Flanking and Threatening


Running the Game

51 to 57 of 57 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>

1 person marked this as a favorite.
David knott 242 wrote:

I am fairly sure that "ready to make an unarmed attack" just indicates having a free hand you can strike with, not a specifically readied action.

But you can always kick when your hands are occupied. In light of this the bow question becomes irrelevant.

Unarmed attacks:

You can Strike with your fist or another body part,
calculating your attack and damage rolls in the same way
you would with a weapon. This counts as a simple weapon,
so almost all characters start out trained in unarmed
attacks. Use the statistics for a fist even if you’re kicking,
kneeing, or attacking with another part of your body.
Some ancestry feats, class features, class feats, and spells
give access to special, more powerful unarmed attacks.

It's pretty clear you always threaten if you stand adjacent to something and can actually move.


David knott 242 wrote:

Not to mention that it is a trivial effort to take one hand off your bow and punch someone.

And by trivial you mean 1 action to change grip, 1 action to punch and 1 action to change grip again.


Thaboe wrote:
David knott 242 wrote:

Not to mention that it is a trivial effort to take one hand off your bow and punch someone.

And by trivial you mean 1 action to change grip, 1 action to punch and 1 action to change grip again.

Dropping a hand from an item is a free action.


Elleth wrote:
Thaboe wrote:
David knott 242 wrote:

Not to mention that it is a trivial effort to take one hand off your bow and punch someone.

And by trivial you mean 1 action to change grip, 1 action to punch and 1 action to change grip again.
Dropping a hand from an item is a free action.

You are correct, only for 1+ handed items (like a bow) though. Not for 2 handed weapons.

Hands pag 179:

Some weapons require one hand to use, and others require two. A few items, such as a bow, list 1+ for its hands entry. You can hold such a weapon in one hand, but the process of shooting it requires using another hand to retrieve, prepare, and shoot a piece of ammunition. This means you can do other things with your other hand while holding the bow in one hand without spending an action
to change your grip
, but you must free up your other hand in order to shoot. For example, you could shoot an arrow with your first action, use an Interact action to open a door with your second action, then shoot another arrow with your third action.
You’re considered to be wielding a 1+ weapon as long as you’re holding it in one hand and also have a hand free. Weapons that require two hands typically deal more damage. Some weapons that use one hand have the two-hand trait, causing them to deal a different weapon
damage die when used in two hands. In addition, some abilities require you to be wielding a weapon in two hands. You meet this requirement as long as you hold the weapon in two hands, even if it doesn’t actually require two hands or have the two-hand trait.

Hands pag 184:

This lists how many hands it takes to wield the item effectively. Most items that require two hands can be carried in only one hand, but you must spend an Interact action to change your grip in order to use the item . The GM may determine that an item is too big to carry in one hand (or even two hands, for particularly large items).


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Thaboe wrote:
Elleth wrote:
Thaboe wrote:
David knott 242 wrote:

Not to mention that it is a trivial effort to take one hand off your bow and punch someone.

And by trivial you mean 1 action to change grip, 1 action to punch and 1 action to change grip again.
Dropping a hand from an item is a free action.

You are correct, only for 1+ handed items (like a bow) though. Not for 2 handed weapons.

** spoiler omitted **

** spoiler omitted **

that has already being errata'ed/clarified:

Quote:

Page 307—In Basic Actions, in Drop, at the end of the first

sentence before the period, add “or release your grip from
one hand while continuing to hold it in the other”.

dropping a hand is a free action.

grabbing a twohander back with two hands is the action


Just read Update 1.4 — Release Date: 10/8/2018

- Still can not see the word "MELEE" in front of the word "Weapon" on page 314.

Just saying :)


Nothing in Update 1.5

Of Interest - I will be taking the “INSTANT OPENING” feat at L14 for a Rogue.

What I would like to highlight is that this feat enables you to make a target flat-footed from any location within 30 ft.

A far as I understand – “Flanking” creates the “Flat footed” condition, and is brought on by the affected creature being distracted.

To Flank (Basically) you need two allies on opposite sides and this makes the creature - "unable to focus your full attention on defense", “INSTANT OPENING” enables you to distract a foe up to 30ft away without an ally present.

That got me thinking that there is an assumption by the designers that it’s possible to create the “Flat footed” condition with a range weapon normally under the standard flanking rules. This would point back to the argument there is a missing word “Melee” in front of “Weapon” on page 313-314 of the Flanking rules, so I maintain “Melee” is not missing but its omission is intentional as reflected in this feat.

INSTANT OPENING FEAT (14) p124
With some form of distracting action, whether it’s a few choice words, a distraction, or a rude gesture, you distract your opponent. Choose a target within 30 feet. It’s flat-footed against your attacks until the end of your next turn.

Just saying :)

51 to 57 of 57 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>
Community / Forums / Archive / Pathfinder / Playtests & Prerelease Discussions / Pathfinder Playtest / Game Master Rules / Running the Game / Flanking and Threatening All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Running the Game