
Midnight Anarch |

Spirit Link has a range of 30 feet, but there doesn't appear to be any limit to the link's range after established.
Am I missing something and the caster and target have to remain within 30 feet for the link to have an effect during any round? For example, can the caster or target travel to another plane or teleport some vast distance away and still maintain the link?

Aratorin |

Spirit Link has a range of 30 feet, but there doesn't appear to be any limit to the link's range after established.
Am I missing something and the caster and target have to remain within 30 feet for the link to have an effect during any round? For example, can the caster or target travel to another plane or teleport some vast distance away and still maintain the link?
That's how I would read it, yes. The target only has to be valid at the time of casting.
It's not a continuous Emanation creating an AoE like Bless, it's a single Target spell that creates a lasting effect on a Target. The created effect doesn't state any range limitation.

Castilliano |

I think 30' is the range throughout the spell, not just when targeting.
The spell does not suggest otherwise.
I could be swayed, especially since it doesn't mention what occurs when more than 30' apart, yet it being 1st level and also having the potential for shenanigans (albeit contrived) makes me skeptical.

Pumpkinhead11 |
2 people marked this as a favorite. |

The chapter on Spells is able to answer this. Bold for the relevant parts:
Spells with a range can affect targets, create areas, or make things appear only within that range. Most spell ranges are measured in feet, though some can stretch over miles, reach anywhere on the planet, or go even farther!
Some spells allow you to directly target a creature, an object, or something that fits a more specific category. The target must be within the spell’s range, and you must be able to see it (or otherwise perceive it with a precise sense) to target it normally. At the GM’s discretion, you can attempt to target a creature you can’t see, as described in Detecting Creatures on pages 465–467. If you fail to target a particular creature, this doesn’t change how the spell affects any other targets the spell might have.
If you choose a target that isn’t valid, such as if you thought a vampire was a living creature and targeted it with a spell that can target only living creatures, your spell fails to target that creature. If a creature starts out as a valid target but ceases to be one during a spell’s duration, the spell typically ends, but the GM might decide otherwise in certain situations.
So if you establish a Spirit Link and then walk 5’ too far it would just end.
If you used the Reach Spell Metamagic though, i believe you could extend the range to 60ft for the entire duration.

Squiggit |

So if you establish a Spirit Link and then walk 5’ too far it would just end.
That's a pretty significant hit to pretty much any duration based buff or debuff if they all turn off when a target leaves its range.
Not sure that's the correct way to parse the rules you're bolding. The part about invalid targets is in the section talking about the target entry, not ranges. For if a creature can somehow turn itself into an object and spells that can't effect objects fall off of it, not range.

Aratorin |
2 people marked this as a favorite. |

Pumpkinhead11 wrote:So if you establish a Spirit Link and then walk 5’ too far it would just end.That's a pretty significant hit to pretty much any duration based buff or debuff if they all turn off when a target leaves its range.
Not sure that's the correct way to parse the rules you're bolding. The part about invalid targets is in the section talking about the target entry, not ranges. For if a creature can somehow turn itself into an object and spells that can't effect objects fall off of it, not range.
I agree that Pumpkinhead's reading is unworkable. If that's the case, then when my Wizard buddy casts Ant Haul on me, he has to keep touching me for 8 hours straight, or the spell will end.

Pumpkinhead11 |

Pumpkinhead11 wrote:So if you establish a Spirit Link and then walk 5’ too far it would just end.That's a pretty significant hit to pretty much any duration based buff or debuff if they all turn off when a target leaves its range.
Not sure that's the correct way to parse the rules you're bolding. The part about invalid targets is in the section talking about the target entry, not ranges. For if a creature can somehow turn itself into an object and spells that can't effect objects fall off of it, not range.
The difference that i see with this one in particular is that the effect is described as an active Link to the Caster throughout the duration; somewhat similar to a sustaining spell buff. Other Buffs and Debuffs usually apply a condition/bonus/penalty for a listed duration, but the affects are instantaneous.
This is at least how i’m interpreting it personally, and why i feel you can end the spell with too much distance. The part about invalid targets also isn’t exclusive to drastic changes like a creature turning into an object; but rather that a target that started as a valid one can become invalid within a spells duration.

Squiggit |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |

The difference that i see with this one in particular is that the effect is described as an active Link to the Caster throughout the duration; somewhat similar to a sustaining spell buff. Other Buffs and Debuffs usually apply a condition/bonus/penalty for a listed duration, but the affects are instantaneous.
I'm not really seeing the distinction you're creating. Ant Haul, Haste and Spirit Link are all spells with a range that apply an effect to a target for a duration. They're definitely not instantaneous either, they all have a listed duration and their magic works over that duration and you can dispel them, etc. Spells like Ray of Enfeeblement have the same sort of parameters too.
The part about invalid targets also isn’t exclusive to drastic changes like a creature turning into an object; but rather that a target that started as a valid one can become invalid within a spells duration.
Right, but is a target that's 35 feet away a valid target that's out of range, or an invalid target entirely in the same way as if you were trying to cast a spell that only targets Undead and the creature suddenly wasn't Undead anymore? The latter interpretation breaks a ton of spells so I don't think it really makes sense here.

Pumpkinhead11 |

Pumpkinhead11 wrote:The difference that i see with this one in particular is that the effect is described as an active Link to the Caster throughout the duration; somewhat similar to a sustaining spell buff. Other Buffs and Debuffs usually apply a condition/bonus/penalty for a listed duration, but the affects are instantaneous.I'm not really seeing the distinction you're creating. Ant Haul, Haste and Spirit Link are all spells with a range that apply an effect to a target for a duration. They're definitely not instantaneous either, they all have a listed duration and their magic works over that duration and you can dispel them, etc. Spells like Ray of Enfeeblement have the same sort of parameters too.
Instantaneous affect not effect. Something like Ant Haul changes the target’s carrying capability as soon as the spell is cast; the duration is just how long those changes last.
Spirit Link on the other hand essentially renews its casting effect at the beginning of each players turn.
One thing that i can say that actually leans more in your favor is that most spells that have a duration and a range limitation usually state as much in the spells description. Since Spirit Link doesn’t state a limitation on Range after it’s cast then you could reasonably teleport vast distances or even to different Planes and still have the Spirit Link in tact.
Quote:The part about invalid targets also isn’t exclusive to drastic changes like a creature turning into an object; but rather that a target that started as a valid one can become invalid within a spells duration.Right, but is a target that's 35 feet away a valid target that's out of range, or an invalid target entirely in the same way as if you were trying to cast a spell that only targets Undead and the creature suddenly wasn't Undead anymore? The latter interpretation breaks a ton of spells so I don't think it really makes sense here.
The only reference to Spells and Range says that a target not within the Spells Range is an invalid target. With a spell that activates at the beginning of each participants turn i would imagine is treated similarly to a spell that was restricted to an aura.