Belt of Incredible Dexterity


Rules Questions


I just wanted a bit of clarification on the bonus - is the + bonus only temporary? like after 24 hours do you lose the bonus or after 24 hours does the bonus become permanent? I couldn't find anything else so I wasn't sure and I didn't wanna sink GP into a temporary bonus (at least for now).


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber

I think you posted this in the wrong forum, as this is 2nd edition rules discussion.

That being said, the benefit does not end after 24 hours, it becomes permanent. (Well, semipermanent. It isn't treated as a temporary bonus anymore, but you would still lose it of you got rid of the belt.)


HammerJack wrote:

I think you posted this in the wrong forum, as this is 2nd edition rules discussion.

That being said, the benefit does not end after 24 hours, it becomes permanent. (Well, semipermanent. It isn't treated as a temporary bonus anymore, but you would still lose it of you got rid of the belt.)

Ah I apologize, I wasn't really sure what forum to post it in, but thank you for the insight :)

Paizo Employee Customer Service Representative

Moved to 1st Edition Forum


It becomes permanent after 24 hours. The permanent vs temporary bonus distinction alters the statistics the enhanced ability does or doesn't affect. The bonus lasts as long as the magic item is worn.

See this thread for a more detailed exxplantion.


2 people marked this as a favorite.

There is no distinction between temporary bonuses and permanent bonuses other than what the GM decides to use for ease of play.

FAQ


blahpers wrote:

There is no distinction between temporary bonuses and permanent bonuses other than what the GM decides to use for ease of play.

FAQ

Huh, something new every day.

Liberty's Edge

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Companion Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber
Halcyon_Janissary wrote:
blahpers wrote:

There is no distinction between temporary bonuses and permanent bonuses other than what the GM decides to use for ease of play.

FAQ

Huh, something new every day.

There is a RAW difference: as long as the bonus is temporary you can't use it to qualify for a feat or prestige class. As soon as it becomes (semi-)permanent you use it to qualify for a feat.

RAW+FAQ an ability score increase lasting òess tha 24 hours gives you all the benefits of the increased stat, but doesn't change it, while after reaching the 24 hours threshold it changes it.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Belt of Incredible Dexterity All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.