Question about Combat Maneuvers with a weapon


Rules Questions


What do I need to take for my character to be able to get Dex to His CMB in place of Strength.

The weaponn in question is Shang gou or Hook Swords
The Maneuver is the Disarming combat maneuver

Would taking weapon Finesse be enough for it or Dose it require something else?

The Exchange

Agile Maneuvers


Because Disarm can specifically use a weapon, you can effectively use your weapon attack roll by default to perform the maneuver.

So, if you can use dex with the weapon, you can use dex rather than strength when you perform the maneuver, but only using weapons to do so.

If you lost your hook sword and were unarmed, you would have to use strength.


And there is at least one FAQs that points to this conclusion. One of which is an FAQ that identifies which maneuvers can or cannot use weapons.

However, I cannot find how to get to the PF1 FAQs anymore.

And I also recall another FAQ about how to calculate the bonus, which at it's core works the same as an attack roll barring specific bonuses to combat maneuvers.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Claxon wrote:

And there is at least one FAQs that points to this conclusion. One of which is an FAQ that identifies which maneuvers can or cannot use weapons.

However, I cannot find how to get to the PF1 FAQs anymore.

And I also recall another FAQ about how to calculate the bonus, which at it's core works the same as an attack roll barring specific bonuses to combat maneuvers.

There is a link to the FAQ stickied at the top of the Rules forum.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Per this FAQ, any maneuver that uses your weapon also works with Weapon Finesse. For which maneuvers do use a weapon, consult this blog post.


Java Man wrote:
Claxon wrote:

And there is at least one FAQs that points to this conclusion. One of which is an FAQ that identifies which maneuvers can or cannot use weapons.

However, I cannot find how to get to the PF1 FAQs anymore.

And I also recall another FAQ about how to calculate the bonus, which at it's core works the same as an attack roll barring specific bonuses to combat maneuvers.

There is a link to the FAQ stickied at the top of the Rules forum.

Thanks, don't know how I missed that!

Actually, upon double checking I do. If you just go to the forum landing page, that holds all the sub-forums you don't see those stickies. Just the latest threads.

@Derklord, thanks for linking those. Those are the items I was thinking of.


since unarmed strike is also a light finessable weapon loosing your weapon you used weapon finesse with still allow to use an unarmed attack to disarm the enemy with finesse.


zza ni wrote:
since unarmed strike is also a light finessable weapon loosing your weapon you used weapon finesse with still allow to use an unarmed attack to disarm the enemy with finesse.

I'm genuinely unsure if that's the way the rules shake out, because if true then agile maneuvers would absolutely be unnecessary for weapon based maneuvers. Or it could be that unless you have improved unarmed strike you would still provoke. Which I think might be where this lands.

Not 100% sure.


Yeah, using unarmed strieks for maneuvers provokes if you don't have IUS.


But it's kind of funny, because you can perform the maneuver(s) unarmed but without using unarmed strike and you wouldn't provoke (assuming you have the appropriate Improved *inser maneuver* feat. But you wouldn't get dex to your attack roll because you don't have agile maneuvers.


I don't think you can perform disarm, sunder, and trip without a weapon/unarmed strike/natural weapon.


Derklord wrote:
I don't think you can perform disarm, sunder, and trip without a weapon/unarmed strike/natural weapon.

That's definitely incorrect at least in the case of disarm because:

Disarm wrote:

Disarm

Source PRPG Core Rulebook pg. 199
You can attempt to disarm your opponent in place of a melee attack. If you do not have the Improved Disarm feat, or a similar ability, attempting to disarm a foe provokes an attack of opportunity from the target of your maneuver. Attempting to disarm a foe while unarmed imposes a –4 penalty on the attack.

If your attack is successful, your target drops one item it is carrying of your choice (even if the item is wielded with two hands). If your attack exceeds the CMD of the target by 10 or more, the target drops the items it is carrying in both hands (maximum two items if the target has more than two hands). If your attack fails by 10 or more, you drop the weapon that you were using to attempt the disarm. If you successfully disarm your opponent without using a weapon, you may automatically pick up the item dropped.

I think generally speaking, weapons aren't required to perform any combat maneuvers. But if you use a weapon (even an unarmed strike) things that you normally could apply to that weapon (such as finesse) can be applied to the combat maneuver roll.


what you need to remember is that combat maneuvers are stated to be "attacks" (in the combat chapter, under combat maneuvers).
you can't crit in them (a nat 20 is auto success instead.). and some of the bonus is calculated differently (such as size bonus) but anything else that has not been called out as being changed from normal attacks is kept the same.
-a bonus for cover effect both normal attacks and maneuvers the same way, and casting true strike before will grant +20 for ether one.

as such any maneuver that can be used with a weapon (not all can be, see grappling etc) can enjoy any of that weapon bonus, special weapon ability, feat and abilities that are assisting in making that attack (again for the attack. flaming weapon won't add to a disarm, but a +3 weapon would grant that bonus to disarming attempts with it).


zza ni wrote:

what you need to remember is that combat maneuvers are stated to be "attacks" (in the combat chapter, under combat maneuvers).

you can't crit in them (a nat 20 is auto success instead.). and some of the bonus is calculated differently (such as size bonus) but anything else that has not been called out as being changed from normal attacks is kept the same.
-a bonus for cover effect both normal attacks and maneuvers the same way, and casting true strike before will grant +20 for ether one.

as such any maneuver that can be used with a weapon (not all can be, see grappling etc) can enjoy any of that weapon bonus, special weapon ability, feat and abilities that are assisting in making that attack (again for the attack. flaming weapon won't add to a disarm, but a +3 weapon would grant that bonus to disarming attempts with it).

Absolutely agreed, Derklord and I were more talking about what if you don't use a weapon with a maneuver. And in fact, aside from disarm, trip, and sunder you don't use a weapon to perform the maneuver.


oh i know.
i tried to explain the reasoning behind the faq Derklord brought in his 1st post. and the rules of maneuvers in general.
it's here to support your posts, not to question them.


zza ni wrote:

oh i know.

i tried to explain the reasoning behind the faq Derklord brought in his 1st post. and the rules of maneuvers in general.
it's here to support your posts, not to question them.

Ah! Sorry I misunderstood the context.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Question about Combat Maneuvers with a weapon All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.