
Pyrocat |

Many allies and blessings allow you to do something and then explore. Can you do "something" on another players turn, but skip the explore part of that power (since you cannot explore on others turns)?
Discard this card to examine the top 3 cards of your location deck and put them back in any order. If any have the Animal or Planet trait, you may explore.
Can you discard to examine and re-order on another players turn?
Discard to draw 3 cards, then recharge 3 cards, then you may explore.
Can you draw/recharge on another players turn?
Discard to examine your location, then you may explore.
Can you examine on another players turn?
Banish to examine the top card of your location. If it is a Magic card, you may encounter it. ...
Can you encounter it on another players turn?
I am assuming yes to all 3 scenarios, but I wanted to double check. I thought Detect Magic used to specify something about on your turn only.

wkover |

Interesting - yes, the text for Detect Magic has changed. It used to be limited to your own turn, but now it's not.
As far as I know, exploring is the one thing that you can never do on another player's turn: (p. 6)
You may never explore outside of your explore step.
Encountering happens all the time on other players' turns (avenging, encountering summoned cards, etc.), so that's certainly legal.
The bottom line is that cards with the "do x, then you may explore" template are playable on any turn, but the "explore" instruction is ignored if it isn't your turn - or if you play the card on your turn outside your explore step.

Longshot11 |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |

I'm counting 4 scenarios and the answer to all is YES.
The first 3 say variations of "then you may explore" - that means you're free to choose "not explore" and there's no conflict with Rules. It has been a long-standing discussion on these forums if it's actually leagla to play cards that DON'T say "you may" (i.e. "Discard to do X, then explore" out of turn (when you're aware you're not really allowed to explore and the second part of the power would be "impossible instruction".
Any possible argument you may have for NOT playing Detect Magic out of turn can be reduced to "you're overthinking it". The card is pretty explicit and doesn't present any conflict with existing rules.

Frencois |
3 people marked this as a favorite. |

Actually the whole point is that many cards that you can play on someone else turn let you examine cards in your location or another one (spells like Scrying, Fly...).
The reason most triggers say "When examined, encounter this card" is indeed so that you are affected even if examining out of turn.
If they had been saying "When examined, explore this location", it would actually have had no effect out of turn.
Note btw: you explore a LOCATION (only on your turn) whereas you encounter a CARD (any turn). When you get that, you never make mistakes.

Yewstance |

I'm counting 4 scenarios and the answer to all is YES.
The first 3 say variations of "then you may explore" - that means you're free to choose "not explore" and there's no conflict with Rules. It has been a long-standing discussion on these forums if it's actually leagla to play cards that DON'T say "you may" (i.e. "Discard to do X, then explore" out of turn (when you're aware you're not really allowed to explore and the second part of the power would be "impossible instruction".
Any possible argument you may have for NOT playing Detect Magic out of turn can be reduced to "you're overthinking it". The card is pretty explicit and doesn't present any conflict with existing rules.
Indeed, though just to provide a ruling; I must thank Vic yet again for his comments in the following thread; particularly this post, which clears up a LOT.
The important thing here isn't really that it comes first—it's that there's an explicit dependency: The power says do A, then B. That is, you don't get to do B until you've done A, so if you can't do A, you can't use the power.
So it follows that if there's no dependency to doing A (for example, you're just examining a location), there's no reason why you're not allowed to do A. Of course, B will be prevented by the rules, but that's a separate effect.