
Cainus |

How do people adjudicate the monster requirement of needing to hit a creature with a specific attack, if that attack was the monsters last action?
Does it carry over to the next round? If the player is still adjacent to the monster on the monsters next round does the trigger still exist?
For example, if a Shadow hits with it's Shadow Hand strike on it's last action and the PC is still next to the monster, can it start it's next round with Steal Shadow?
That's the way I've been playing it, but I wanted to see how others have been doing it.

DM_Blake |

This seems to fall under the rules for Activities (see page 296). Though even that is fuzzy since most activities are a single ability that requires multiple actions (like casting most spells). The final paragraph of Activities seems to imply that an activity can be defined as a group of separate actions that are dependent upon each other.
Given that, and given that this section says you must complete your activity in your turn, I would think that the answer to your question is no. The shadow would need to hit with Shadow Hand and then steal shadow in the same round.

![]() |
2 people marked this as a favorite. |

I too have been ruling it like Blake, even when it got a little weird (shambling zombies have only 2 actions, and movement is almost always one, which makes their Grab almost null)
I think that's just right. It's easy to avoid getting grabbed by the zombies, right until they surround you.

Elleth |

Ediwir wrote:I too have been ruling it like Blake, even when it got a little weird (shambling zombies have only 2 actions, and movement is almost always one, which makes their Grab almost null)I think that's just right. It's easy to avoid getting grabbed by the zombies, right until they surround you.
I do appreciate how zombies here pretty much have to play like movie zombies.