
Cellion |
7 people marked this as FAQ candidate. 2 people marked this as a favorite. |

So one of my solarian players recently pointed out a vagueness in the rules for solarian revelations.
Some revelations have text in their second half that gives you a bonus or makes them better when you are 'attuned or fully attuned'. For example:
When you are attuned or fully attuned, you can activate this revelation as a reaction when targeted by a bull rush, disarm, reposition, or trip combat maneuver, in which case it defends against only that attack.
Based on the verbiage in the Graviton Mode and Photon Mode entries for the Solarian, I'd always assumed that these powers got their attunement benefits whenever you were attuned to the mode that matched the power. Ie, you got the attunement benefit of Gravity Anchor only while attuned to Graviton, since its a graviton power.
However, my player pointed out that it doesn't say this explicitly anywhere. Instead, he argued that the attuned or fully attuned clause is intended to limit the improved version of the revelation to only combat against significant enemies.
How are people ruling on this? Is there some description or entry I missed that clarifies it?

Steve Geddes |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |

So one of my solarian players recently pointed out a vagueness in the rules for solarian revelations.
Some revelations have text in their second half that gives you a bonus or makes them better when you are 'attuned or fully attuned'. For example:
Gravity Anchor (Su) wrote:When you are attuned or fully attuned, you can activate this revelation as a reaction when targeted by a bull rush, disarm, reposition, or trip combat maneuver, in which case it defends against only that attack.Based on the verbiage in the Graviton Mode and Photon Mode entries for the Solarian, I'd always assumed that these powers got their attunement benefits whenever you were attuned to the mode that matched the power. Ie, you got the attunement benefit of Gravity Anchor only while attuned to Graviton, since its a graviton power.
However, my player pointed out that it doesn't say this explicitly anywhere. Instead, he argued that the attuned or fully attuned clause is intended to limit the improved version of the revelation to only combat against significant enemies.
How are people ruling on this? Is there some description or entry I missed that clarifies it?
I ruled against myself (as a Solarion) and went counter to how your player interpreted it. It seemed "obvious" to me that the intention was attuned or fully attuned in the appropriate mode - otherwise it's effectively an "always on" boost.
(The cited text, for example is obviously a combat-specific benefit, so you're nearly always going to be attuned/fully attuned when it might come into effect - your player's interpretation is a lot of verbiage to basically say "you can't do this against insignificant opponents, or the round after activating a zenith revelation" why rule those situations out?).

Garretmander |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |

Re-reading the solarian:
Once you reach 3 attunement points in a mode,
you become fully attuned to that mode. Some of your stellar
revelations are zenith revelations, which can be used only
when you’re fully attuned to one mode or the other.
Zenith revelations are powerful stellar revelations that require
you to be fully attuned in a stellar mode. After using a zenith
revelation, your stellar mode immediately becomes unattuned.
A revelation that says it lasts for 1 round or until you leave
the associated mode lasts for whichever of these durations is longer. You can use stellar revelations both in and out of combat,
but since you can’t enter a stellar mode outside of battle, any
revelation that lasts for 1 round or as long as you’re in a stellar
mode lasts only 1 round if you’re not in combat.
Based mostly on the last quote, I would say you must be attuned to the specific mode to gain the benefit of the 'when attuned or fully attuned' line of a stellar revelation.
There is room for the other way of running things.

Nimor Starseeker |
Gravity anchor page 104 crb
As a move action, you can form a gravitational bond between yourself and either the surface you’re standing on or the objects you are holding. This grants you a +4 bonus to your AC against bull rush, reposition, and trip combat maneuvers if you choose the surface underfoot, or against disarm combat maneuvers if you choose objects. The bonus lasts for 1 round or until you leave graviton mode. You can have only one gravity anchor active at a time.
When you are attuned or fully attuned, you can activate this revelation as a reaction when targeted by a bull rush, disarm, reposition, or trip combat maneuver, in which case it defends against only that attack.
If you are photon attuned, using the gravity anchor power will only last 1 round
If you are graviton attuned, using the gravity anchor power will last for the rest of combat.
This shows absolutely that there are powers that can be used when you are in the opposed attunement. Of course, not all powers work that way, just make sure you read the powers text.

Steve Geddes |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |

So you think the bonus “when you are attuned or fully attuned...” bit (which only lasts for the triggering attack is usable in both in photon or graviton mode with equal efficacy?
It basically means “you can also do this unless you’re fighting very weak foes, or you’ve just had your turn and used a zenith revelation, thus becoming unattuned”. It seems like a really weird limitation to put on it to me.

Nimor Starseeker |
So you think the bonus “when you are attuned or fully attuned...” bit (which only lasts for the triggering attack is usable in both in photon or graviton mode with equal efficacy?
It basically means “you can also do this unless you’re fighting very weak foes, or you’ve just had your turn and used a zenith revelation, thus becoming unattuned”. It seems like a really weird limitation to put on it to me.
You almost got it. Not equal efficiency, but one full and the other partial efficiency.
If you are graviton attuned or fully graviton attuned and activate gravity anchor as a move action, it lasts until the end of combat. You activate the ability once, and it will last potentially several rounds.
If you are photon attuned or fully photon attuned and activate gravity anchor as a move action, it lasts for 1 round.

Steve Geddes |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |

No, I agree with you on that bit. I meant the “if you are attuned or...” bit - basically when you use it as a reaction. That’s what the OP was asking about.
When you are attuned or fully attuned, you can activate this revelation as a reaction when targeted by a bull rush, disarm, reposition, or trip combat maneuver, in which case it defends against only that attack.
The bolded statement negates the difference between photon and graviton duration. Taking your interpretation is basically “you can always do this, except in two very infrequent corner cases” which just seems odd to me - why go to so much trouble ruling out something that hardly ever happens?

Nimor Starseeker |
No, I agree with you on that bit. I meant the “if you are attuned or...” bit - basically when you use it as a reaction. That’s what the OP was asking about.
Quote:When you are attuned or fully attuned, you can activate this revelation as a reaction when targeted by a bull rush, disarm, reposition, or trip combat maneuver, in which case it defends against only that attack.The bolded statement negates the difference between photon and graviton duration. Taking your interpretation is basically “you can always do this, except in two very infrequent corner cases” which just seems odd to me - why go to so much trouble ruling out something that hardly ever happens?
Oh, I see what you mean and it points out some details I had not noticed before. Thanks! :) I think what they mean is:
-If you spend a move action to do this, the duration depends on if you are graviton or photon attuned and it will potentially defend against several of those attacks.
-If you spend a reaction to do it instead, it only defends for that (single )attack.
You might want to spend your move action on something else like moving towards your target and rather use the reaction because you get better action economy, and that also depends of the tactical situation. If you spend a move action and you are graviton attuned it will count against all of those attacks

Cellion |

It basically means “you can also do this unless you’re fighting very weak foes, or you’ve just had your turn and used a zenith revelation, thus becoming unattuned”. It seems like a really weird limitation to put on it to me.
I didn't think about this angle to it, but it makes a lot of sense. For example, the Flare power has...
When you create a flash of light as a standard action and you are attuned or fully attuned, you can instead choose to make all enemies within range dazzled for 1 round (no save).
It makes no sense to waste the verbiage on just saying 'you can only do this in combat against significant foes' because thats the only time you'd want to use it in the first place.
Thanks for the perspectives guys.

Steve Geddes |
2 people marked this as a favorite. |

Steve Geddes wrote:No, I agree with you on that bit. I meant the “if you are attuned or...” bit - basically when you use it as a reaction. That’s what the OP was asking about.
Quote:When you are attuned or fully attuned, you can activate this revelation as a reaction when targeted by a bull rush, disarm, reposition, or trip combat maneuver, in which case it defends against only that attack.The bolded statement negates the difference between photon and graviton duration. Taking your interpretation is basically “you can always do this, except in two very infrequent corner cases” which just seems odd to me - why go to so much trouble ruling out something that hardly ever happens?Oh, I see what you mean and it points out some details I had not noticed before. Thanks! :) I think what they mean is:
-If you spend a move action to do this, the duration depends on if you are graviton or photon attuned and it will potentially defend against several of those attacks.
-If you spend a reaction to do it instead, it only defends for that (single )attack.
You might want to spend your move action on something else like moving towards your target and rather use the reaction because you get better action economy, and that also depends of the tactical situation. If you spend a move action and you are graviton attuned it will count against all of those attacks
Leave the move action out of it for a bit (that’s not controversial).
For some reason, on a literal interpretation, they’ve decided that everyone can use gravity anchor as a reaction unless you’re fighting foes who are so weak as to not be a significant threat or if you’ve just used a revelation which makes you unattuned.
That seems like such a peculiar restriction. The alternative view (that I think was intended - my theory is there was a general explanatory note that was lost in editing) is that a Solarion can use gravity anchor in either mode, but it’s only available as a reaction if you’re in graviton mode.
There are some others which have similar weirdness* on the literal reading.
* In my opinion.

Steve Geddes |

Steve Geddes wrote:It basically means “you can also do this unless you’re fighting very weak foes, or you’ve just had your turn and used a zenith revelation, thus becoming unattuned”. It seems like a really weird limitation to put on it to me.I didn't think about this angle to it, but it makes a lot of sense. For example, the Flare power has...
Flare (Su) wrote:When you create a flash of light as a standard action and you are attuned or fully attuned, you can instead choose to make all enemies within range dazzled for 1 round (no save).It makes no sense to waste the verbiage on just saying 'you can only do this in combat against significant foes' because thats the only time you'd want to use it in the first place.
Thanks for the perspectives guys.
As another perspective - I’d point this out to the player, but I’d let them be the judge on how it worked in my game.
I don’t think the literal interpretation is particularly overpowered, just oddly formulated. As such, I’m happy to go with the reading that lets PCs get more frequent use of their abilities (even though I don’t think that was the author’s intent).
For me (as a player) I enjoyed restricting myself in that way - it gave me a tactical choice to make. I suspect otherwise I’d have just always gone photon mode.

eggellis |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |

I am the player in this situation. Let me start by saying that I could very well be wrong, I'm not fighting for this ruling it's just how I read it.
I do want to point out that if it is the way I read it there would be three situations excluded, not two.
1. You’re fighting very weak foes.
2. You’ve just had your turn and used a zenith revelation, thus becoming unattuned.
3. You aren't in combat at all.
The third one would be the key one I think. Since out of combat game time isn't measured in rounds you could then basically spam revelations to solve a problem. That's why they have the 'if you are attuned' caveat in my opinion.

Steve Geddes |

Yeah, I didn't mention that with regard to the reaction in particular (I don't know if it's just our group, but we don't go into true "action economy" mode except when we're in combat, so that's kind of ruled out already).
The "out of combat" would make sense to me as a reasonable restriction - except I would have thought they'd just say that - the attuned/not attuned wording seems really strangely constructed to me.
I'm just offering perspective, by the way - I don't think it's really important from a power level. To me, whatever makes sense to the player is the rolling I'd go with. I think your ruling is the literal reading - for me, I found the more restrictive interpretation useful in distinguishing between the two modes. Otherwise, it's pretty much just about which zenith revelation are you building up to.

Steve Geddes |

Out of combat is irrelevant in this situation though - it doesn't matter whether it takes a move action or reaction if you're not in combat.
There's a narrative difference between bracing for something and responding to someone doing it to you.
The wording seems to clearly rule out using this revelation responsively, to me.

Xenocrat |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |

Xenocrat wrote:Out of combat is irrelevant in this situation though - it doesn't matter whether it takes a move action or reaction if you're not in combat.There's a narrative difference between bracing for something and responding to someone doing it to you.
The wording seems to clearly rule out using this revelation responsively, to me.
If someone is trying to do something to you out of combat it triggers combat and you roll initiative first. So it doesn't matter whether it takes a move action or reaction if you're not in combat.

Ravien999 |
5 people marked this as FAQ candidate. |
Came across this discussion again last night.
There's both precedence in both directions.
1. The Stellar mode section says "some of your revelations are X aligned and become more powerful while attuned." This leads you to believe that if a power has "while attuned or fully attuned" that it is referring to that specific mode, but...
2. Looking at the revelations, only a few explicitly state a specific attunement - most just say "while attuned or fully attuned" but we have the precedence set by Black Hole/Supernova and other zeniths that it will explicitly call out which attunement when you must be attuned to a specific mode.
So its really a question of which it is meant to be, and there's evidence in both realms to argue for it. If its meant to be left up to GM interpretation, that'd be a nice callout :)

Ravien999 |
Some brief examples at the bottom of this post of how the variation in the two styles would affect some powers:
A) if "attuned or fully attuned" means that you are attuned, period.
B) if "attuned or fully attuned" means that you are attuned to the mode of the stellar mode associated with that revelation.
Following these examples and the verbiage in stellar mode of "some of your revelations... are stronger when you are in ... mode" - I'm inclined to believe that any attunement should be valid, per option A. This is due to the fact that if you choose option B, almost all revelations function identically for an unattuned and for an opposite-attuned solarian. With option A, powers which are time gated become much more powerful in their own mode, but are still viable in the opposing mode, which would be more accurate with the verbiage of "some." Additionally, other than the 16th level revelations which purely affect other revelations, every single revelation either has a timegate, an added effect if attuned, or both. Which means if you count it as "only the attunement of the mode counts (option B)" 100% of attunements are better in their own mode, which is vastly more than "some"
Example 1: Plasma Sheath (Photon)
Photon:
A+B) Lasts until you leave photon mode. All attacks deal fire damage +1/2 level.
Graviton:
A) Lasts 1 round. All attacks deal fire damage +1/2 level.
B) Lasts 1 roudn. All attacks deal fire damage.
Unattuned:
A+B) Lasts 1 round. All attacks deal fire damage.Example 2: Gravity Hold (graviton)
Photon:
A) Can be used as Psychokinetic hand or can use a standard action every turn to immobilize, lift, or move a creature, until they successfully save.
B) Can be used as Psychokinetic hand.
Graviton:
A+B) Can be used as Psychokinetic hand or can use a standard action every turn to immobilize, lift, or move a creature, until they successfully save.
Unattuned:
A+B) Can be used as Psychokinetic Hand.Example 3: Agile Wavelengths (graviton)
Photon:
A) Can make ranged combat maneuvers at +2.
B) Can make ranged combat maneuvers.
Graviton:
A+B) Can make ranged combat maneuvers at +2.
Unattuned:
A+B) Can make ranged combat maneuvers.Example 4: Gravity Surge (graviton)
Photon:
A) Can perform ranged disarm/trip with charisma and +4, and steal item or pull target.
B) Can perform ranged disarm/trip with charisma and +4.
Graviton:
A+B) Can perform ranged disarm/trip with charisma and +4, and steal item or pull target.
Unattuned:
A+B) Can perform ranged disarm/trip with charisma and +4.Example 5: Distracting Glare (Photon)
Photon:
A+B) Provide -2 to attack rolls that don't target you until you leave photon mode.
Graviton:
A+B) Provide -2 to attack rolls that don't target you for one round
Unattuned:
A+B) Provide -2 to attack rolls that don't target you for one round

Nimor Starseeker |
For plasma sheath, I rule that:
if you are in photon mode, it lasts until you leave photon mode. You also get 1/2 lv damage.
If you are in graviton mode it lasts for 1 round. You also get 1/2 lv damage.
If you are unattuned, it lasts 1 round and you do NOT get 1/2 lv damage.
That’s all according to the rules, unless I missed something.

Nimor Starseeker |
Came across this discussion again last night.
There's both precedence in both directions.
1. The Stellar mode section says "some of your revelations are X aligned and become more powerful while attuned." This leads you to believe that if a power has "while attuned or fully attuned" that it is referring to that specific mode, but...
2. Looking at the revelations, only a few explicitly state a specific attunement - most just say "while attuned or fully attuned" but we have the precedence set by Black Hole/Supernova and other zeniths that it will explicitly call out which attunement when you must be attuned to a specific mode.So its really a question of which it is meant to be, and there's evidence in both realms to argue for it. If its meant to be left up to GM interpretation, that'd be a nice callout :)
Some powers say you have to be in either photon or gravity mode, others don’t. You just have to read the power to make sure you which it is. Both options are valid depending on the power.
Some powers will work even without being attuned at all. For example Flare. When you become attuned, it becomes better.