Suppose a wizard has a fondness of music, so he chooses the Two-World Magic trait so that he can use Summon Instrument. One day, this wizard chooses to prepare a 2nd-level spell slot for a Silent, Stilled Summon Instrument, hoping to pleasantly surprise a crowd of commoners with music without a chance of the people freaking out over her casting a spell in their midst.
Is that legal? Per the Silent Spell metamagic feat:
Special: Bard spells cannot be enhanced by this feat.
Summon Instrument is drawn from the bard spell list, so is it treated as a bard spell in this regard?
Similarly, how does the Questioner Investigator interact with Silent Spell? All of her spells are drawn from the bard spell list, but do they count as bard spells? These spells do not seem to count as bard spells when it comes to arcane spell failure in light armor, so would they for metamagic?
|1 person marked this as a favorite.|
Note that spellcasting is always perceptible, see this FAQ:
What exactly do I identify when I’m using Spellcraft to identify a spell? Is it the components, since spell-like abilities, for instance, don’t have any? If I can only identify components, would that mean that I can’t take an attack of opportunity against someone using a spell-like ability (or spell with no verbal, somatic, or material components) or ready an action to shoot an arrow to disrupt a spell-like ability? If there’s something else, how do I know what it is?
Although this isn’t directly stated in the Core Rulebook, many elements of the game system work assuming that all spells have their own manifestations, regardless of whether or not they also produce an obvious visual effect, like fireball. You can see some examples to give you ideas of how to describe a spell’s manifestation in various pieces of art from Pathfinder products, but ultimately, the choice is up to your group, or perhaps even to the aesthetics of an individual spellcaster, to decide the exact details. Whatever the case, these manifestations are obviously magic of some kind, even to the uninitiated; this prevents spellcasters that use spell-like abilities, psychic magic, and the like from running completely amok against non-spellcasters in a non-combat situation. Special abilities exist (and more are likely to appear in Ultimate Intrigue) that specifically facilitate a spellcaster using chicanery to misdirect people from those manifestations and allow them to go unnoticed, but they will always provide an onlooker some sort of chance to detect the ruse.
If you are a wizard using two world magic to cast summon instrument it is not a bard spell. Two world magic specifically states that the spell is a 0 level spell on your class spell list. No class can actually cast spells from another class. In some cases a class, archetype or other game mechanic will add a spell from another list to your spell list. When that occurs you consider the spell a spell of whatever class that you are. For example a Skald using spell Kenning can cast a bard, cleric or wizard spell as if it were one of his skald spells known. To him that is a skald spell not a spell from the other class.