Trick Magic Item and three actions spells


Rules Discussion

Silver Crusade

Trick Magic Item is the 2E equivalent of good ol' UMD, except it takes an action to "trick" the magic item in order to cast spells outside your spell list. This means that you cannot, say, trick a scroll of Heal and activate its 3-actions AoE heal effect, because it would require 1-action to Trick Magic Item and 3-actions to AoE heal, for a total of 4-actions. This seems quite bogus to me, but so be it.

A GM might hand-wave the limitation out of combat, since actions are an in-combat mechanics, but is there a way to circumvent it in-combat? For example using readied actions or something like that.

Shadow Lodge

1 person marked this as a favorite.

First off, here's the actual ability text:

Trick Magic Item <Single Action> Feat 1 wrote:

General, Manipulate,Skill

Source Core Rulebook pg. 268
Prerequisites trained in Arcana, Nature, Occultism, or Religion

You examine a magic item you normally couldn’t use in an effort to fool it and activate it temporarily. For example, this might allow a fighter to cast a spell from a wand or allow a wizard to cast a spell that’s not on the arcane list using a scroll. You must know what activating the item does, or you can’t attempt to trick it.

Attempt a check using the skill matching the item’s magic tradition, or matching a tradition that has the spell on its list, if you’re trying to cast a spell from the item. The relevant skills are Arcana for arcane, Nature for primal, Occultism for occult, Religion for divine, or any of the four for an item that has the magical trait and not a tradition trait. The GM determines the DC based on the item’s level (possibly adjusted depending on the item or situation).

If you activate a magic item that requires a spell attack roll or spell DC and you don’t have the ability to cast spells of the relevant tradition, use your level as your proficiency bonus and the highest of your Intelligence, Wisdom, or Charisma modifiers. If you’re a master in the appropriate skill for the item’s tradition, you instead use the trained proficiency bonus, and if you’re legendary, you instead use the expert proficiency bonus.

Success For the rest of the current turn, you can spend actions to activate the item as if you could normally use it.
Failure You can’t use the item or try to trick it again this turn, but you can try again on subsequent turns.
Critical Failure You can’t use the item, and you can’t try to trick it again until your next daily preparations.

Nope, I don't think there is a way to do this: The 'For the rest of the current turn' restriction will prevent you from using prepared actions or the like...

Verdant Wheel

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Obviously, they haven't yet printed (unless in APG...) the advanced version of this skill feat.

Which may allow you to make the check good for 1.5 rounds, or, as a free action.

Probably with a proficiency variable?

But yeah, for now, Taja's right.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Trick Magic Item and three actions spells All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.