Determining the ego of an intelligent item possessed by a Balor Lord with Shadow lord template?


Rules Questions


So I’m trying to determine what the ego would be for a magical item that is only intelligent due to being possessed by a balor lord with shadow lord template.

The abilities of the magic item I am still designing (unique artifact) but because it isn’t a normal intelligent item I’m not sure if I should use the regular ego math or use the number if the balor attempts to posses when someone grabs the item.


Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber
McDaygo wrote:

So I’m trying to determine what the ego would be for a magical item that is only intelligent due to being possessed by a balor lord with shadow lord template.

The abilities of the magic item I am still designing (unique artifact) but because it isn’t a normal intelligent item I’m not sure if I should use the regular ego math or use the number if the balor attempts to possess when someone grabs the item.

The rules from Horror Adventures should cover it.

Quote:
Control Owner: The possessor can also try to control the item’s owner, although its capacity to do so is weaker than that of an intelligent item. The effect is similar to dominate monster but with a duration of 1 minute. The owner can negate this effect by succeeding at a Will save (DC = 10 + 1/2 the possessor’s HD + the possessor’s highest mental ability score modifier). Many possessing creatures use this ability only as a last resort, for it reveals their presence to the item’s owner. After trying to control the item’s owner, a possessing creature can’t try to do so again for 1 hour, regardless of success or failure.

Does the balor lord get the possession power from the Demonic Possession feat?

Quote:

You can possess creatures.

Prerequisite(s): Demon or half-demon, Cha 21, Wis 17
Benefit: You gain the ability to use magic jar as a spell-like ability once per day.

Just treat it as if the balor lord cast magic jar.


Possess Creature (Su)

Once per day per 2 Hit Dice, a demon can attempt to possess an intelligent, corporeal creature within 10 feet as a full-round action. The target creature must succeed on a Will save. Success stuns the demon for 1 round; failure means the demon joins with the target. The demon’s body may vanish in a cloud of colored smoke that the target then inhales, or the demon’s body may seem to merge with the victim’s. In either case, the victim immediately gains the demon-possessed template. The save DC is Charisma-based.

Whatever method the GM chooses, it should not change the demon’s CR,but it can make any encounter with them more interesting. A creature possessed by a demon during combat is likely to flee from its former companions rather than stay to fight regardless of the demon’s wishes. Knowing the capabilities and power of their companions, few adventurers would willingly fight their former friends alone.


IIrc,

Balor Demons have the power to make their swords Vorpal, so your intelligent weapon probably doesn't have that power in its own right. Calculate Ego accordingly.


The intelligent item is a necklace not a weapon. The horror rules cover it perfectly for what I want.

Now I want to explain to my players the item will test the holder (not knowing anything about it) warned by an NPC.


This seems very much like a story item, and it seems very much your story. The Intelligent Item & ego rules seem reasonable to me.

Design the item like you would the character, and ask yourself some questions:

Was the Demon using the item, or was the item using the Demon?

What is this item's motivation? alignment? Which character will the item want to be used by, and why?

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Determining the ego of an intelligent item possessed by a Balor Lord with Shadow lord template? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions