Can an Arcane Bond item be replaced with an item of another category?


Rules Questions


For example, could a wizard that picked a quarterstaff as their bonded item replace it with a ring or an amulet at a later time?
The RAW doesn't seem to mention one way or the other, so I was wondering if this has come up before and if it has been answered in any 'official' capacity.

Arcane Bond wrote:

Objects that are the subject of an arcane bond must fall into one of the following categories: amulet, ring, staff, wand, or weapon.

[...]
If the object of an arcane bond is lost or destroyed, it can be replaced after 1 week in a special ritual that costs 200 gp per wizard level plus the cost of the masterwork item. This ritual takes 8 hours to complete. Items replaced in this way do not possess any of the additional enchantments of the previous bonded item.

A wizard can designate an existing magic item as his bonded item. This functions in the same way as replacing a lost or destroyed item except that the new magic item retains its abilities while gaining the benefits and drawbacks of becoming a bonded item.


Yes, nothing stops you from simply "losing" your quarterstaff until you make a new bond, and checking behind the couch and finding your still magical (if you put any magical properties into it) quarterstaff. It would still cost 200gp per level to switch it out in this way.


In my opinion, anything that makes your bonded item more durable is a good idea. So, if you get an artifact, that's a prime choice. Otherwise, if you can get an adamantine item, those are pretty hard to destroy.


AwesomenessDog wrote:
Yes, nothing stops you from simply "losing" your quarterstaff until you make a new bond, and checking behind the couch and finding your still magical (if you put any magical properties into it) quarterstaff. It would still cost 200gp per level to switch it out in this way.

Wouldn't it have returned to being a non-magical masterwork quarterstaff at that point?

Arcane Bond wrote:


The magic properties of a bonded object, including any magic abilities added to the object, only function for the wizard who owns it. If a bonded object's owner dies, or the item is replaced, the object reverts to being an ordinary masterwork item of the appropriate type.


Melkiador wrote:
In my opinion, anything that makes your bonded item more durable is a good idea. So, if you get an artifact, that's a prime choice. Otherwise, if you can get an adamantine item, those are pretty hard to destroy.

I totally agree with you there, however that was not the point of my question. My concern is whether or not something like that is even allowed by RAW/RAI.

It's not explicitly forbidden in the text of Arcane Bond, but it's not explicitly allowed either.


EightViolett wrote:
AwesomenessDog wrote:
Yes, nothing stops you from simply "losing" your quarterstaff until you make a new bond, and checking behind the couch and finding your still magical (if you put any magical properties into it) quarterstaff. It would still cost 200gp per level to switch it out in this way.

Wouldn't it have returned to being a non-magical masterwork quarterstaff at that point?

Arcane Bond wrote:


The magic properties of a bonded object, including any magic abilities added to the object, only function for the wizard who owns it. If a bonded object's owner dies, or the item is replaced, the object reverts to being an ordinary masterwork item of the appropriate type.

Didn't see that, maybe you transfer the effects when you make a new one if you have the old (a destroyed item is still destroyed and a truly lost item might as well be destroyed)?


Okay, maybe my original question was phrased suboptimally.
I'll try to make it clearer this time.

A wizard picks a quarterstaff as their Arcane Bond item at level 1.
That quarterstaff then gets destroyed or lost.
The wizard now wants to replace their Arcane Bond item.
What can the wizard pick for their new Arcane Bond item?

a) It has to be another quarterstaff.
b) It doesn't have to be a quarterstaff, but it has to be a weapon.
c) It can be any amulet, ring, staff, wand or weapon.

RAW could reasonably be interpreted in any of those ways.
Currently, I believe that c) is most likely the intent of the rules, but unless someone can link me an errata or a developer post clarifying this, I'm working off an assumption.
And you know what they say about assuming.

Full text for Arcane Bond, for completeness' sake:

Arcane Bond:

Archives of Nethys wrote:

Arcane Bond (Ex or Sp): At 1st level, wizards form a powerful bond with an object or a creature. This bond can take one of two forms: a familiar or a bonded object. A familiar is a magical pet that enhances the wizard's skills and senses and can aid him in magic, while a bonded object is an item a wizard can use to cast additional spells or to serve as a magical item. Once a wizard makes this choice, it is permanent and cannot be changed. Rules for bonded items are given below, while rules for familiars are at the end of this section.

Wizards who select a bonded object begin play with one at no cost. Objects that are the subject of an arcane bond must fall into one of the following categories: amulet, ring, staff, wand, or weapon. These objects are always masterwork quality. Weapons acquired at 1st level are not made of any special material. If the object is an amulet or ring, it must be worn to have effect, while staves, wands, and weapons must be wielded. If a wizard attempts to cast a spell without his bonded object worn or in hand, he must make a concentration check or lose the spell. The DC for this check is equal to 20 + the spell's level. If the object is a ring or amulet, it occupies the ring or neck slot accordingly.

A bonded object can be used once per day to cast any one spell that the wizard has in his spellbook and is capable of casting, even if the spell is not prepared. This spell is treated like any other spell cast by the wizard, including casting time, duration, and other effects dependent on the wizard's level. This spell cannot be modified by metamagic feats or other abilities. The bonded object cannot be used to cast spells from the wizard's opposition schools (see arcane school).

A wizard can add additional magic abilities to his bonded object as if he has the required item creation feats and if he meets the level prerequisites of the feat. For example, a wizard with a bonded dagger must be at least 5th level to add magic abilities to the dagger (see the Craft Magic Arms and Armor feat in Feats). If the bonded object is a wand, it loses its wand abilities when its last charge is consumed, but it is not destroyed and it retains all of its bonded object properties and can be used to craft a new wand. The magic properties of a bonded object, including any magic abilities added to the object, only function for the wizard who owns it. If a bonded object's owner dies, or the item is replaced, the object reverts to being an ordinary masterwork item of the appropriate type.

If a bonded object is damaged, it is restored to full hit points the next time the wizard prepares his spells. If the object of an arcane bond is lost or destroyed, it can be replaced after 1 week in a special ritual that costs 200 gp per wizard level plus the cost of the masterwork item. This ritual takes 8 hours to complete. Items replaced in this way do not possess any of the additional enchantments of the previous bonded item. A wizard can designate an existing magic item as his bonded item. This functions in the same way as replacing a lost or destroyed item except that the new magic item retains its abilities while gaining the benefits and drawbacks of becoming a bonded item.


I don't see any reason "C" isn't the right answer, for the general case. If your arcane bond was special and specified a type of item, then you'd usually have to stick with that.

eldritch archer wrote:
Ranged Weapon Bond (Ex): At 1st level, an eldritch archer gains a bonded object as per the wizard’s arcane bonded object; it must be a ranged weapon, and it can’t be used to cast a spell once per day. Holding her bonded item does not prevent the eldritch archer from providing somatic components for her spells.

The Eldritch archer couldn't trade his bow for a ring, but he could trade it out for a crossbow.

Liberty's Edge

C)

Quote:
A wizard can designate an existing magic item as his bonded item. This functions in the same way as replacing a lost or destroyed item except that the new magic item retains its abilities while gaining the benefits and drawbacks of becoming a bonded item.

There is nothing saying that the new item should be of the same kind as the previous one.


The choice you are making at 1st level is between the bonded item or the familiar. Nothing prevents you from changing the specific form as long as it is meets the criteria of a bonded item.

The Sentence about not being able to change your bond once chosen is in the description of arcane bond. You other choice of Arcane Bond is to have a familiar. If you could not change the form of your bond within the parameters of your choice you could not change what type of creature your familiar is. The Feat Improve Familiar explicitly changes the form of your familiar. If you cannot change the form of your Arcane Bond at all that feat would not work. The feat has a minimum caster level so cannot be taken at 1st level. This makes it very clear you can change your Arcane Bond as long as it conforms to the parameter of your choice at 1st level.


Thanks for the input, everyone.
I guess I was overthinking the matter.

My autistic brain wrote:
Just because something isn't explicitly forbidden, doesn't necessarily mean that it is allowed.


EightViolett wrote:

Thanks for the input, everyone.

I guess I was overthinking the matter....

yeah, wishful thinking get us all at one time or another.

The important thing with a bonded object is 1)upgrade path, 2)keeping it private and avoiding theft, 3)avoiding something that's functionally minimized by your class.
#3 kills (non-proficient) weapons (& staff). I don't know that there's much less effective than a wizard with a weapon.
Ring are all effectively double the usual price.
That leaves you with Amulet, Wand.
#2 lets you know that people will notice (the Hogwart's student) wizards with their wands... hmm... it's not a bad choice as it's an item you will use all the time.
Amulets upgrade goes Ageis of Recovery or Talisman, Amulet of Spellcraft (etc). More spell slots at half price are fantastic!


Azothath wrote:


Ring are all effectively double the usual price.

Can you explain this?


Azothath wrote:

{. . .}

The important thing with a bonded object is 1)upgrade path, 2)keeping it private and avoiding theft, 3)avoiding something that's functionally minimized by your class.
#3 kills (non-proficient) weapons (& staff). I don't know that there's much less effective than a wizard with a weapon.
{. . .}

Which reminds me of the Swordbinder archetype. Has anyone actually gotten this to work decently? I suppose you could get a bit of very specialized anti-caster use out of it, but it seems to me that Wizard has better options for this. (Also, this archetype CAN'T replace their Bonded Item with a different Bonded Item, outside the range allowed by the different types of swords.)

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Can an Arcane Bond item be replaced with an item of another category? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.