Trying to understand the rules regarding Animal Companions / Mounts


Rules Discussion


Having started Pathfinder 2E recently, I thought it would be fun to convert some of my character concepts to 2E starting with the first character I made for 1E. He was a Cavalier based around the charge action and was pretty fun. However, the issue I'm running into is that as I'm reading through the rules for Animal Companions, mounts and mounted combat, I'm not sure I'm understanding everything.

It seems like there are a lot of somewhat overlapping "if;then" scenarios so I was hoping to clarify exactly how this worked and make sure I didn't miss anything.

1. Assuming I'm commanding a creature that is friendly toward me, I could use "Command an Animal" to try and get it to do something like stride. I would use an action on my turn to command it, then, if successful, it would use an action on it's turn to follow what I said. If I commanded it to do something that took more than 1 action (Gallop for example), I would have to spend the same number of actions

2. If I have an animal that isn't combat trained (mount or otherwise) and bring it into an encounter, it becomes Frightened 4 and tries to flee unless I successfully command it in which case, it remains frightened but doesn't flee. It it's attacked, it will try to flee again.

3. If I'm riding an animal and/or the creature I'm commanding is my Animal Companion, it acts on my initiative

4. If I'm riding an animal that is not my animal companion, we essentially share the 3 actions for the turn (so I command it to move as my first action and it moves for the first action, I attack for the second action and it does nothing for the second action etc.).

5. If the animal I'm commanding (mount or otherwise) is my animal companion, when I command it it gains 2 of it's own actions for the turn rather than sharing my action pool as per the minion special ability that it gains. This would mean, for example, if I used the horse's advanced maneuver, Gallop, I would use 2 actions to command it, then it would use 2 actions performing leaving me with a 3rd action to use.

6. If I'm mounted, commanding my animal companion or both, we both still share MAP because we act on the same initiative

7. If I command an animal that is my animal companion, I don't need to roll nature to do so essentially meaning I automatically succeed.

8. If I happen to be on a creature that doesn't have the mount special ability, it can't move and use it's support skill in the same turn and it can only use it's land speed if it had any other speed available.

9. Animal Companions are gained as Young Animal Companions. They level with me (so they gain proficiency as normal) and I can advance them by taking certain feats such as Loyal Warhorse if I was a Champion (possibly other ways as well).

Assuming everything above is correct, I still have a few questions:

1. How do I know an animal is combat trained? On this page it says that the Warpony and Warhorse are combat trained but I can't find any actual indication on their bestiary entries of this nor can I find anything indicating that any other animal is combat trained. Do I just assume that an animal companion is combat trained? Do I assume it isn't? If it's the latter, is there a way to do so? 1E specifically had a way to do this but I couldn't find anything for 2E.

2. When it comes to an animal companion's actions, specifically one I'm mounted on, how are our actions timed relative to each other? For example, if I use an action to command my horse to stride towards an enemy that's 15 feet away, can I use my second action to strike the enemy while my horse finishes the rest of it's stride or would I have stop before the strike and use my 3rd action to command it to do another stride? Similarly, if I command my horse to stride, does it immediately do so or could I command it, use a different action, then have it move after?

3. How would something like Tumble Through work if I'm mounted? I assume I would need to command it but would be both work on the same roll or both roll separately? I don't think it's possible for the rider to do since I'm pretty sure the only move action allowed is to dismount. Would I even be able to command the mount to do it? I believe tricks and other actions can be trained so would I have to do so first?

4. How does the lesser cover granted by the mount work? If I had to guess it would be something like, if a small and maybe medium creature tried to attack the rider, the mount would be in the way so it grants lesser cover but not against a large creature or something with significant reach but I wanted to clarify.


One more question, do I have to use an action to command my animal companion to use it's support benefit or is it able to use one of it's 2 available actions on it's own to do so?


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Michael Grate wrote:

Having started Pathfinder 2E recently, I thought it would be fun to convert some of my character concepts to 2E starting with the first character I made for 1E. He was a Cavalier based around the charge action and was pretty fun. However, the issue I'm running into is that as I'm reading through the rules for Animal Companions, mounts and mounted combat, I'm not sure I'm understanding everything.

It seems like there are a lot of somewhat overlapping "if;then" scenarios so I was hoping to clarify exactly how this worked and make sure I didn't miss anything.

1. Assuming I'm commanding a creature that is friendly toward me, I could use "Command an Animal" to try and get it to do something like stride. I would use an action on my turn to command it, then, if successful, it would use an action on it's turn to follow what I said. If I commanded it to do something that took more than 1 action (Gallop for example), I would have to spend the same number of actions

2. If I have an animal that isn't combat trained (mount or otherwise) and bring it into an encounter, it becomes Frightened 4 and tries to flee unless I successfully command it in which case, it remains frightened but doesn't flee. It it's attacked, it will try to flee again.

3. If I'm riding an animal and/or the creature I'm commanding is my Animal Companion, it acts on my initiative

4. If I'm riding an animal that is not my animal companion, we essentially share the 3 actions for the turn (so I command it to move as my first action and it moves for the first action, I attack for the second action and it does nothing for the second action etc.).

5. If the animal I'm commanding (mount or otherwise) is my animal companion, when I command it it gains 2 of it's own actions for the turn rather than sharing my action pool as per the minion special ability that it gains. This would mean, for example, if I used the horse's advanced maneuver, Gallop, I would use 2 actions to command it, then it would use 2 actions performing leaving me with a 3rd...

1. Yes.

2. Yes.
3. Yes.
4. Yes.
5. No. You only have to spend 1 action to give your Animal Companion 2 actions, so you only have to spend 1 action to allow the Horse to use it's 2 actions to Gallop. You would still have 2 actions left.
6. No. You share MAP with a standard mount, but Animal Companions are Minions. They have their own actions and their own MAP. You do not share with them.
7. Yes.
8. Yes.
9. Kind of. They gain HPs and Level based Proficiency, but their Proficiency Ranks only increase when an ability says they do. For example, they do not become Expert in their attacks until becoming Specialized.

1. An animal companion is a Minion, not an Animal. Those rules don't apply. For other Animals, AFAIK, the animals stated to be combat trained are those you listed, or those your GM says are combat trained.
2. Your actions are separate. You use a single action to command it, and that gives it 2 actions to use during your turn. At what point during your turn it uses those actions is up to you. It could Stride once, then you Strike, then it Strides again.
3. I don't believe the rules cover that. I'd say you would both have to make the check.
4. That's up to your GM.

Yes, your Companion uses one of its 2 actions to use its Support Benefit.

Liberty's Edge

Aratorin wrote:
6. No. You share MAP with a standard mount, but Animal Companions are Minions. They have their own actions and their own MAP. You do not share with them.

Do you have a citation for minion mounts not sharing MAP? That’s not how I’ve been running it, and the Paladin in my group has been fighting side by side with his horse rather than sharing MAP.

Quote:
You use a single action to command it, and that gives it 2 actions to use during your turn. At what point during your turn it uses those actions is up to you. It could Stride once, then you Strike, then it Strides again.

Is this set forth somewhere? Again that’s not how I’ve been running it. I’ve been putting both of the animal companions actions together immediately after the action spent to command it.


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber
Quote:
No. You share MAP with a standard mount, but Animal Companions are Minions. They have their own actions and their own MAP. You do not share with them.

The shared MAP applies to any mount. That includes an animal companion, if and only if you are riding them.


Luke Styer wrote:
Aratorin wrote:
6. No. You share MAP with a standard mount, but Animal Companions are Minions. They have their own actions and their own MAP. You do not share with them.
Do you have a citation for minion mounts not sharing MAP? That’s not how I’ve been running it, and the Paladin in my group has been fighting side by side with his horse rather than sharing MAP.

Riding an Animal Companion has its own specific rules. The General Mount rules are not relevant. You don't share actions like you would with a mount. It can't fly like a mount. It can't swim like a mount. It's not a mount. It's a Ridden Animal Companion. It's essentially just a Minion that happens to be carrying you. At least that's how I read it.

Quote:

Riding Animal Companions

You or an ally can ride your animal companion as long as
it is at least one size larger than the rider. If it is carrying a
rider, the animal companion can use only its land Speed, and
it can’t move and Support you on the same turn. However, if
your companion has the mount special ability, it’s especially
suited for riding and ignores both of these restrictions.

Nothing there says that you share MAP. I mean look at it this way. If my ally rides my Animal Companion, and I command it to Attack, does my Ally now share MAP with it?

Luke Styer wrote:
Quote:
You use a single action to command it, and that gives it 2 actions to use during your turn. At what point during your turn it uses those actions is up to you. It could Stride once, then you Strike, then it Strides again.
Is this set forth somewhere? Again that’s not how I’ve been running it. I’ve been putting both of the animal companions actions together immediately after the action spent to command it.
Quote:

Your animal companion has the minion trait, and it

gains 2 actions during your turn if you use the Command
an Animal action to command it; this is in place of the
usual effects of Command an Animal.

I don't see anything that dictates the timing of those actions. When use Command an Animal, it gains 2 Actions during your turn. To me, that says it can use those Actions at any time during your turn.


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber

Your animal companion, as a minion, has specific rules that override the normal action economy of mounts. There is nothing to support the idea that other mount rules don't apply, or that a ridden animal companion is not a mount.


I disagree.


Aratorin wrote:
Nothing there says that you share MAP.

Hmm - this might be an example of the age old fallacy.

Assume any omissions are intentional, not accidental. Meaning the rules won't tell you stuff you're supposed to figure out on your own. If the rules had to spell everything out each time anyone was unsure, the CRB would be a million pages thick.

Now I don't know the mount rules well enough to say either way. I'm just saying the logic of "if the rules doesn't say X, X doesn't apply" is never strong.

At the very least, you should consider the (remote?) possibility you're wrong. If you *are* wrong (and I'm not saying you are), you're actively unhelpful in a rules thread.


Aratorin wrote:
I don't see anything that dictates the timing of those actions. When use Command an Animal, it gains 2 Actions during your turn. To me, that says it can use those Actions at any time during your turn.

That's quibbling at best.

The minion trait is defined on page 301 as "Your minion acts on your turn in combat, once per turn, when you spend an action to issue it commands."

So at least in my game, your interpretation doesn't fly.

To everyone:

Anytime the exact order of actions become important, I'd have the minion get and take its two actions immediately after you have taken the Command an Animal action.

The easiest resolution would be for you to spend your last (third) action on Command an Animal, and have the minion act right after you've completed your turn.

Hopefully that's enough for the overwhelming majority of cases.


Aratorin wrote:
Riding an Animal Companion has its own specific rules. The General Mount rules are not relevant.

I'm sorry, but it appears you're saying you're better off with an animal companion that doesn't have the mount special ability?

If what you're saying is true, you can switch from riding a mount to riding a non-mount AC and get two "best" attacks (no MAP) instead of just one.

Unless I'm misunderstanding you?


Zapp wrote:

The easiest resolution would be for you to spend your last (third) action on Command an Animal, and have the minion act right after you've completed your turn.

Hopefully that's enough for the overwhelming majority of cases.

That would be completely useless 99% of the time. The vast majority of Companion actions go Move -> Support. Doing Support at the end of your turn accomplishes nothing.

Animal Companion to hit values scale worse than Spellcasters, so having them attack is a waste of time for most of the game.

Literally the only Companion where the order of its actions matters most of the time is the Horse, because the entire purpose of a Horse is to hit and run. Needlessly penalizing an already weak Companion choice by not allow it to do so is just silly.

Zapp wrote:
Aratorin wrote:
Riding an Animal Companion has its own specific rules. The General Mount rules are not relevant.

I'm sorry, but it appears you're saying you're better off with an animal companion that doesn't have the mount special ability?

If what you're saying is true, you can switch from riding a mount to riding a non-mount AC and get two "best" attacks (no MAP) instead of just one.

Unless I'm misunderstanding you?

No. I'm not saying that. The Mount special ability and the Mounted Combat Rules are not the same thing. The Mount special ability allows your AC to use both its special speeds, and its Support Ability while being ridden.

You have this penchant for responding in inflammatory ways, without actually addressing any of the points that were made, which I truly do not understand.

If you had said "I disagree. Page 301 states that your Minion acts once on your turn, when you give it a command. This says to me that both actions have to be used immediately.", that would be a valid response. We could have a discussion about that. Ad hominem attacks like "Hmm - this might be an example of the age old fallacy.", as well as using multiple posts, instead of taking the time to compose a single, well written post, just makes me wish there was a way that I could block you.


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Charter Superscriber

MG,

I would suggest checking out the GREAT videos by Basics for Gamers, he has a number of videos pertinent to this discussion.


Aratorin wrote:
1. An animal companion is a Minion, not an Animal. Those rules don't apply. For other Animals, AFAIK, the animals stated to be combat trained are those you listed, or those your GM says are combat trained.

Nitpick, but an animal companion has the minion trait - which says nothing about removing or replacing any other traits it would already have. Nothing prevents an Animal Companion from having both the animal and minion traits simultaneously, since PF2 turned all creature types into traits and doesn't appear to have any rules making them mutually exclusive (which is a good thing imo).

That said, the rules about combat trained animals only appear in the section about renting or purchasing a specific listed set of animals, and I would argue this means that it is specifically meant for that section rather than being a general rule. Essentially, it seems to be intended to say that domesticated animals bought for other purposes (travel, transport, etc) are generally going to try to flee from combat. If this was meant to be applied to everything with the animal trait I would 1) expect it to appear as part of that trait, which it doesn't, and 2) would expect combat training to appear on a number of animals in the bestiary, where the phrase is never used. Overall, I would say that combat training (& the penalty for not having it) is only a thing necessary for purchased animals - and not something that you need to have specified on an animal companion, familiar, or any other type of animal.

Aratorin wrote:
Riding an Animal Companion has its own specific rules. The General Mount rules are not relevant. You don't share actions like you would with a mount. It can't fly like a mount. It can't swim like a mount. It's not a mount. It's a Ridden Animal Companion. It's essentially just a Minion that happens to be carrying you. At least that's how I read it.

Disagree due to what the CRB gives as general guidelines for situations like this.

CRB p444 wrote:

Specific Overrides General

A core principle of Pathfinder is that specific rules override general ones. If two rules conflict, the more specific one takes precedence. If there’s still ambiguity, the GM determines which rule to use. For example, the rules state that when attacking a concealed creature, you must attempt a DC 5 flat check to determine if you hit. Flat checks don’t benefit from modifiers, bonuses, or penalties, but an ability that’s specifically designed to overcome concealment might override and alter this. If a rule doesn’t specify otherwise, default to the general rules presented in this chapter. While some special rules may also state the normal rules to provide context, you should always default to the normal rules even if effects don’t specifically say to.

The specific rules of the Riding an Animal Companion section do not claim to negate the general mounted rules nor do they conflict with them in terms of MAP. As such, since the Riding an Animal Companion section does not specifically claim to override the Mounted Combat rules, you would default to the general mounted combat rules for any sections which are not in conflict.

Also, if the General Mount rules were not relevant because the Riding an Animal Companion section replaced them - then mounted animal companions would not have any rules regarding the rider's reach when mounted, how targeting works against mount+rider, etc. Those are all in the general mounted combat rules and are not reproduced in the animal companion section.


Charon Onozuka wrote:
Aratorin wrote:
1. An animal companion is a Minion, not an Animal. Those rules don't apply. For other Animals, AFAIK, the animals stated to be combat trained are those you listed, or those your GM says are combat trained.

Nitpick, but an animal companion has the minion trait - which says nothing about removing or replacing any other traits it would already have. Nothing prevents an Animal Companion from having both the animal and minion traits simultaneously, since PF2 turned all creature types into traits and doesn't appear to have any rules making them mutually exclusive (which is a good thing imo).

That said, the rules about combat trained animals only appear in the section about renting or purchasing a specific listed set of animals, and I would argue this means that it is specifically meant for that section rather than being a general rule. Essentially, it seems to be intended to say that domesticated animals bought for other purposes (travel, transport, etc) are generally going to try to flee from combat. If this was meant to be applied to everything with the animal trait I would 1) expect it to appear as part of that trait, which it doesn't, and 2) would expect combat training to appear on a number of animals in the bestiary, where the phrase is never used. Overall, I would say that combat training (& the penalty for not having it) is only a thing necessary for purchased animals - and not something that you need to have specified on an animal companion, familiar, or any other type of animal.

I actually wasn't nitpicking. I did not mean to imply that I don't think that Companions have the Animal Trait, only that they are not Animals in the sense of the things in the equipment chapter. I believe we are in agreement on that.

Charon Onozuka wrote:
Aratorin wrote:
Riding an Animal Companion has its own specific rules. The General Mount rules are not relevant. You don't share actions like you would with a mount. It can't fly like a mount. It can't swim like a mount. It's not a mount. It's a Ridden Animal Companion. It's essentially just a Minion that happens to be carrying you. At least that's how I read it.

Disagree due to what the CRB gives as general guidelines for situations like this.

CRB p444 wrote:
Specific
...

Ok, so I'll ask again, because nobody has provided any discussion on this yet. Nothing about my Animal Companion being ridden states that it prevents me from Commanding it as normal. So, if my ally rides my Animal Companion, and I command my Companion to Attack, do my Companion and the rider share MAP? Do they share an Action Pool? The rules for a standard mount and the rules for Animal Companions do not seem particularly compatible.

It is my opinion that sharing MAP with your mount is a side-effect of sharing an Action pool with your mount, as it's essentially a mindless thing that is incapable of acting on it's own. You have to use your actions 1 to 1 for it to do anything.

Companions are not the same. They are minions. They are their own beings, who gain their own Action pool when you command them. You wouldn't make a Halfling riding on a Giant share MAP would you?

You are only "mounted" if you used the mount action to get on the animal. The only reason to do that is to move the animal's Initiative to your own. You could ride a Horse without mounting it if you wanted to, it would just be a lot more difficult, as you would order it on your turn, and it would move on its own turn.

Companions don't have this problem. There is no reason for me to ever mount the companion. I literally just have to ride on top of it.

Can we also agree that this is mostly an academic point? It's basically never going to be a good idea to command the animal that you are riding to attack, Companion or not. Non Companion animals are just bags of very small HP that die as soon as anything touches them, and Companion Attacks don't scale well enough to make their Attacks more valuable than the PC's.


Pathfinder Rulebook Subscriber

I'm fairly certain Aratorin is completely correct here.

A 'Horse' Animal Companion is not a 'Horse' Creature - it appears similar, but its functionally completely different. It doesn't have the same types, the same keywords, or even a vaguely similar statblock. There's absolutely no reason to imagine they share even vaguely similar restrictions.

The 'Horse' animal companion should function exactly like every other Animal Companion, except for the exceptions laid out in Riding Animal Companions. Referring to other, unreferenced sections of the book makes no sense from a rules perspective- it just kindof seems like it does from a narrative one because you may confusing one Thing called a Horse for another.


Elorebaen wrote:

MG,

I would suggest checking out the GREAT videos by Basics for Gamers, he has a number of videos pertinent to this discussion.

I looked at the videos and they seemed quite helpful though there were 2 things that I don't think were correct and he didn't cover question 2 so I'm still looking for an answer to that.

The first issue, which they did say was debated online (and I'm not aware of a proper ruling so I could not only be wrong but also be wrong officially) is that the fleeing condition returns each round, even after successfully commanding the animal.

Animals wrote:
When combat begins, they become frightened 4 and fleeing as long as they’re frightened.

Normally I would agree with it returning each round since it says, "...and fleeing as long as they're frightened" but it also says this

Animals wrote:
If you successfully Command your Animal using Nature (page 249), you can keep it from fleeing, though this doesn’t remove its frightened condition. If the animal is attacked or damaged, it returns to frightened 4 and fleeing, with the same exceptions.

The extra mention of fleeing being added back as well as saying "with the same exceptions" tells me that the intention is for the animal to be fleeing until it's frightened condition runs down (after 4 turns) or it's successfully commanded and only returns if it's attacked at which point it regains frightened 4 and fleeing. Maybe I'm reading too much into this but I don't see the need for the mention of regaining the fleeing condition if the intention was that they already regain the condition as an additional side effect of being frightened. Again, I could be officially wrong on this so please let me know.

The second issue is in regards to the support ability, specifically it being unable to use the support ability then move (time stamp).

Support wrote:
Your animal companion supports you. You gain the benefits listed in the companion type’s Support Benefit entry. If the animal uses the Support action, the only other actions it can use on this turn are basic move actions to get into position to take advantage of the Support benefits; if it has already used any other action this turn, it can’t Support you.

Besides not making sense mechanically (it makes a lot more sense for a horse to use it's support ability, then move), lore/realism wise (what stops a camel from moving after it spits?) or from a balance standpoint (even with the bonuses animal companions have over other animals, they aren't exactly tanks so not keeping them out of harms way just for what ends up being a mediocre benefit in many cases seems awful), it seems like they are reading the rule with a very strict interpretation of the wording. An interpretation which, if used to read the horse's support benefit entry, invalidates itself.

"Support benefit, Horse wrote:
Your horse adds momentum to your charge. Until the start of your next turn, if you moved at least 10 feet on the action before your attack, add a circumstance bonus to damage to that attack equal to twice the number of damage dice.

Reading it as strictly as they read the Support rule, it's not possible to get any benefit at all because the horse's actions would have to be "Stride">"Support" so the action before the attack will always be the support action, not a move action. Also, you could probably say that riding a mount is Forced Movement since the mount is moving and you're just along for the ride and therefore you don't trigger reactions, only the mount does. It would make no sense if read things that deeply and outside of the harshest of GM's, likely wouldn't be ruled that way either (for any of those cases).

The question I have that remains however unanswered is number 2, specifically the first part. Going off of what I now understand, if my first action is Command an Animal, I have 2 actions left and the mount gains 2 actions as well. If my horse strides toward an enemy, can I attack in the middle of that stride since it's the action of a completely different creature acting on my initiative?
I would argue that it should be doable. It makes sense and seems fairly balanced in a number of ways as well as maximizing the overall value of the Jousting trait and support ability but I don't see anywhere that it's covered.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Trying to understand the rules regarding Animal Companions / Mounts All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.