Can my Monk use a shield?


Rules Discussion

The Exchange

Can my Monk use shield with unarmored defense?
Unarmored defense just says a Monk can't wear armor. Shields have a separate section in the rulebook from armor.

If so, expect to see my Capt. America Monk at the table!


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Yes a monk can use a shield and not loose any of his class benefits.

Edited. I said cant be enchanted and meant cant increase the AC with runes like Armor. What I had before could have been easily confused.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber

There are magic shields. They just do not receive an item bonus. Instead they get more hardness and hp for the blocking. All the listed ones are specific magic shields. They do not use runes.


5 people marked this as a favorite.

Real Talk: I think Monks are actually one of the superior Shield using classes because with Flurry, you can attack twice, move and raise a Shield.

With a Tower Shield, you could attack twice, raise the shield and take cover for +4 AC, with this, a lvl 1 Monk in Mountain Stance has 23 AC, repeatable every round.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Can my Monk use a shield? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.