Can you use free actions in multi action moves?


Rules Discussion


As the title says, most things granting you free actions specify what you can use them for often to strike or stride but I can't find any mention on whether you can use these as part of 2 action, or more, strikes and strides or not.


2 people marked this as a favorite.

In the absence of anything I else I'd read

CRB p461 wrote:
A free action with no trigger follows the same rules as a single action (except the action cost)
CRB p461 wrote:
You have to spend all the actions of an activity at once to gain its effects.

To imply the free action can be taken when you could otherwise take an action, and you cannot insert an action in the middle of an activity.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Maps, Pathfinder Accessories, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Maps, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber

I don't think you're talking about _free_ actions, but rather _additional_ actions granted by Quickened, such as those granted by Haste (where the additional actions can only be used to Stride or Strike).

These additional actions can't be combined into an activity, or replaced with a named upgraded version. They can be modified by things that modify any Strike (or Stride).

Shadow Lodge

Chapter 9: Playing the Game / General Rules / Actions wrote:

Source Core Rulebook pg. 461 2.0

You affect the world around you primarily by using actions, which produce effects. Actions are most closely measured and restricted during the encounter mode of play, but even when it isn’t important for you to keep strict track of actions, they remain the way in which you interact with the game world. There are four types of actions: single actions, activities, reactions, and free actions.

Single actions can be completed in a very short time. They’re self-contained, and their effects are generated within the span of that single action. During an encounter, you get 3 actions at the beginning of your turn, which you can use as described on page 468.

Activities usually take longer and require using multiple actions, which must be spent in succession. Stride is a single action, but Sudden Charge is an activity in which you use both the Stride and Strike actions to generate its effect.

Reactions have triggers, which must be met for you to use the reaction. You can use a reaction anytime its trigger is met, whether it’s your turn or not. In an encounter, you get 1 reaction each round, which you can use as described on page 468. Outside of encounters, your use of reactions is more flexible and up to the GM. Reactions are usually triggered by other creatures or by events outside your control.

Free actions don’t cost you any of your actions per turn, nor do they cost your reaction. A free action with no trigger follows the same rules as a single action (except the action cost), and a free action with a trigger follows the same rules as a reaction (except the reaction cost).

Free Actions with a trigger follow the reaction rules, which means you can use them whenever the trigger occurs (but only once per trigger), even in the middle of another action.

Free Actions without a trigger follow the normal action rules, which means you'd need to complete you current action before taking one.


NielsenE wrote:

I don't think you're talking about _free_ actions, but rather _additional_ actions granted by Quickened, such as those granted by Haste (where the additional actions can only be used to Stride or Strike).

These additional actions can't be combined into an activity, or replaced with a named upgraded version. They can be modified by things that modify any Strike (or Stride).

Oh yeah that's what I mean. Free Action was way off.

So you can only do a regular strike, not for instance Power Attack or Flurry of Blows with the action granted by Haste.

And lo and behold searching for extra action instead of free action immediately brings up this paragraph

Quote:
Using an activity is not the same as using any of its subordinate actions. For example, the quickened condition you get from the haste spell lets you spend an extra action each turn to Stride or Strike, but you couldn’t use the extra action for an activity that includes a Stride or Strike. As another example, if you used an action that specified, “If the next action you use is a Strike,” an activity that includes a Strike wouldn’t count, because the next thing you are doing is starting an activity, not using the Strike basic action.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Can you use free actions in multi action moves? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.