Darkness spell question


Rules Questions


I noticed when reading this spell it just says if you don't have darkvision or similar ability to locate enemies you just receive a 50% miss chance due to total concealment. Nowhere does it say the enemy gains the "blinded" condition. Now my question is would they gain that condition (ie. Penalty to AC, Dex etc) or do they simply only suffer a 50% miss chance? Under Blindness condition is says " The creature cannot see". To me Darkness would qualify for that with the above scenario. Anyone know?


Atalius wrote:
I noticed when reading this spell it just says if you don't have darkvision or similar ability to locate enemies you just receive a 50% miss chance due to total concealment. Nowhere does it say the enemy gains the "blinded" condition. Now my question is would they gain that condition (ie. Penalty to AC, Dex etc) or do they simply only suffer a 50% miss chance? Under Blindness condition is says " The creature cannot see". To me Darkness would qualify for that with the above scenario. Anyone know?

You don't gain the blinded condition anymore than you gain it anytime you're in non-magical darkness.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

You can see in a darkness spell. All it does is make the available light a bit darker. Only if you are already in dim light when you cast darkness does it create total darkness. In that case, you would also have whatever penalties would apply in such conditions:

Quote:
In areas of darkness, creatures without darkvision are effectively blinded. In addition to the obvious effects, a blinded creature has a 50% miss chance in combat (all opponents have total concealment), loses any Dexterity bonus to AC, takes a –2 penalty to AC, and takes a –4 penalty on Perception checks that rely on sight and most Strength- and Dexterity-based skill checks. Areas of darkness include an unlit dungeon chamber, most caverns, and outside on a cloudy, moonless night.


Pretty much what Jeraa said.


thejeff wrote:
Atalius wrote:
I noticed when reading this spell it just says if you don't have darkvision or similar ability to locate enemies you just receive a 50% miss chance due to total concealment. Nowhere does it say the enemy gains the "blinded" condition. Now my question is would they gain that condition (ie. Penalty to AC, Dex etc) or do they simply only suffer a 50% miss chance? Under Blindness condition is says " The creature cannot see". To me Darkness would qualify for that with the above scenario. Anyone know?
You don't gain the blinded condition anymore than you gain it anytime you're in non-magical darkness.

Apparently I've been doing that wrong. :)

Annoying that the spell lists one of the effects of being in darkness, but not all of them.


Yes I meant the lighting level going from Dim light to darkness level would create the blindness condition, perfect. That's a solid spell.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Darkness spell question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions