Stacked effects (negatives)


Rules Questions


If a lich cast ray of sickening (target receives -2 to all saves etc.) then cause fear (target receives -2 to all rolls etc.) would they then receive -4 to saves, attacks etc.?


Yes.

2 instances of Nauseated wouldn't stack, and neither would 2 instances of Shaken, but Nauseated plus Shaken is fine.

Negative modifiers pretty much follow the same rules as positive modifiers - different typed bonuses stack, but the same typed bonuses don't.

Witch, Evil Eye Hex: Can I use this hex more than once on a target?

Yes. As long as you apply a different penalty with each use of the hex (AC, ability checks, attack rolls, saving throws, or skill checks), you can have multiple penalties on the same target. Applying the same hex penalty to a target just resets the duration to the most recent use of the hex.

Example: On round 1, you hex the target's AC. On round 2, you hex the target's attack rolls, so the target now has two evil eye hexes on it. On round 3, you hex the target's saving throws, so it now has three evil eye hexes on it. On round 4, you hex its AC again, resetting the duration of the AC-hex (which does not add an additional –2 penalty to its AC). The same thing would happen if two witches were using evil eye on the same target--as long as each evil eye hex applied a penalty to a different thing, they'd all apply.

This doesn't violate the general rule for stacking penalties--each evil eye effect is basically a different source, even though they stem from the evil eye hex (the evil eye hex is much like 5 separate weak hexes under a common umbrella). In the same way that multiple castings of bestow curse on the same target should stack as long as they do different things (penalize Strength, penalize Dex, penalize attack rolls, take no action, and so on), multiple uses of the evil eye hex stack as long as they're targeting different game statistics.


correction. fear effects stack and escalate unless specifically called out not to (like with intimidate).
so a shaken character who would become shaken again from a source that doesn't call out not stacking become frightened. if he gets shaken again he turn into panicked.

from the link:
Becoming Even More Fearful: Fear effects are cumulative. A shaken character who is made shaken again becomes frightened, and a shaken character who is made frightened becomes panicked instead. A frightened character who is made shaken or frightened becomes panicked instead.


Common Terms scroll down to Bonus or Penalty which is pretty basic.
and
Bonus Types. RAW is what it is and it's a bit messy.


zza ni wrote:

correction. fear effects stack and escalate unless specifically called out not to (like with intimidate).

so a shaken character who would become shaken again from a source that doesn't call out not stacking become frightened. if he gets shaken again he turn into panicked.

** spoiler omitted **

The penalties aren't stacking though, that's just called advancing to the next stage of fear. Same thing with fatigued>exhausted.


AwesomenessDog wrote:
zza ni wrote:

correction. fear effects stack and escalate unless specifically called out not to (like with intimidate).

so a shaken character who would become shaken again from a source that doesn't call out not stacking become frightened. if he gets shaken again he turn into panicked.

** spoiler omitted **

The penalties aren't stacking though, that's just called advancing to the next stage of fear. Same thing with fatigued>exhausted.

Oh, yeah I was talking about the numerical penalties not stacking, but I suppose I could have used a better example.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Stacked effects (negatives) All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions