| Aberssax |
Can someone help me with understanding how Fatal works with pistols. Searching online and on forums there are two main interpretations. My DM and I have opposing views and I'm hoping to get a ruling in a official capacity.
would the damage on a crit be:
1) (1d10 +1) x2 + 1d10
or
2) 1d10+1 + 1D10
Is there any official ruling on how Fatal works? When looking at the Deadly trait there is wording which references double damage, but that information is not in the Fatal trait description.
Any help is appreciated, thanks in advance
| Tridus |
| 4 people marked this as a favorite. |
Fatal does two things:
i) Change the weapon damage die to the fatal dice.
ii) Add an extra one of those dice after calculating crit damage.
So if its a Fatal d10 weapon, the answer is the first one. You change the weapon damage die to d10, do crit damage normally, then add another d10.
The trait does say it: "The fatal trait includes a die size. On a critical hit, the weapon’s damage die increases to that die size instead of the normal die size, and the weapon adds one additional damage die of the listed size."
| Finoan |
| 1 person marked this as a favorite. |
would the damage on a crit be:
1) (1d10 +1) x2 + 1d10
or
2) 1d10+1 + 1D10
I'm suspecting a typo here somewhere. I can't think of any reason why the Fatal trait would cause none of the damage to be doubled on a crit. That doesn't even seem to be a reasonable misinterpretation.
A concrete example:
A Flintlock Pistol does 1d4 base damage and has the Fatal d8 trait.
A normal hit does 1d4 damage.
A crit does (1d8)x2 + 1d8 damage. The base damage die size is increased from 1d4 to 1d8 before it is doubled, then the extra 1d8 damage is added.
With Striking runes the same process applies.
A +1 Striking Flintlock Pistol does 2d4 base damage and has the Fatal d8 trait.
A normal hit does 2d4 damage.
A crit does (2d8)x2 + 1d8 damage.
| Finoan |
Not to be confused with Deadly. Deadly doesn't change the existing dice, but it adds a number of extra dice of the listed size depending on the weapon's striking rune or lack thereof.
Yes. Deadly is a different trait, and works differently from Fatal.
A Shortbow has 1d6 base damage and Deadly d10 trait.
A hit does 1d6 damage.
A crit does (1d6)x2 + 1d10 damage. Note, the base damage didn't change.
With the first level of Striking rune, that doesn't change much. The base damage is increased to two dice, but the trait doesn't do anything else.
A +1 Striking Shortbow:
Hit does 2d6 damage.
Crit does (2d6)x2 + 1d10 damage.
With higher levels of Striking rune, the Deadly trait does change.
A +2 Greater Striking Shortbow:
Hit does 3d6 damage.
Crit does (3d6)x2 + 2d10 damage. Note, the Deadly d10 now does two dice of damage.
| Squark |
The two traits can even coexist, although the only instance of that I know of is a high level monk with the Kaiju Stance and Duamond Fists feats. That gives you a d8 unarmed strike with fatal d12 and deadly d10, which with the appropriate striking runes is (3d12)×2+2d10+1d12 at level 18, and (4d12)x2+3d10+1d12 once you get your major striking rune.
| shroudb |
The two traits can even coexist, although the only instance of that I know of is a high level monk with the Kaiju Stance and Duamond Fists feats. That gives you a d8 unarmed strike with fatal d12 and deadly d10, which with the appropriate striking runes is (3d12)×2+2d10+1d12 at level 18, and (4d12)x2+3d10+1d12 once you get your major striking rune.
Or a Swashbuckler with a finesse/agile Fatal weapon and Deadly Grace feat.
| Squark |
Squark wrote:Or a Swashbuckler with a finesse/agile Fatal weapon and Deadly Grace feat.The two traits can even coexist, although the only instance of that I know of is a high level monk with the Kaiju Stance and Duamond Fists feats. That gives you a d8 unarmed strike with fatal d12 and deadly d10, which with the appropriate striking runes is (3d12)×2+2d10+1d12 at level 18, and (4d12)x2+3d10+1d12 once you get your major striking rune.
Good catch.
Darrell Impey UK
|
Aberssax wrote:would the damage on a crit be:
1) (1d10 +1) x2 + 1d10
or
2) 1d10+1 + 1D10
I'm suspecting a typo here somewhere. I can't think of any reason why the Fatal trait would cause none of the damage to be doubled on a crit. That doesn't even seem to be a reasonable misinterpretation.
I'm guessing that the GM incorrectly believes that increasing the dice type replaces the doubling of the damage.
| Ravingdork |
| 3 people marked this as a favorite. |
Finoan wrote:I'm guessing that the GM incorrectly believes that increasing the dice type replaces the doubling of the damage.Aberssax wrote:would the damage on a crit be:
1) (1d10 +1) x2 + 1d10
or
2) 1d10+1 + 1D10
I'm suspecting a typo here somewhere. I can't think of any reason why the Fatal trait would cause none of the damage to be doubled on a crit. That doesn't even seem to be a reasonable misinterpretation.
Which would be ironic, as well as wrong, as it would make the weapon LESS fatal.
| Enchanter Tim |
| 3 people marked this as a favorite. |
The fatal trait includes a die size. On a critical hit, the weapon’s damage die increases to that die size instead of the normal die size, and the weapon adds one additional damage die of the listed size.
If you just take the wording and don't realize that all crits double the base damage die, then you get the mistake. The trait text does not reference any doubling (unlike Deadly). So a certain level of rules knowledge is needed.