| Varthanna |
how does that bypass the standard action requirement ?
By it being purely mental, as I said.
A paralyzed character is frozen in place and unable to move or act. A paralyzed character has effective Dexterity and Strength scores of 0 and is helpless, but can take purely mental actions. A winged creature flying in the air at the time that it becomes paralyzed cannot flap its wings and falls. A paralyzed swimmer can't swim and may drown. A creature can move through a space occupied by a paralyzed creature—ally or not. Each square occupied by a paralyzed creature, however, counts as 2 squares to move through.
Just because it is a standard action does not mean it isn't purely mental, it is merely a gauge of time allocation and game balance. Many domain powers and wizard school powers fall under this. Indeed, so do some skill uses.
Removing the need to display the holy symbol makes Channel Energy purely mental, IMO, which is an exception to the Paralyzed rule that they normally cannot act.
| AerynTahlro |
A cleric must be able to present her holy symbol to use this ability.
One could argue that "be able to" indicates that you simply need the holy symbol on you in order to do this, and not that you have to present the symbol. If you were required to present the symbol, that sentence would be 3 words shorter.
| Grick |
Quote:A cleric must be able to present her holy symbol to use this ability.One could argue that "be able to" indicates that you simply need the holy symbol on you in order to do this, and not that you have to present the symbol. If you were required to present the symbol, that sentence would be 3 words shorter.
Alternatively, it could mean that you must be able to present it, not that you must actually do so.
Meaning, even if the symbol is already visible, if you are not able to present it, then you can't channel. If the symbol wasn't already visible, would you be able to present it?
I think the intent of presenting the symbol is forcefully showing it to whoever is around. Even if it's on a chain around your neck and clearly visible, you're supposed to take it up and gesture with it or something.
| AerynTahlro |
Alternatively, it could mean that you must be able to present it, not that you must actually do so.Meaning, even if the symbol is already visible, if you are not able to present it, then you can't channel. If the symbol wasn't already visible, would you be able to present it?
I think the intent of presenting the symbol is forcefully showing it to whoever is around. Even if it's on a chain around your neck and clearly visible, you're supposed to take it up and gesture with it or something.
But the action required in the description doesn't state that you need to physically interact with the holy symbol at all. If you needed to move it, gesture with it, or physically present it in any way, you would technically need a free hand. In that case, the verbiage for the ability would include a line stating that you need a free hand available to manipulate the holy symbol.
| Grick |
If you needed to move it, gesture with it, or physically present it in any way, you would technically need a free hand. In that case, the verbiage for the ability would include a line stating that you need a free hand available to manipulate the holy symbol.
That would prevent things like reliquary arms and armor. If you have a weapon in one hand, a shield in the other, and they're both holy symbols, you shouldn't need a hand free. You just need to be able to present one of them.
| AerynTahlro |
A spell's components explain what you must do or possess to cast the spell.
The item becomes a reliquary and can be used as a holy (or unholy) symbol divine focus of your deity.
By crafting a reliquary sword/shield/armor, you no longer need to tote around that silver holy symbol. That isn't the big advantage of reliquary arms/armor. The big advantage is that it acts as a permanent fixture to your deity should you cast consecrate/desecrate.
You don't need to do anything with a Divine Focus other than possess it. So "must be able to present it" is simply saying "you need to have it on your person somewhere". Nowhere in the rules does it say that you need the focus in-hand to cast spells.
| Grick |
You don't need to do anything with a Divine Focus other than possess it.
Casting Spells: "To cast a spell, you must be able to speak (if the spell has a verbal component), gesture (if it has a somatic component), and manipulate the material components or focus (if any)."
So "must be able to present it" is simply saying "you need to have it on your person somewhere".
It seems like you're saying "must be able to present her holy symbol" means you don't actually have to be able to present the symbol, just that the symbol needs to be presented.
I'm saying that, technically, "must be able to present her holy symbol" means you must have the ability to present the symbol, but are not required to actually do so.
In a home game I would require that you both be able to present the symbol, and that you actually do so. I think that's pretty clearly the intent, if not the letter.
| Matthias |
An interesting option to this would be the fiendish vessel archetype for Tiefling clerics in the ARG.
Fiendish Familiar: At 3rd level, a f iendish vessel’s
patron rewards her with a fiendish servant. The
f iendish vessel gains an imp, quasit, or cacodaemon
familiar based on the patron she worships. If she
worships Asmodeus or an archdevil, she gets an imp;
if she worships a demon lord, she gets a quasit; and if
she worships one of the Four Horsemen, she gains a
cacodaemon. This ability is identical to the wizard’s
arcane bond with a familiar and the Improved Familiar
feat, using the f iendish vessel’s character level in place
of the wizard level.
This tiny fiend acts like a perverse, manifest moral
compass. Furthermore, this familiar can act as a living
divine focus and unholy symbol for her spellcasting if
the fiendish vessel so desires, which means that when she uses her channel evil ability, its burst can be centered on
the familiar instead, as long as that familiar is within 30
feet and line of sight.
Since you can let your familiar do the brandishing, I would assume you could do it while paralyzed