How does spell heightening work


Skills, Feats, Equipment & Spells


Under the spells section, it has spells and their effects THEN it lists 'heightened' with increasing effects.

Would you have to use up a higher spell slot for that increased effect (listed next to heightened) or do u automatically (and for free), get the increased effect when you get to that character level?


You have to use the higher slot. This is true for prepared casters or sorcerers using spontaneous heighten (which I've seen confuse people into thinking they can use a lower level slot and it automatically heightens the spell to the highest they can cast).

---
That said, cantrips and powers heighten automatically. According to the highest spell level you can cast or half your level if you don't cast spells.


So for cantrips it heightens without you having to expel a higher level spell slot BUT for any spells level 1 or above it COSTS that higher level spell slot?

Also, if it lists heighten as 6th. Is that 6th caster level or 6th level spell slot?

thanks for your reply


Crexis wrote:
So for cantrips it heightens without you having to expel a higher level spell slot

Yes. And powers.

If you're a 10th level wizard (thus have 5th level spell slots) and cast ray of frost, it does 2d8+int modifier damage, every time. and you can cast it every round, if you like.

A 10th level elf fighter who grabs it as a cantrip with an ancestry feat also does 2d8+int damage with ray of frost.

Quote:
BUT for any spells level 1 or above it COSTS that higher level spell slot?

Cast with a higher level slot, yes.

Quote:
Also, if it lists heighten as 6th. Is that 6th caster level or 6th level spell slot?

Slot.

Caster level doesn't have any way it could work.
It also isn't a concept in this edition.

----
So, for example, Lightning bolt.

A wizard that learns a spell can apply them to any spell slot of the spells level or higher. A 10th level wizard can prepare Lightning Bolt normally as a 3rd level spell, and it'll do 4d12 damage. If the wizard prepares it as a 5th level spell, it will do 6d12 damage.

A sorcerer is more complicated. With spells that can be heightened, a sorcerer has to learn them for each level, each taking a separate slot in the repertoire. So if a 10th level sorcerer wants to cast lightning bolt as a 5th level spell, they have to learn lightning bolt (5th level). This makes some people on the forums fairly cranky.

Except, a sorcerer can also use spontaneous heightening on two spells each day. So they can be sane and learn lightning bolt as a 3rd level spell, pick it as one of their heightened spells, and cast it using a 3rd level, 4th level or 5th level slot as they see fit, with the appropriate heightened effect. (4d12, 5d12 or 6d12 damage)

Community / Forums / Archive / Pathfinder / Playtests & Prerelease Discussions / Pathfinder Playtest / Player Rules / Skills, Feats, Equipment & Spells / How does spell heightening work All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Skills, Feats, Equipment & Spells