
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

Since you only have to pay for the price difference between the current rune and the upgraded rune, I am assuming that the smith is “recovering” the old rune when placing the new rune. That accounts for the reduced price. The smith is going to recoup that part of the cost by reselling the lesser rune. YMMV

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

Hmm...
Logic would dictate that you would actually need to transfer the rune twice. (Once to take it off, so that it is not damaged while upgrading the staff, a second time to put it back on...)
But the rules don't really address this. A reasonable GM could rule anywhere between 0 to 2 transfers. I would say pay for one, and fix it (or don't) later, if we get an answer.

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

I can see both the 0 transfer and the 2 transfer arguments. Can't really see a 1 transfer ruling (other than the compromise split the difference in terms of accounting). Personally I'd be on the 0-transfer side of things.

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |

Logic would dictate that you would actually need to transfer the rune twice. (Once to take it off, so that it is not damaged while upgrading the staff, a second time to put it back on...)
I don't see the "logic" in this.
I could understand it for Starfinder, where you're specifically dismantling the lower level item and using 10% of its parts for the upgrade, but that's not how items are upgraded in Pathfinder.
There's nothing suggesting anything would be "damaged" when you magically upgrade a staff, or any other magic item. A rune is etched onto the item's surface.
And, for consistency of rules in Society, since you don't need to pay extra when upgrading runes, you probably shouldn't have to pay extra when upgrading items.
Especially since it's not mentioned in the Core Rulebook.
Also, did something change when the Guide was updated? Transferring runes used to be a free service provided by the Society between adventures.

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

Also, did something change when the Guide was updated? Transferring runes used to be a free service provided by the Society between adventures.
It should still be free. The only clarification was that the part that is free is the labor, not the materials.
It got moved to Purchasing Guidelines:

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

Jared Thaler - Personal Opinion wrote:Logic would dictate that you would actually need to transfer the rune twice. (Once to take it off, so that it is not damaged while upgrading the staff, a second time to put it back on...)I don't see the "logic" in this.
The rules are not really very specific on:
How much of the item gets changed when it gets upgraded.
How much of the rune the item covers.
If the rune covers most of the surface area, it would seem hard to upgrade it without disturbing the rune unless all the upgrade is internal.
If the rune is a little squiggle at the base of the shaft, it would seem a lot more plausible. I am honestly not sure which answer makes more sense and am not particularly advocating one way or another. (It is honestly such a small amount of the prices involved that I have trouble caring.)
My point was that *IF* you have to remove the rune *at all* then logically you would need to take it off, do the upgrade, and then put it back on, which would seem to be 2 separate transfers.

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

I think there might be some confusion on what I am trying to understand.
I have a Staff of Healing. It has a +1 rune and a striking rune on it. I am upgrading the Staff of Healing to a Staff of Greater Healing.
My question is do I have to transfer the runes? If so, what is the cost?
Right now I paid the cost twice (10% of the costs of the runes) and paid the difference in price of the two staves. This is a total of 380 gold.
Agree with Jared that how runes are handled in the upgrade process is a gray area that hopefully can be addressed in future updates of the guide.