| Darksol the Painbringer |
| 2 people marked this as a favorite. |
It's not about turning normal into a key word. It's also about obvious intent behind the ability and its interactions.
I'm pretty certain an ability that operates under the assumption you suffer penalties between its two attacks doesn't just suddenly no longer stop doing that simply because of a slight error in rules parsing in regards to Ready Actions.
I'm not going to argue that you're incorrect on the RAW side of things. You're outright wrong on the RAI side of things, and that's what matters more here in this edition than in any other edition.
| GM OfAnything |
| 1 person marked this as a favorite. |
I'm not going to argue that you're incorrect on the RAW side of things. You're outright wrong on the RAI side of things, and that's what matters more here in this edition than in any other edition.
Yes, in PF2, RAI is RAW. The rules in the rulebook tell you that if your reading leads to absurd results, it is wrong.
| Gortle |
I agree if the intention of the rule is clear then that is the interpretation of the rule that should be held up as the correct interpretation.
In many situations that can get you over the line. I think this is the case for MAP in this Readied Flurry of Blows scenario.
It can just get hard in a game with all sorts of little corners to work out what the intention is.
For the case on whether or not you can reuse flourish actions with a ready action. Some flourish actions deliberately use the word round as a restriction, but not others. So is this intended or not? Impossible to tell.
| Darksol the Painbringer |
It's a little difficult, but I might harken it back to the PF1's Immediate Action rules. That is, you can take one before your turn, but it counts towards your coming turn's action limit, but if you don't take one until after your turn, your next Immediate Action counts for your previous turn instead of your next turn.
So, Round 1, before your turn, if you used an Immediate Action, you would not be able to make another Immediate Action until after your turn, and if you do, it consumes your next turn's Immediate Action until your turn comes. If you do not use another Immediate Action until after your turn in Round 2, then any Immediate Actions you use will count towards your previous turn's limit.
It sounds awfully convoluted, hence why I like the current restriction of "No Reactions until you have acted in Combat" for PF2, as well as the "Actions and Reactions refresh at the start of your turn," it really helps out in this regard.
That being said, I'm fairly certain readying a Flourish on your turn would pre-emptively prevent you from taking another Flourish until your second turn with this mindset, simply because you're trying to Flourish twice in a row when you have only actually had one turn take place, with the obvious intention that Flourish can be done once for each turn that has elapsed, hence the "Once per turn" restriction.
Cordell Kintner
|
When you Ready, you're basically using that action during your turn, the effects are just delayed. The Flourish Trait says you can only use one action with it per turn, so that limitation resets at the start of each of your turn, unless the ability specifically says otherwise.
That being said, I'm fairly certain readying a Flourish on your turn would pre-emptively prevent you from taking another Flourish until your second turn with this mindset, simply because you're trying to Flourish twice in a row when you have only actually had one turn take place, with the obvious intention that Flourish can be done once for each turn that has elapsed, hence the "Once per turn" restriction.
Remember once you Ready your turn immediately ends. You can't do anything after you Ready so that's not a problem.
Gary Bush
|
| 1 person marked this as a favorite. |
So looking more closely at the Ready action, I noticed something that I don't think has been talked about but may be relevant to the FoB discussion.
If you have a multiple attack penalty and your readied action is an attack action, your readied attack takes the multiple attack penalty you had at the time you used Ready. This is one of the few times the multiple attack penalty applies when it’s not your turn.
(Emphasis mine)
Is FoB an attack action? If it is, than clearly it would advance MAP "as normal". If FoB is not an attack action, than clearly MAP is not adjusted.To me, FoB is clearly an attack action, it allows two Strikes, so MAP does apply to both Strikes.
| Seyres |
| 1 person marked this as a favorite. |
So looking more closely at the Ready action, I noticed something that I don't think has been talked about but may be relevant to the FoB discussion.
Ready, CRB 470 (2nd Print) wrote:If you have a multiple attack penalty and your readied action is an attack action, your readied attack takes the multiple attack penalty you had at the time you used Ready. This is one of the few times the multiple attack penalty applies when it’s not your turn.(Emphasis mine)
Is FoB an attack action? If it is, than clearly it would advance MAP "as normal". If FoB is not an attack action, than clearly MAP is not adjusted.To me, FoB is clearly an attack action, it allows two Strikes, so MAP does apply to both Strikes.
The word used in the description of both Flurry of Blows and Twin Takedown is Strike. Neither of them have the Attack trait, but the action Strike does. After reading all the replies, I do agree that the MAP should progress normally for both strikes, even when FoB is performed as a reaction.
Thank you all for the replies.