacent to the target (using a reach weapon or starlit span, for example), choose any square adjacent to the target as the source. The spell affects all creatures in the area as normal, but the Strike still targets only one creature."

Grand Lodge

Starlit Span in particular can also deliver non-damaging spells at greater distance (and any Magus can get a little boost there with a reach weapon for touch-ranged spells).

Grand Lodge

Finoan wrote:
Aeshuura wrote:

For clarification, if you hit regularly spellstriking with a save spell and they crit fail the save, do they take the crit fail damage for the spell damage?

Conversely, if you crit on the hit, do you not do double damage on the spell damage if they save?

Secrets of Magic Spellstrike errata wrote:
If it required a save, the target of the Strike rolls its saving throw normally, though if your Strike was a critical failure, the target is unaffected.
The saving throw is rolled normally, including its normal effects listed (including the amount of damage dealt) for critical failure or critical success or any other saving throw outcome. The result of the Strike action is not considered while resolving the spell other than the case where you critically fail the Strike check - at which point the spell takes no effect also.

Thanks, Finoan, I think I have a better grasp on that now...

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Spellstrike clarification All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.