How to Rupture with a spell


Rules Discussion


Swallowed Whole wrote:
A swallowed creature can attack the monster that has swallowed it, but only with unarmed attacks or with weapons of light Bulk or less. The swallowing creature is off-guard against the attack. If the monster takes piercing or slashing damage equaling or exceeding the listed Rupture value from a single attack or spell, the swallowed creature cuts itself free. A creature that gets free by either Escaping or cutting itself free can immediately breathe and exits the swallowing monster's space.

So to cut my way out with a spell, not only do I need to beat the DC 5 flat check for using a manipulate action while grabbed, but it has to do enough piercing or slashing damage to beat the Rupture value.

On top of that, it has to not be an attack, or if it is an attack, it has to use my unarmed attack or a weapon of light Bulk? So hand of the apprentice or telekinetic projectile would work, but only if I fling a weapon of light Bulk?


1 person marked this as a favorite.

The discrepancy of what is allowed between

Quote:
but only with unarmed attacks or with weapons of light Bulk or less

and

Quote:
slashing damage equaling or exceeding the listed Rupture value from a single attack or spell

is interesting and worth bringing up.

None of us can rule on it universally. The GM should be able to rule one way or another fairly easily at the table.


2 people marked this as a favorite.

Another important note on casting spells while swallowed.

Drowning and Suffocating wrote:

....If you speak (including Casting a Spell) you lose all remaining air.

When you run out of air, you fall unconscious and start suffocating. You can't recover from being unconscious and must attempt a DC 20 Fortitude save at the end of each of your turns......


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Nelzy wrote:

Another important note on casting spells while swallowed.

Drowning and Suffocating wrote:

....If you speak (including Casting a Spell) you lose all remaining air.

When you run out of air, you fall unconscious and start suffocating. You can't recover from being unconscious and must attempt a DC 20 Fortitude save at the end of each of your turns......

That's what Air Bubble is for.


Finoan wrote:

The discrepancy of what is allowed between

Quote:
but only with unarmed attacks or with weapons of light Bulk or less

and

Quote:
slashing damage equaling or exceeding the listed Rupture value from a single attack or spell

is interesting and worth bringing up.

None of us can rule on it universally. The GM should be able to rule one way or another fairly easily at the table.

Yes the rules looks contradictory but as GM I would allow a caster that is able or don't need to breath to use a melee slashing/piercing spell like Gouging Claw to try to Escape. Hand of the apprentice or Telekinetic projectile I won't accept because they are ranged spell attacks.

That said probably still way better to try to Escape instead. Including I always recommends casters to invest into Acrobatics to not become in a bad position when grabbed and when note that the enemy is able to Swallow you try to cast Unfettered Movement for your own safety.


SuperParkourio wrote:
Nelzy wrote:

Another important note on casting spells while swallowed.

Drowning and Suffocating wrote:

....If you speak (including Casting a Spell) you lose all remaining air.

When you run out of air, you fall unconscious and start suffocating. You can't recover from being unconscious and must attempt a DC 20 Fortitude save at the end of each of your turns......

That's what Air Bubble is for.

There is a problem here:

Drowning and Suffocating wrote:
Reduce your remaining air by 1 round at the end of each of your turns, or by 2 if you attacked or cast any spells that turn. You also lose 1 round worth of air each time you are critically hit or critically fail a save against a damaging effect. If you speak (including Casting a Spell) you lose all remaining air

in that there are two rules for what happens when you cast a spell and can't breathe. Do you lose 2 air or all your air?


Gortle wrote:
SuperParkourio wrote:
Nelzy wrote:

Another important note on casting spells while swallowed.

Drowning and Suffocating wrote:

....If you speak (including Casting a Spell) you lose all remaining air.

When you run out of air, you fall unconscious and start suffocating. You can't recover from being unconscious and must attempt a DC 20 Fortitude save at the end of each of your turns......

That's what Air Bubble is for.

There is a problem here:

Drowning and Suffocating wrote:
Reduce your remaining air by 1 round at the end of each of your turns, or by 2 if you attacked or cast any spells that turn. You also lose 1 round worth of air each time you are critically hit or critically fail a save against a damaging effect. If you speak (including Casting a Spell) you lose all remaining air
in that there are two rules for what happens when you cast a spell and can't breathe. Do you lose 2 air or all your air?

I think the distinction here is for Cast a Spell and Casting a Spell including speaking... unfortunately the sharp distinction that used to exist between these two types of spells no longer exists.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
SuperParkourio wrote:
Swallowed Whole wrote:
A swallowed creature can attack the monster that has swallowed it, but only with unarmed attacks or with weapons of light Bulk or less. The swallowing creature is off-guard against the attack. If the monster takes piercing or slashing damage equaling or exceeding the listed Rupture value from a single attack or spell, the swallowed creature cuts itself free. A creature that gets free by either Escaping or cutting itself free can immediately breathe and exits the swallowing monster's space.

So to cut my way out with a spell, not only do I need to beat the DC 5 flat check for using a manipulate action while grabbed, but it has to do enough piercing or slashing damage to beat the Rupture value.

On top of that, it has to not be an attack, or if it is an attack, it has to use my unarmed attack or a weapon of light Bulk? So hand of the apprentice or telekinetic projectile would work, but only if I fling a weapon of light Bulk?

>A swallowed creature can attack the monster that has swallowed it, but only with unarmed attacks or with weapons of light Bulk or less. The swallowing creature is off-guard against the attack.

>If the monster takes piercing or slashing damage equaling or exceeding the listed Rupture value from a single attack or spell, the swallowed creature cuts itself free.

These lines, despite being consecutive, have no bearing on each other. It does not say you can attack the monster with a spell while swallowed. So you cannot attack the monster with a spell while swallowed, "only with unarmed attacks or with weapons of light Bulk or less."

But it ALSO does not say the swallowed creature needs to inflict the piercing or slashing damage from a single attack or spell. Only that IF the monster takes that much damage from a single attack or spell, the swallowed creature cuts itself free. Another party member may use a spell to inflict the required damage

Gortle wrote:
SuperParkourio wrote:
Nelzy wrote:

Another important note on casting spells while swallowed.

Drowning and Suffocating wrote:

....If you speak (including Casting a Spell) you lose all remaining air.

When you run out of air, you fall unconscious and start suffocating. You can't recover from being unconscious and must attempt a DC 20 Fortitude save at the end of each of your turns......

That's what Air Bubble is for.

There is a problem here:

Drowning and Suffocating wrote:
Reduce your remaining air by 1 round at the end of each of your turns, or by 2 if you attacked or cast any spells that turn. You also lose 1 round worth of air each time you are critically hit or critically fail a save against a damaging effect. If you speak (including Casting a Spell) you lose all remaining air
in that there are two rules for what happens when you cast a spell and can't breathe. Do you lose 2 air or all your air?

You are always so eager to fabricate ambiguities in the rules where none exist. There is one rule. If you cast a spell that doesn't require you to speak (i.e., one with the subtle trait or doesn't require speaking like psychic spellcasting), you lose 2 air. If you speak, including casting a spell that requires you to speak (i.e., it has verbal components or incantations), you lose all your air

But what does this even have to do with Air Bubble? The spell allows the target to breathe normally, period.


Baarogue wrote:

That is over the top. Making a simple assertion or asking a question is reasonable.

The issue relates to Air Bubble as it is cast after/as you can no longer breathe.

That 2 of you point out the distinction can be made via the Subtle trait, gives it a reasonable answer. So I'll accept that. I've already updated my records.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Baarogue wrote:

>>A swallowed creature can attack the monster that has swallowed it, but only with unarmed attacks or with weapons of light Bulk or less. The swallowing creature is off-guard against the attack.

>If the monster takes piercing or slashing damage equaling or exceeding the listed Rupture value from a single attack or spell, the swallowed creature cuts itself free.

These lines, despite being consecutive, have no bearing on each other. It does not say you can attack the monster with a spell while swallowed. So you cannot attack the monster with a spell while swallowed, "only with unarmed attacks or with weapons of light Bulk or less."

You put an interesting point here. In fact the rules aren't contradictory they are just over restrictive. So by RAW a swallowed creature cannot cast Gouging Claw to free itself because it's a "melee spell attack" but it isn't classified as unarmed nor light. Yet RAI I can see this easily qualifying as an unarmed attack.

Baarogue wrote:
But it ALSO does not say the swallowed creature needs to inflict the piercing or slashing damage from a single attack or spell. Only that IF the monster takes that much damage from a single attack or spell, the swallowed creature cuts itself free. Another party member may use a spell to inflict the required damage

Unfortunately it says indirectly:

Source Monster Core pg. 360 wrote:
A swallowed creature is grabbed, is slowed 1, and has to hold its breath or start suffocating. The swallowed creature takes the listed amount of damage when first swallowed and at the end of each of its turns while it's swallowed. If the victim Escapes this ability's grabbed condition, it exits through the monster's mouth. This frees any other creature captured in the monster's mouth or jaws. A swallowed creature can attack the monster that has swallowed it, but only with unarmed attacks or with weapons of light Bulk or less. The swallowing creature is off-guard against the attack. If the monster takes piercing or slashing damage equaling or exceeding the listed Rupture value from a single attack or spell, the swallowed creature cuts itself free. A creature that gets free by either Escaping or cutting itself free can immediately breathe and exits the swallowing monster's space.

The point where this is written remounts as it's the own creature that needs to make the damage not an outside creature. Once again this doesn't say that some GM cannot RAI it and allow that an external creature explicitly trying to cut its stomach to free an ally but probably this will be pretty harder to do (requiring some difficult penalty or AC bonus to the creature that has Swallowed Whole) because it needs to both know where to cut and due the creature constant movement during a battle.

Baarogue wrote:
You are always so eager to fabricate ambiguities in the rules where none exist.

Please let us try to avoid ad hominem. Nothing good comes from it.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

The question of how much air is lost is an ambiguity unintentionally created by the remaster removing discreet components from spells and making them all normally require some manner of speaking.

The fact that the loss of rounds of air is timed to the end of the characters turn does help this situation in that if you cut yourself free in a single turn or provide yourself a way to no longer be suffocating that is complete prior to the end of your turn, you're no longer suffocating by the time you'd lose any rounds of air.

However, that's not the only problem when it comes to trying to get free of having been swallowed whole; many of the rupture values in the game are so high that since the damage is required in a single attack or spell only a character specifically built toward the particular options that can be used actually has any chance of cutting themselves free.

For example, the classic adventurer-eating monster the Cave Worm has a rupture value of 24. A character at 13th level being able to do 24 damage in a single attack or spell with a light weapon or unarmed attack is basically out of luck with a not fully-powered option in one of those lanes. If you have for example a fighter that is trying to use their backup weapon and is looking at 2d6+9 if they picked a back-up that is within their main weapon category, which means they can only rupture on a critical hit.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Baarogue wrote:

>A swallowed creature can attack the monster that has swallowed it, but only with unarmed attacks or with weapons of light Bulk or less. The swallowing creature is off-guard against the attack.

>If the monster takes piercing or slashing damage equaling or exceeding the listed Rupture value from a single attack or spell, the swallowed creature cuts itself free.

These lines, despite being consecutive, have no bearing on each other. It does not say you can attack the monster with a spell while swallowed. So you cannot attack the monster with a spell while swallowed, "only with unarmed attacks or with weapons of light Bulk or less."

I think this is completely false. What these lines do - they restrict attacks. Or Strikes more precisely (no, I don't think this here means 'all actions with Attack trait' and thus concerns some spells and Escape; it doesn't). They say nothing about spells. So it's the opposite - all spells work. But - speaking and breathing restrictions still apply. And there's also manipulate too.


Now I'm thinking something a bit stupid but. There's something preventing a creature inside a monster to Trip/Grab it?


3 people marked this as a favorite.
YuriP wrote:
Now I'm thinking something a bit stupid but. There's something preventing a creature inside a monster to Trip/Grab it?

This is why TTRPG games should be run by GMs, not AI.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Baarogue wrote:
These lines, despite being consecutive, have no bearing on each other.

That's a pretty bold statement.

Baarogue wrote:
But it ALSO does not say the swallowed creature needs to inflict the piercing or slashing damage from a single attack or spell. Only that IF the monster takes that much damage from a single attack or spell, the swallowed creature cuts itself free. Another party member may use a spell to inflict the required damage

If I am chillin' inside a creature that swallowed me whole, and someone else hits the creature with a greatsword and does sufficient damage, can I really say that I cut myself free?


YuriP wrote:
Now I'm thinking something a bit stupid but. There's something preventing a creature inside a monster to Trip/Grab it?

I could see those actions giving the monster cramps, thereby preventing movement or causing them to fall over. But Grapple has a size restriction, doesn't it?


Errenor wrote:
Baarogue wrote:

>A swallowed creature can attack the monster that has swallowed it, but only with unarmed attacks or with weapons of light Bulk or less. The swallowing creature is off-guard against the attack.

>If the monster takes piercing or slashing damage equaling or exceeding the listed Rupture value from a single attack or spell, the swallowed creature cuts itself free.

These lines, despite being consecutive, have no bearing on each other. It does not say you can attack the monster with a spell while swallowed. So you cannot attack the monster with a spell while swallowed, "only with unarmed attacks or with weapons of light Bulk or less."

I think this is completely false. What these lines do - they restrict attacks. Or Strikes more precisely (no, I don't think this here means 'all actions with Attack trait' and thus concerns some spells and Escape; it doesn't). They say nothing about spells. So it's the opposite - all spells work. But - speaking and breathing restrictions still apply. And there's also manipulate too.

You're saying that they just mean Strikes when they mention attacking? Maybe the item damage rules are supposed to be read the same way, such that Strikes can target unattended objects. Hmm...


SuperParkourio wrote:
YuriP wrote:
Now I'm thinking something a bit stupid but. There's something preventing a creature inside a monster to Trip/Grab it?
I could see those actions giving the monster cramps, thereby preventing movement or causing them to fall over. But Grapple has a size restriction, doesn't it?

Trip has size restriction too but this basically goes way with Titan Wrestler only the largest ones can resist and this feat is basically a most have for those who invest into Athletics to Trip/Grab.


YuriP wrote:
SuperParkourio wrote:
YuriP wrote:
Now I'm thinking something a bit stupid but. There's something preventing a creature inside a monster to Trip/Grab it?
I could see those actions giving the monster cramps, thereby preventing movement or causing them to fall over. But Grapple has a size restriction, doesn't it?
Trip has size restriction too but this basically goes way with Titan Wrestler only the largest ones can resist and this feat is basically a most have for those who invest into Athletics to Trip/Grab.

Well, if anyone can give them cramps, it's someone who wrestles titans.


SuperParkourio wrote:
Errenor wrote:
I think this is completely false. What these lines do - they restrict attacks. Or Strikes more precisely (no, I don't think this here means 'all actions with Attack trait' and thus concerns some spells and Escape; it doesn't). They say nothing about spells. So it's the opposite - all spells work. But - speaking and breathing restrictions still apply. And there's also manipulate too.
You're saying that they just mean Strikes when they mention attacking? Maybe the item damage rules are supposed to be read the same way, such that Strikes can target unattended objects. Hmm...

Yes, in this particular case I believe their wording is not exact. Don't know about the other thing.


Finoan wrote:
Baarogue wrote:
These lines, despite being consecutive, have no bearing on each other.
That's a pretty bold statement.

You know me

Finoan wrote:
Baarogue wrote:
But it ALSO does not say the swallowed creature needs to inflict the piercing or slashing damage from a single attack or spell. Only that IF the monster takes that much damage from a single attack or spell, the swallowed creature cuts itself free. Another party member may use a spell to inflict the required damage
If I am chillin' inside a creature that swallowed me whole, and someone else hits the creature with a greatsword and does sufficient damage, can I really say that I cut myself free?

You might "chill" inside a monster that swallowed you, but I would be fighting to cut myself out even with my bare teeth and nails if necessary. I read the way they phrased it as source-neutral, "If the monster takes piercing or slashing damage," and not specific to the swallowed creature like, "if the swallowed creature inflicts piercing or slashing damage," as indicating taking so much damage at once, even from outside, is what gives the swallowed creature their opening to cut themselves free

Swallowed Whole is an incredibly dangerous situation - the victim is Grabbed (making spellcasting difficult, if you allow the somehow both more and less permissive read of the restrictions on attacks as only applying to Strikes - a first for this crowd lol), Slowed 1 (losing 1 action), has to hold their breath or suffocate (unless they were fortunate enough to get Air Bubbled as they were swallowed), and takes a lot of damage at the end of their turn. Plus, as mentioned above, rupture values appear to be quite high* for the level these monsters are likely to appear, making it even more unlikely the victim can free themselves entirely through their own efforts unless they have a high Athletics bonus. I think they wrote it the way they did so anyone in the party can potentially assist in their comrade's escape through simply doing what they'd be doing anyway, attacking the monster, instead of having to waste actions on trying and possibly failing to free them without doing any damage either

*if I were less lazy I would compile a list of monsters with Swallow Whole by level with their rupture values. A cursory glance at the lowest level ones has most of their rupture values at an amount comparable to what a L weapon can deal only if the user rolls nearly max damage AND has a decent Str bonus or crits


2 people marked this as a favorite.
Baarogue wrote:
You might "chill" inside a monster that swallowed you, but I would be fighting to cut myself out even with my bare teeth and nails if necessary.

Even while unconscious? Because my your interpretation, being freed by an ally with that ally's actions rather than your own would count as "cutting yourself free."

I do get the balance concern, as Swallow Whole is pretty dangerous. But the language "cuts itself free" means it's definitely the swallowed creature that has to do it.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / How to Rupture with a spell All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.