How to reveal a displayed card? Third Eye item.


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion


Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber
Third Eye wrote:
Display. While Displayed On your Perception check, you may freely reveal to add 1d10.
Core rulebook P. 7 wrote:
Reveal: Show it from your hand then put ir back in yur hand.

Something is wrong, the Third Eye isn't in my hand...

Do you need to reveal ANOTHER card than the Third Eye, in which case it should say...
Third Eye errated wrote:
Display. While Displayed On your Perception check, you may freely reveal A CARD to add 1d10.

?

Or can you use Third Eye power with an empty hand, in which case it should say...
Third Eye errated wrote:
Display. While Displayed On your Perception check, you may add 1d10.

?

or
Third Eye errated wrote:
Display. While Displayed On your Perception check, you may draw to add 1d10.

?


Page 8: If you are instructed to play, reveal, display, reload, discard, recharge,bury, banish, or otherwise manipulate a card, that card must come from your hand unless you are activating a power on a displayed card, in which case you activate it with the displayed card instead.


It is probable that you can "reveal" a displayed card for its power, but the wording is more than just redundant. If the intention was that the power is active always, Frencois' second variant would be much more probable.
1) the current power has freely - it does not count as playing an item anyways.
2) the current power is revealed from a displayed state and returned back right away
so "While Displayed > On your Perception check, you may add 1d10" has the same functionality and much shorter and cleaner wording.

In addition to Frencois' suggestions for the intent, it could be also "may reload / recharge to add 1d10". So it is a great idea to ask developers, as he just did :) "Worst case" is: works-as-intended


The only point of putting "freely reveal" on a displayed card is if a future effect prevents you from revealing cards or makes you do something else when you would reveal a card. At the moment it does seem to be redundant, however.


Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber
jorveg wrote:
Page 8: If you are instructed to play, reveal, display, reload, discard, recharge,bury, banish, or otherwise manipulate a card, that card must come from your hand unless you are activating a power on a displayed card, in which case you activate it with the displayed card instead.

Yep I missed that. OK then. But the card goes back in your hand as I see it. Which may save your life if you are about to take damage.

Freely then means I can play another item on the check. But I cannot (hopefully) re-display the The Third Eye on that check... and not until I can legally re-display it. Which may force you to discard the Third Eye before you can re-display it for example.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber
Frencois wrote:

or

Third Eye errated wrote:
Display. While Displayed On your Perception check, you may draw to add 1d10.

?

It's this.

I remember comment from a dev or Vic that "display: ..reveal" was *supposed* to be understood to just put the displayed card back in your hand. I remember it because it made zero sense to me as: A) it's much more clear to just say draw; and B) Because "reveal" has a specific definition in the Rulebook that contradicts what is supposed to happen.

My intuitive logic for "reveal a displayed card" would indeed be to just reveal it and then return it to the displayed area.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

That's just more unnecessary confusion then. So revealing a displayed card does the exact same thing as drawing a displayed card (which is the word used on many armors)?


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber
Dulcee wrote:
So revealing a displayed card does the exact same thing as drawing a displayed card (which is the word used on many armors)?

Well, technically, these cards would still interact with any "When you reveal..." powers, but I would call the impact -let alone the *benefit*- of this questionable at best.


Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

Exactly my point. Thx for your help guys.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

2 people marked this as a favorite.
Longshot11 wrote:
I remember comment from a dev or Vic that "display: ..reveal" was *supposed* to be understood to just put the displayed card back in your hand. I remember it because it made zero sense to me as: A) it's much more clear to just say draw; and B) Because "reveal" has a specific definition in the Rulebook that contradicts what is supposed to happen.

I'm guessing you're thinking of something Mike or Keith said during the playtest. It made no sense to me either, which is why we ended up making displayed armors tell you to draw them. I suspect this card should have been amended to "draw" along with those and was missed; verifying.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

Added to FAQ.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / How to reveal a displayed card? Third Eye item. All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.