Mindscape Door Questions


Rules Questions


Via the Spell Mindscape door, do players PHYSICALLY enter a known mindscape or do they just slump on the floor after "passing though" the mindscape door?


I believe their body would slump down on the floor.

Mindscapes wrote:

While a creature’s consciousness is within a mindscape, that creature’s body in the real world can take no actions and loses its Dexterity bonus to AC, but it isn’t considered helpless, as the unconscious parts of the creature’s mind still provide resistance to the creature’s destruction.

While in an immersive mindscape, the mind gets no information about what the body sees, hears, smells, or touches. Thus, if the body takes damage from an attack in the real world, the mind remains unaware of it. A binary mindscape, however, allows a creature to monitor its own condition in the real world.

At the very least, only the characters consciousness enters the mindscape, the physical body remains behind. And given that you lose your dexterity bonus I would imagine it's basically like being unconscious.

Well, let me take the back. I think a creature in a binary mindscape might be able to remain standing, but otherwise take no action. They have an awareness of their physical surroundings that makes me think maybe they don't fall over. But for sure in the immersive mindscape there's no awareness and I think you would probably fall down and drop anything that was held.

Shadow Lodge

Tom Marlow wrote:
Via the Spell Mindscape door, do players PHYSICALLY enter a known mindscape or do they just slump on the floor after "passing though" the mindscape door?

The answer is (indirectly) in the spell text:

Source Occult Adventures pg. 177

School illusion (phantasm) [mind-affecting]; Level arcanist 4, medium 3, mesmerist 3, psychic 3, sorcerer 4, wizard 4
Casting
Casting Time 1 standard action
Components V, S
Effect
Range close (25 ft. + 5 ft./2 levels)
Effect one illusory portal
Duration 10 minutes/level
Saving Throw Will negates (see text); Spell Resistance no
Description
You or other creatures enter into or escape from a mindscape (see page 234) through an imaginary doorway. This doorway takes on any form of your choosing, but can be no larger than a 5-foot cube. This spell has different effects depending on whether you are inside a mindscape when you cast it.

When you cast this spell outside a mindscape, the doorway connects to one mindscape inhabited by a creature of your choice within close range (25 feet + 5 feet per 2 levels) of the door. That creature becomes the door’s conduit, but can attempt a Will save to deny access to the mindscape. You must be aware of the mindscape to connect a mindscape door to it. If you connect to the mindscape, you designate any number of creatures to be able to see and pass through the door as though it were a normal doorway. You can name specific creatures or categories of creatures, or allow all creatures access. Creatures other than those you designate can’t perceive or use the door, nor can mindless creatures or those immune to mind-affecting effects. Once anyone enters the mindscape through the door, a duplicate of the door appears inside the mindscape next to the creature you used as a conduit. Anyone inside a mindscape is able to perceive and use a mindscape door within that mindscape. Anyone who enters is subject to all rules of the mindscape, but is aware she is in a mindscape if you informed her where the portal leads.

When you cast this spell inside a mindscape, a duplicate of the door appears next to your body in the real world. The creator of the mindscape can attempt a Will saving throw to prevent you from creating the door if she is within the mindscape. The two doors operate as if you’d cast the spell outside a mindscape. You still designate who can use the door from the real world to get into the mindscape, but you can’t prevent creatures within the mindscape from exiting to the real world.

Typically, a mindscape door operates in both directions, but you can create it as a one-way door if you so choose. Unlike with other spells, you can cast this spell as a full-round action while engaged in a psychic duel. This spell can be used to exit a binary mindscape, but not to enter one. If you successfully cast mindscape door within a veiled mindscape, you learn that you are in a mindscape, but other creatures observing the door don’t automatically realize they are.

Your mind can go through the door, but your body doesn't leave the real world...


They slump down.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Mindscape Door Questions All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions