Healer's Blessing on Magic Items


Rules Questions


Pathfinder 1st Edition

If a 6th-level cleric with the Healing domain creates a potion of Cure Serious Wounds, is the potion empowered via Healer's Blessing?

"Healer's Blessing (Su): At 6th level, all of your cure spells are treated as if they were empowered, increasing the amount of damage healed by half (+50%). This does not apply to damage dealt to undead with a cure spell. This does not stack with the Empower Spell metamagic feat."

If yes, does the cleric need to create the potion as a 6th-level caster (as opposed to the 5th-level minimum requirement for the 3rd-level Cure Serious Wounds spell)?


No, generally items don't carry over the benefit of the creators special abilities, and few abilities of the user apply to their magic items. Healer's blessing has no language to suggest that it carries over either way.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
FAQ wrote:

Items as Spells: Does using a potion, scroll, staff, or wand count as "casting a spell" for purposes of feats and special abilities like Augment Summoning, Spell Focus, an evoker's ability to do extra damage with evocation spells, bloodline abilities, and so on?

No. Unless they specifically state otherwise, feats and abilities that modify spells you cast only affect actual spellcasting, not using magic items that emulate spellcasting or work like spellcasting.


willuwontu

Thank you for your reply. I believe you are addressing a different, albeit similar, situation.

A 5th-level Universal wizard creates a scroll of fireball and gives it to a 5th-level Evoker wizard to cast. The Evoker has Intense Spells to add 1/2 wizard level to damage from evocation spells. In this case, Intense Spells would not come into play because the Evoker is casting the spell from a "regular fireball scroll" instead of the Evoker's own "arcane mind."

Now turn that scenario around. The 5th-level Evoker wizard creates the scroll of fireball and gives it to the 5th-level Universal wizard to cast. Here is where I repeat my initial inquiry. Does the scroll contain an extra 1/2 wizard level damage (based on the Evoker creator's level)? After all, the Evoker wizard cast the fireball spell into the scroll, and Intense Spells is free i.e. not a metamagic feat that increases effective spell level.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

It does not, creating a magic item is not casting a spell.

Quote:
Unless they specifically state otherwise, feats and abilities that modify spells you cast only affect actual spellcasting

Emphasis mine, it is not actual spellcasting, therefore it is not applied to the magic of the scroll.

To give another example, a wizard with Magical lineage may be able to cast intensified fireball as a 3rd level spell, but it's still a 4th level spell when creating the scroll. Similarly, a sorcerer with the orc bloodline may craft a scroll of fireball, but the scroll doesn't deal the additional damage the bloodline arcana would have provided.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

As willuwontu said. You do not cast spells into magic items--you expend them to provide the item's required energies.

Creating Potions wrote:
Material components are consumed when he begins working, but a focus is not. (a focus used in brewing a potion can be reused.) The act of brewing triggers the prepared spell, making it unavailable for casting until the character has rested and regained spells. (That is, that spell slot is expended from the caster’s currently prepared spells, just as if it had been cast.)

The distinction is important. The spell is expended as though it has been cast, but it has not actually been cast. (Similar text appears for the creation of other types of magic item, including scrolls.)

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Healer's Blessing on Magic Items All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.