Hunter Question


Rules Questions


We're playing in a low magic, jungle-centric world. I have a Hunter who is presently 5th level, with a Big Cat (Sabre Toothed Tiger) as her animal companion.

My teamwork feats include Overflank, Pack Flanking, and Precise Strike.

In two levels, when my cat turns large, I was looking at some of the numbers and can someone verify if I'm reading everything correctly?

Our DM, for simplification, has the cat and I act at the same time during initiative.

So if there's someone to engage, I can move first and attack. I use both a glaive and a greataxe, so I have some choices on positioning.

Then the cat charges. Presuming I activate the Str boost on the cat as a swift action, then the cat has:

Charge +2 to hit
Str 24 (22+2) - +7 to hit
Flank - +4 to hit
BAB - +4

So they have +17 to hit

They get their bite, two claws, and rake - two more claws.

Base attacks - Bite d8, Claw d6, Claw d6, Rake d6, Rake d6
Precise strike +d6 each successful melee attack
Str Bonus - +7 to damage

So, on a potential first attack, the cat could do 1d8 + 9d6 + 42? An average of 64 damage, without factoring in crits.

That also doesn't factor in my character, potentially hitting for d12+6 greataxe damage. Or crits from the cat generating both additional damage from the cat and offering my character a free swing.

Am I looking at it correctly?


You're using the big cat stats not the sabre-toothed cat stats? A big cat has at least 23 Str before adding animal focus, and might have 24 if the +1/4HD is added there. Otherwise that looks right.


The big cat also had the grab special ability granting you a free grapple attempt on the indicated attack, normally a bite or a claw... but since the big cat entry doesn’t specify it’s unclear if it gets the grab on both or if it was supposed to be on one specifically...

Anyways, this is important to take note of because if it succeeds on its grab, then it can continue to use its rake attacks on subsequent rounds after its initial pounce.

Also not quite sure how your coming to +42 on your cats total damage.

5 attacks with +7 Str, and I see no other flat bonuses to damage in there, comes out to +35 if all hit since all are primary. Unless your cat has an extra attack in there that Ism not seeing its impossible to get they +42 total.


Chell Raighn wrote:

The big cat also had the grab special ability granting you a free grapple attempt on the indicated attack, normally a bite or a claw... but since the big cat entry doesn’t specify it’s unclear if it gets the grab on both or if it was supposed to be on one specifically...

Anyways, this is important to take note of because if it succeeds on its grab, then it can continue to use its rake attacks on subsequent rounds after its initial pounce.

Also not quite sure how your coming to +42 on your cats total damage.

5 attacks with +7 Str, and I see no other flat bonuses to damage in there, comes out to +35 if all hit since all are primary. Unless your cat has an extra attack in there that Ism not seeing its impossible to get they +42 total.

You're right, I guess I saw all the time I was writing out d6 and immediately thought "6 attacks" instead of the 5.

Aside from that, yes - I didn't add the free grapple because it wasn't damage inducing that round, but assuming whatever I charge survives then the cat is likely to grapple whomever it attacks.

I also didn't include my hunter's damage (she won't have the precise strike or flank bonus) but she swings with a 19 str (when animal focus STR boost is active) and a 2-handed weapon (either glaive or greataxe - just haven't acquired a greatsword yet, it's a low money campaign as well). So she'll hit pretty hard, and anytime the cat crits on its attack, she'll get a free swing.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Hunter Question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.