| KingTreyIII |
Dispel magic no longer has the "dispel randomly" clause, so it makes dispelling a lot weirder, because it says that the target is "1 spell effect."
Say the enemy wizard has mirror image going and someone wants to try and dispel it without knowing what exactly the spell is (couldn't Recognize Spell, for instance), would they still be able to dispel it without knowing what it is?
Conversely, let's say that a spell is cast without an immediate obvious effect (to the opponent of the caster), like haste. Would one be able to target the spell effect with dispel magic without knowing exactly what it is or what it's doing? Or would they have to take the Recall Knowledge action to identify it prior, despite knowing that the enemy wizard definitely cast a spell on himself that does something?
| Alyran |
In the first instance, I would say they could because it is obvious that a spell is at work and what it's doing.
For the second, until you see that some spell effect is active, I would say maybe depending on how many other active effects are on them. Until you see that the spell has an active effect, you would be just as inclined to think they cast some sort of non-duration spell like Heal on themselves. So I'd say you could do it, but not target the specific effect if they have more than one active at the time.
Saros Palanthios
|
The Targets section of the Spells chapter says (pg 305):
Some spells allow you to directly target a creature, an object, or something that fits a more specific category. The target must be within the spell’s range, and you must be able to see it (or otherwise perceive it with a precise sense) to target it normally. At the GM’s discretion, you can attempt to target a creature you can’t see, as described in Detecting Creatures on pages 465–467.
Since the Target of Dispel Magic is "1 spell effect", it would seem that you can attempt to Dispel any effect you can see (or perceive with another precise sense, if you have one)-- regardless of whether or not you know what the spell actually is.
Likewise, it would also seem that you CAN'T attempt to Dispel any effect you can't see, even if you know exactly what the spell is.
However, imo a reasonable GM might rule that Recognizing the spell counts as perceiving it with a precise sense, and/or that you can attempt to target a non-visible effect with a flat check to fail (just like targeting Concealed or Hidden creatures).