Rogue's "Shove Down" questions


Rules Discussion


I have some questions about the new Rogue 6 feat, Shove Down. I'm not sure about a few interactions.

For reference:
Shove Down
Free Action
Requirements Your last action was a successful Shove.
"You leverage your weight to topple foes that you move. You attempt to Trip the target, even if the target is no longer in your reach."

1. Does this free Action Trip use and/or increase MAP?
2. How would it interact with the Staff Acrobat archetype's level 6 ability Staff Sweep, that lets you Shove two creatures with a single action? Does it allow you to Trip both Shoved creatures? And again, how does that affect MAP?

I would appreciate any input. :-)


1. Since it doesn't say anything about ignoring the MAP, it applies as normal.

2. No idea. As GM, I'd probably let you roll a Trip against one of the targets.


1: Yes. Trip and Shove are both MAP. And nothing says otherwise. The benefit is that it's a free action.

2: Mmm.... I would say yes. Staff Sweep looks like 1 Shove check (and 1 MAP). It just doubles the targets.

Maybe...

Shadow Lodge

FuzzyrabbitMD wrote:

I have some questions about the new Rogue 6 feat, Shove Down. I'm not sure about a few interactions.

For reference:
Shove Down
Free Action
Requirements Your last action was a successful Shove.
"You leverage your weight to topple foes that you move. You attempt to Trip the target, even if the target is no longer in your reach."

1. Does this free Action Trip use and/or increase MAP?
2. How would it interact with the Staff Acrobat archetype's level 6 ability Staff Sweep, that lets you Shove two creatures with a single action? Does it allow you to Trip both Shoved creatures? And again, how does that affect MAP?

I would appreciate any input. :-)

MAPs apply as normal: If the 'Shove' was your first attack action, the 'Shove Down' trip is at -5 and all subsequent attack actions are at -10.

As for the Staff Sweep, I'd say you only get the trip against one target:

  • Nothing in Shove Down allows for multiple targets.
  • You only get one free action / reaction per trigger.
  • Even if you could get multiple free actions from the same trigger, as soon as you complete one, you no longer meet the trigger requirements (your last action was Shove Down, not Staff Sweep).


Taja the Barbarian wrote:
As for the Staff Sweep, I'd say you only get the trip against one target:
  • Nothing in Shove Down allows for multiple targets.
  • You only get one free action / reaction per trigger.
  • Even if you could get multiple free actions from the same trigger, as soon as you complete one, you no longer meet the trigger requirements (your last action was Shove Down, not Staff Sweep).

If it was "make 2 shove attacks" then I would agree.

But but Staff Sweep is just 1 Shove. 2 targets, but only 1 roll.

Same as if you had "the target of your fireball takes 1d4 persistent damage", when you hit 2 creatures.

Shadow Lodge

Mellored wrote:
Taja the Barbarian wrote:
As for the Staff Sweep, I'd say you only get the trip against one target:
  • Nothing in Shove Down allows for multiple targets.
  • You only get one free action / reaction per trigger.
  • Even if you could get multiple free actions from the same trigger, as soon as you complete one, you no longer meet the trigger requirements (your last action was Shove Down, not Staff Sweep).
If it was "make 2 shove attacks" then I would agree.

If it was, then you could make one Trip after each (most likely at a heinous MAP, though)

Mellored wrote:

But but Staff Sweep is just 1 Shove. 2 targets, but only 1 roll.

Same as if you had "the target of your fireball takes 1d4 persistent damage", when you hit 2 creatures.

'Shove Down' clearly wasn't written with multiple shove-ees in mind, so we're both in the 'grey' GM call area: Personally, I think the singular nature of this feat takes precedence.


Taja the Barbarian wrote:
'Shove Down' clearly wasn't written with multiple shove-ees in mind, so we're both in the 'grey' GM call area: Personally, I think the singular nature of this feat takes precedence.

I can see your point. But still disagree.

Someone will need to ask a dev for an official ruling.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Rogue's "Shove Down" questions All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.