Board game - the card from UE-B


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Hello fellow Path seekers,
me and my friend are playing heavily PathFinder:Mummy Mask (second time). This time we added Ultimate Equipment and Occult Adventures Character Deck 2 extentions. I am playing Mavaro (Deck 2 version, https://pacg.fandom.com/wiki/Mavaro).

Couple scenarious ago I drawn a card called Board Game (https://pacg.fandom.com/wiki/Board_Game). I got a pure nerdgasm the moment I saw it. My co-player, on the other hand, started to hate this card, saying that it is OP (and he might be right).

The wording is fishy, so I wanted to ask you:
"Reveal this card to shuffle any number of character decks and/or location decks, then you may recharge, discard, or bury this card."

So far we agreed, that "may" in this card is what it is - it allows you, but not forces you, to recharge, discard, or bury this card after usage. In other words, you can just reveal it and keep it in your deck, using it numerous times without any limit.

Since I am playing Mavaro, who keeps the top card of his deck revealed, I started to shuffle that deck until I get the card I want. We quickly decided, that with "Board Game" in hand, I can just take the card I want from the deck and shuffle the rest, keeping that card on top (and prevent cards damage from too many shuffles).

Now, was there any errata to this card? Is the wording confusing and "may" actually means here, that I should do one of those 3 options (recharge, discard, bury) instead of just revealing the card? Or, the authors were trolls and the name suggests that Board Games are just a powerful entities? ;D


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

Lol!! It is perhaps telling that I never even realized I may choose not to "recharge, discard or bury" , as I took "may" to only let you choose which of the 3 to apply (which is probably the intent).

But you are quite correct, RAW it works exactly as you say.

There isn't FAQ that I'm aware of, but now there quite possibly should be one - dropping that "may" there will do the trick just fine.
(though, possibly, this thread might be a better fit for the general "Rules and Gameplay" forum)


Longshot11 wrote:

Lol!! It is perhaps telling that I never even realized I may choose not to "recharge, discard or bury" , as I took "may" to only let you choose which of the 3 to apply (which is probably the intent).

But you are quite correct, RAW it works exactly as you say.

There isn't FAQ that I'm aware of, but now there quite possibly should be one - dropping that "may" there will do the trick just fine.
(though, possibly, this thread might be a better fit for the general "Rules and Gameplay" forum)

Haha, thanks for making it more clear - we decided with my friend to play it as the "may" doesnt exist, as you suggested. Otherwise game is almost broken ;p If anyone else had similar situation, I am still eager to hear it.

BTW. Dear mods - could you move this thread to general "Rules and Gameplay" forum?

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Added to FAQ.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / Board game - the card from UE-B All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion