Ready action and Fascinated


Rules Discussion


Ready action has Concentrate trait. Fascinated prevents Concentrate actions. Does it prevent a reaction from the Ready action if Fascinated was applied after Ready? Basically does the reaction from Ready get Concentrate?
As an example: an NPC says that she will kill downed PC if anyone makes hostile action and Readies Strike. Then another PC makes the NPC Fascinated (with himself or something else than downed PC). Can the NPC use reaction to Strike the first PC after that?


IMO you loose your ready reaction.

It's not specifically written but when you use Ready action you keep the concentration trait until activate the reaction. If you being Fascinated during before use the reaction you loose the necessary concentration to do the reaction in correct time.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Errenor wrote:

Ready action has Concentrate trait. Fascinated prevents Concentrate actions. Does it prevent a reaction from the Ready action if Fascinated was applied after Ready? Basically does the reaction from Ready get Concentrate?

As an example: an NPC says that she will kill downed PC if anyone makes hostile action and Readies Strike. Then another PC makes the NPC Fascinated (with himself or something else than downed PC). Can the NPC use reaction to Strike the first PC after that?

Per strict RAW, Fascinated doesn't prevent you to make the action.

But the situation you are describing is not one I would solve with combat rules. Once the NPC threatens to kill the downed PC, the fights stops and you should handle that with out of combat rules.
Anyway, I'd allow the fascinating PC to grab the enemy's attention and allow another one to sneak on the enemy (with the Perception penalty).


YuriP wrote:

IMO you loose your ready reaction.

It's not specifically written but when you use Ready action you keep the concentration trait until activate the reaction. If you being Fascinated during before use the reaction you loose the necessary concentration to do the reaction in correct time.

I don't think it works like this but yes, that's what some people say.

SuperBidi wrote:


Per strict RAW, Fascinated doesn't prevent you to make the action.
But the situation you are describing is not one I would solve with combat rules. Once the NPC threatens to kill the downed PC, the fights stops and you should handle that with out of combat rules.
Anyway, I'd allow the fascinating PC to grab the enemy's attention and allow another one to sneak on the enemy (with the Perception penalty).

Yes, if a GM allowed this to take place outside combat, it would be nice. Though the situation would be a lot worse if there were not one but several of enemies around the downed PC.

But in case GM loved this particular hostage trick in combat, it's interesting how to get out of this situation within the rules.


2 people marked this as a favorite.
Errenor wrote:
But in case GM loved this particular hostage trick in combat, it's interesting how to get out of this situation within the rules.

The problem is that it's a deadly situation for a character. So it's not something you make because you just "love this trick". As a GM, I'd be hyper cautious with it and be sure that I don't kill a character in an unfair way.

Having that handled during combat when there is also danger on the other characters because there are many enemies is too much of a challenge on the PCs, in my opinion. Chances for this to spiral out of control is too high to my tastes.


Errenor wrote:
YuriP wrote:

IMO you loose your ready reaction.

It's not specifically written but when you use Ready action you keep the concentration trait until activate the reaction. If you being Fascinated during before use the reaction you loose the necessary concentration to do the reaction in correct time.

I don't think it works like this but yes, that's what some people say.

I know it's just because becomes too illogical being unable to use new concentrate action but can use a reaction derivate from a concentrate action because you used this action just before being fascinated.

This turns into some kind of Mister Bean comedy! kkk

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Ready action and Fascinated All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Discussion