Multiple spellbooks from different classes


Rules Discussion


If you have multiple spellbooks from different classes, such as magus and wizard, both arcane, do you use the same spellbook for both classes or do you have to use one spellbook to prepare your slots for one class and the other for the other class?


Spellbooks aren't class or tradition specific so a Wizard/Magus MC or Magus/Wizard MC can record all of their spells in just one book of they'd like.

Similarly, a Wizard/Druid MC might find it convenient to record their uncommon or rare Primal spells in the same spellbook that they use for their Arcane spells so they don't have to haul two books around with them.

Although spellbooks play a central role in a wizard’s daily routine, other prepared spellcasting classes have been known to use spellbooks to record uncommon or even rare spells. Such a resource allows a caster to treat the spell like any other common spell, so long as they can reference the book during their daily preparations.


2 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber

The magus/wizard example is even less ambiguous, since the magus Spellbook feature specifically says: "If you have a spellbook from multiple sources (such as being a magus with the Wizard Dedication feat), you can use the same spellbook for all your spells."


HammerJack wrote:
The magus/wizard example is even less ambiguous, since the magus Spellbook feature specifically says: "If you have a spellbook from multiple sources (such as being a magus with the Wizard Dedication feat), you can use the same spellbook for all your spells."

Nice find!


Ok, thanks guys. I am building a character on Pathbuilder and the app gives me a second spellbook, which made me wonder. Thanks!


Pavlovian wrote:
Ok, thanks guys. I am building a character on Pathbuilder and the app gives me a second spellbook, which made me wonder. Thanks!

If you are doing Wizard/Magus MC or Magus/Wizard MC then you do get two free spellbooks, but you don't have to use both.


Spellbook armor.

When hit, the armor pages turn, giving you the concealed condition until the start of your turn.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

What is a bit less clear is whether a familiar's spells can be shared with a spell book. It seems like by RAW, no, but it is funky.


Does a spell's tradition when written down in a spellbook matter for which class could prepare it? Say if you were a magus who became a Red Mantis Assassin, and then took the feats that let you record spells in your book as divine spells, could you use any qualifying spells you learned as a magus for your slots as a red mantis?


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Perpdepog wrote:
Does a spell's tradition when written down in a spellbook matter for which class could prepare it? Say if you were a magus who became a Red Mantis Assassin, and then took the feats that let you record spells in your book as divine spells, could you use any qualifying spells you learned as a magus for your slots as a red mantis?

I don't think it does.

I suspect spells in written form are tradition agnostic. What matters is the CHARACTER'S tradition.


2 people marked this as a favorite.
Ravingdork wrote:
Perpdepog wrote:
Does a spell's tradition when written down in a spellbook matter for which class could prepare it? Say if you were a magus who became a Red Mantis Assassin, and then took the feats that let you record spells in your book as divine spells, could you use any qualifying spells you learned as a magus for your slots as a red mantis?

I don't think it does.

I suspect spells in written form are tradition agnostic. What matters is the CHARACTER'S tradition.

I think this interpretation is supported by the scroll rules in 2E, especially when contrasted with the scroll rules fro P1.

In first edition Pathfinder a scroll would be a divine scroll or an arcane one, so even if the spell was on the wizard list, they couldn't cast from the divine scroll.

P1 CRB pg 490: Scrolls wrote:

To have any chance of activating a scroll spell, the scroll user must meet the following requirements.

+ The spell must be of the correct type (arcane or divine). Arcane spellcasters (wizards, sorcerers, and bards) can only use scrolls containing arcane spells, and divine spellcasters (clerics, druids, paladins, and rangers) can only use scrolls containing divine spells. (The type of scroll a character creates is also determined by his class.)

In P2, the spell has to be on your list but the tradition is determined by the caster at time of casting.

P2 CRB pg 564: Scrolls wrote:
To Cast a Spell from a scroll, the spell must appear on your spell list. Because you’re the one Casting the Spell, use your spell attack roll and spell DC. The spell also gains the appropriate trait for your tradition (arcane, divine, occult, or primal).

Sovereign Court

Perpdepog wrote:
Does a spell's tradition when written down in a spellbook matter for which class could prepare it? Say if you were a magus who became a Red Mantis Assassin, and then took the feats that let you record spells in your book as divine spells, could you use any qualifying spells you learned as a magus for your slots as a red mantis?

Doesn't seem to matter. Even the Learn A Spell skill activity doesn't require your source to be of the same tradition. A wizard could have a chat with a druid to get some pointers on fireballs.


Further support for the "tradition doesn't matter" argument are the passages clarifying that the spell's school is intrinsic while tradition isn't and that you don't add the tradition trait to a spell until you cast it.

The fundamental building blocks of magic are the magical traditions and the schools of magic. The four traditions are arcane, divine, occult, and primal. A spell’s magical tradition can vary, because many spells can be cast using different traditions. A spell’s school, on the other hand, is intrinsic to the spell and establishes what the spell is capable of. Abjuration spells, for example, can raise protective wards, enchantment spells can change thoughts, and evocation spells can create blasts of fire.

...
Your class determines which tradition of magic your spells use. In some cases, such as when a cleric gains spells from their deity or when a sorcerer gets spells from their bloodline, you might be able to cast spells from a different spell list. In these cases, the spell uses your magic tradition, not the list the spell normally comes from. When you cast a spell, add your tradition’s trait to the spell.

So it would seem that if you open a spellbook and see the resist energy spell, it is definitely an abjuration spell but it has no tradition until someone casts it.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Multiple spellbooks from different classes All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.