*Teleports behind you*


Rules Questions

51 to 70 of 70 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>

Matthew Downie wrote:
Would you be happy with an NPC who uses a readied action to move to another square when you fire an arrow at him? "Sorry, it doesn't matter what you rolled to hit; by the time the arrow gets there, he's thirty feet away from where you were aiming at. No, you don't get to change your aim."

I'd be fine and dandy with that, it means he's not doing anything useful on his turn, and as an archer I have rapid shot, and can attack him with my subsequent attacks.


Volkard Abendroth wrote:

Any large creature with a reach weapon has 20' reach. Many also have natural attacks; no minimum attack range.

This starts at really low level and takes minimal investment for a large creature. No where near what a PC would need to invest.

So what?

The enemy having superior melee reach is a tactical challenge for the PCs to overcome. If they decide to deal with it by engaging in battle in terrain that favours the enemy, and engaging in melee which is the enemies preferred method of fighting, and engaging only from a single direction so the enemy can retreat, and not getting the same melee reach the enemy has, and not having superior movement so they can catch up, then yes they deserve to lose.

To be blunt, if the monsters "exploit" is "really dangerous" or "game breaking" only if the PCs didn't bother to bring a sling and some rocks with them, then no I don't take it seriously as a game problem. Large critters with spears might kick in at CR 2, but ranged weapons and spells are available at level one.


Matthew Downie wrote:
Would you be happy with an NPC who uses a readied action to move to another square when you fire an arrow at him? "Sorry, it doesn't matter what you rolled to hit; by the time the arrow gets there, he's thirty feet away from where you were aiming at. No, you don't get to change your aim."

I would be happy with that working provided the new square the NPC is in is not one that I can shoot at. NPC readies to move behind total cover? I'm fine with it.

Just moving one square and still being a valid target I would not be fine with, but that is not a good analogue for the melee situation earlier in the thread. In the melee situation, the movement removed the mover from the space the other party could target.


The important thing here is that readied actions need to be nerfed because:

1) They are used in every single combat.
2) All combats are 1v1
3) All combatants only have melee weapons without reach.
4) All combatants must continue to use the same tactic they used on their very first attack.


Wait it must be nerfed because its the way people actually fight? Aka moving around and not jumping straight into the enemy and trying to avoid getting hit.

That sounds bizarre to me, when so many people complain about martials only standing around full attacking.


Put me firmly in the camp that a readied move is a perfectly fine counter.
With an additional caveat.

Per the rules you charge to a specific square - the nearest square.
If the character's readied action goes off, the charging character does not get to move to follow you. His action is done. He charges to the specific square. Turn over.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Perfect Tommy wrote:

Put me firmly in the camp that a readied move is a perfectly fine counter.

With an additional caveat.

Per the rules you charge to a specific square - the nearest square.
If the character's readied action goes off, the charging character does not get to move to follow you. His action is done. He charges to the specific square. Turn over.

I disagree with the bolded part. The charge does have to be in a straight line, but if the target moves to a square that could be reached reach by continuing the charge you should be able to continue toward them. You charge a creature, not a square.

It's still perfectly possible to move out of the way and avoid the charge (eg. by teleporting behind the charging creature, as per the OP).

Sovereign Court RPG Superstar 2011 Top 32

I have an issue with a readied action being a defensively better choice than declaring full defense. Fortunately my groups don't do any of these "Wait until mid attack then step into a new square" shenanigans. There would likely be houserules forthcoming if they did.

Play as you like, but this is not a thing I'd want at my table.


it's very easy to fix. once you understand that a ready action need an action to triger it. and it happen before or after ,depend on how you set hte trigger, but not in the middle.

so reading to move if someone shoot will happen before he shoots. so he can just adjust to your new place (uness your no longer a valid target in which he can ether pick a difrent target or try and get you anyway -there are ways to shoot around corners after all - amgic).
same for moving away after you started your full attack. since full attack is one action (takin a full attack action) you can not interupt it in the middile with a ready action. ether your ready happen before or after it is done not after one atttack and before he can get any more. if before he still hasn't taken his full attack and can adjust, if after he start you have to wait till the action is done = all attacks are resolved. remmber ready action is not attack of oppertunity which get in the middile of attacks!


Except that ready actions can happen in the middle of an enemies "activities".

Ready Action wrote:

Readying an Action

You can ready a standard action, a move action, a swift action, or a free action. To do so, specify the action you will take and the conditions under which you will take it. Then, anytime before your next action, you may take the readied action in response to that condition. The action occurs just before the action that triggers it. If the triggered action is part of another character’s activities, you interrupt the other character. Assuming he is still capable of doing so, he continues his actions once you complete your readied action. Your initiative result changes. For the rest of the encounter, your initiative result is the count on which you took the readied action, and you act immediately ahead of the character whose action triggered your readied action.


zza ni wrote:
same for moving away after you started your full attack. since full attack is one action (takin a full attack action) you can not interupt it in the middile with a ready action. ether your ready happen before or after it is done not after one atttack and before he can get any more. if before he still hasn't taken his full attack and can adjust, if after he start you have to wait till the action is done = all attacks are resolved. remmber ready action is not attack of oppertunity which get in the middile of attacks!

I don't think this is the case.

Full Attack:

Quote:

Deciding between an Attack or a Full Attack: After your f irst attack, you can decide to take a move action instead of making your remaining attacks, depending on how the f irst attack turns out and assuming you have not already taken a move action this round. If you’ve already taken a 5-foot step, you can’t use your move action to move any distance, but you could still use a different kind of move action.

A full attack can be stopped after the first attack and become a standard instead.

I have likewise seen things with a trigger of "the second attack", say for the friendly application of a Guidance spell.

/cevah


Pizza Lord wrote:

Good tactics can make a huge difference in a fight. Against most foes, even Readying an action to "attack and 5-foot step away (assuming you haven't moved) if I get attacked" can have a huge impact. When they move up to attack, your Ready interrupts, you get an attack and then step back out of their range. Since they've already moved and started their attack, they can't move again (they could use any extra or iteratives against another target.)

Then, since your initiative changes to just before theirs, you can do it again even if they only need to 5-foot step to reach you. Things like Step Up or other tactics might mitigate this depending on the circumstance (as they should), but it's still very effective against a lot of foes when you aren't being swarmed. It also works best for those with either one attack already or Vital Strike or other methods of making a single attack more powerful since you're giving up iteratives.

Since the readied action resolves before their attack, if they have movement remaining they can still use it. They can complete their move action.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Perfect Tommy wrote:

Put me firmly in the camp that a readied move is a perfectly fine counter.

With an additional caveat.

Per the rules you charge to a specific square - the nearest square.
If the character's readied action goes off, the charging character does not get to move to follow you. His action is done. He charges to the specific square. Turn over.

Movement During a Charge wrote:


You must move before your attack, not after. You must move at least 10 feet (2 squares) and may move up to double your speed directly toward the designated opponent. If you move a distance equal to your speed or less, you can also draw a weapon during a charge attack if your base attack bonus is at least +1.

You must have a clear path toward the opponent, and nothing can hinder your movement (such as difficult terrain or obstacles). You must move to the closest space from which you can attack the opponent. If this space is occupied or otherwise blocked, you can’t charge. If any line from your starting space to the ending space passes through a square that blocks movement, slows movement, or contains a creature (even an ally), you can’t charge. Helpless creatures don’t stop a charge.

Emphasized the relevant parts.

You do not designate a specific square when you start your charge. You move in a straight line towards the nearest square from which it is legal to attack the target of your charge.

If the target uses a readied action to move, but is still within a legal charge path for the charging character, the charging character continues moving in a straight line towards the nearest square from which he can legally attack.

A character who can take advantage of Wheeling Charge or has some other means to legally alter his path during a charge may be very difficult to avoid with a readied action.


Volkard Abendroth wrote:
Perfect Tommy wrote:

Put me firmly in the camp that a readied move is a perfectly fine counter.

With an additional caveat.

Per the rules you charge to a specific square - the nearest square.
If the character's readied action goes off, the charging character does not get to move to follow you. His action is done. He charges to the specific square. Turn over.

Movement During a Charge wrote:


You must move before your attack, not after. You must move at least 10 feet (2 squares) and may move up to double your speed directly toward the designated opponent. If you move a distance equal to your speed or less, you can also draw a weapon during a charge attack if your base attack bonus is at least +1.

You must have a clear path toward the opponent, and nothing can hinder your movement (such as difficult terrain or obstacles). You must move to the closest space from which you can attack the opponent. If this space is occupied or otherwise blocked, you can’t charge. If any line from your starting space to the ending space passes through a square that blocks movement, slows movement, or contains a creature (even an ally), you can’t charge. Helpless creatures don’t stop a charge.

Emphasized the relevant parts.

You do not designate a specific square when you start your charge. You move in a straight line towards the nearest square from which it is legal to attack the target of your charge.

If the target uses a readied action to move, but is still within a legal charge path for the charging character, the charging character continues moving in a straight line towards the nearest square from which he can legally attack.

A character who can take advantage of Wheeling Charge or has some other means to legally alter his path during a charge may be very difficult to avoid with a readied action.

+1 everything you said.

The "teleport behind them" tactic is one of the best options for this, because there's no way I can think of to do a 180 degree turn during a charge.

It's worth noting that you still need to be out of reach of the charging enemy or they could reach behind themself and attack you (and as weird as it sounds, still get their +2 to hit/bonus lance damage/etc).


Charging Stag Style + Sharp Veer Boot Trick let's you make an 180 degree turn. This has the problem of need 1 turn to be 90 degrees followed by 10 feet movement afterwards, and you can't benefit from pounce.


Temperans wrote:

Except that ready actions can happen in the middle of an enemies "activities".

Ready Action wrote:

Readying an Action

You can ready a standard action, a move action, a swift action, or a free action. To do so, specify the action you will take and the conditions under which you will take it. Then, anytime before your next action, you may take the readied action in response to that condition. The action occurs just before the action that triggers it. If the triggered action is part of another character’s activities, you interrupt the other character. Assuming he is still capable of doing so, he continues his actions once you complete your readied action. Your initiative result changes. For the rest of the encounter, your initiative result is the count on which you took the readied action, and you act immediately ahead of the character whose action triggered your readied action.

first i did mention this is a 'fix' as in not fully raw.

next, it say it happen before the action you used as trigger and he continue his other actions after. not that it happen in the middle of an action. full attack is a full round action as in one action. (yes i know that some can still be stopped in the middle like charge is a full round and still you stop them after they move but before they attack.)
the fix is counting a full attack as one action, if you trigger it, it happen before the attacks if you trigger something that happen after it happen after. like you can't trigger saying 'after the hit before damage is applied' as a readied action. it is one action so can't be stopped in the middle by readied actions (saying again aoo can. and again this is not by raw -rather a fix for the people who dislike readied 5 foot breaking full attacks).
when a level 16 monk take 10 attacks(look it up) in 6 seconds (one round) you damn well can say that reading to stop them in the middle is not gona happen. ether you take action before he start or after. same for say whirlwind attack, you can't trigger off on his 2nd attack but before the 3rd .


zza ni wrote:
first i did mention this is a 'fix' as in not fully raw.

The way you phrased sounded to me like you were clarifying Ready actions, not giving a fix.

zza ni wrote:
next, it say it happen before the action you used as trigger and he continue his other actions after. not that it happen in the middle of an action. full attack is a full round action as in one action. (yes i know that some can still be stopped in the middle like charge is a full round and still you stop them after they move but before they attack.)

The problem I have with your interpretation is that Ready actions and AoO have almost the same wording.

AoO wrote:
An attack of opportunity “interrupts” the normal flow of actions in the round. If an attack of opportunity is provoked, immediately resolve the attack of opportunity, then continue with the next character’s turn (or complete the current turn, if the attack of opportunity was provoked in the midst of a character’s turn).

Notice how they both "interrupt" and how they both can happen in the middle of a turn.

Let me give 2 examples.

  • 1. A PC readies a trip attempt when an enemy moves within range. With your fix, the PC would be attempting a trip maneuver vs the enemy before they moved; so the attempt fails due to you not being able to reach.
  • 2. A PC readies to brace against a charge. With your fix, the PC would be attacking the enemy before they moved so the Brace attempt fails. An entire game mechanic that the rule specifically mention becomes literally unusable.

Do you see the weird time/space rewind I'm talking about?


zza ni wrote:
it is one action so can't be stopped in the middle by readied actions ...

Again, you can houserule it as you wish, but like Temperans said, the way you are stating your stance in this Rules forum, makes it sound like you declaring that a Ready cannot interrupt an action and your houserule is fixing a blatant error, which is untrue and might make a new reader believe you (though I can read your intent, it's just not necessarily clear to everyone).

Quote:
when a level 16 monk take 10 attacks(look it up) in 6 seconds (one round) you damn well can say that reading to stop them in the middle is not gona happen. ether you take action before he start or after. same for say whirlwind attack, you...

A player can absolutely take a Ready action along the lines of "If someone tries to trip me I take [action to prevent it]." If a monk takes a full attack action and punches them four times and then tries to trip with their next attack, that absolutely triggers the Ready action allowing the character to perform it (if they wish). And then their initiative moves to a point just before the attacking character, even if 99.999% of their action was finished. You denying that by forcing them to wait until they are already prone and have taken five more hits to use their Ready is just harshly curtailing an action that already prevents full-round actions and requires specific wording and triggering to occur (and if it doesn't, you've used your turn). The other end of the spectrum would be you having it occur before the four previous attacks, meaning you now have to back up, possibly screwing another character out of hits and rolls they've already made and adding hit points and damage back.

The same for Whirlwind Attack. Unless your GM rolls and applies the attacks and damage against everyone at once (which is not how it's done), your Ready can trigger in the middle. It is no different than a Whirlwind Attacker attacking multiple foes. If the 2nd target has burn or another ability, the attacker will take the damage right then (and if it drops him then he does not continue his attacks on the other targets in his reach). If the third target has Readied an action to attack in response to being attacked, he doesn't interrupt the first two in the whirlwind, but he does as the attacker makes his attack on him (and if the attacker survives, he continues that attack).


MrCharisma wrote:
The "teleport behind them" tactic is one of the best options for this, because there's no way I can think of to do a 180 degree turn during a charge.

Swift action Dimension Door via Dimensional Dervish.

A character that has the capability won't waste the resources if they have a clean charge lane, but may change their mind if the target uses a readied action to move or teleport.


Volkard Abendroth wrote:
MrCharisma wrote:
The "teleport behind them" tactic is one of the best options for this, because there's no way I can think of to do a 180 degree turn during a charge.

Swift action Dimension Door via Dimensional Dervish.

A character that has the capability won't waste the resources if they have a clean charge lane, but may change their mind if the target uses a readied action to move or teleport.

Dimensional Dervish allows you to take a full-attack action and teleport (the teleport is a swift action, the full-attack is not). If you've already charged you don't have a full-round action left to make a full-attack action.

That said, if you encounter an enemy that readies an action to attack you after their AoO goes off, you could use Dimensional Dervish to get within their reach without triggering an AoO and potentially avoiding the trigger for their readied action (depending on the wording of the readied action).

If that's not what you meant then I might need you to clarify.

51 to 70 of 70 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>
Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / *Teleports behind you* All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions