Simoun and the curious case of the suppressed after you act power


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion


So, Bladewind Simoun has this power:

□ When you encounter a card, before you act, you may recharge a card to draw a random weapon that has the Knife and Ranged (□ and Magic) traits from the box. After you act, banish that weapon.

All well and good. But the Python cohort from the new Hunter class deck has this power:

"While displayed, you may put this card on top of your deck to ignore a power that happens after you act, or before you act if you have a role card."

Now, this requires a cooperative non-Adowyn Hunter, but let's say you have one. You can get free Knives out of the deal. If Elites are banished, they're also AD3+ (and all quite good).

I searched, and the Python cohort power is the only one that ignores non-bane powers, sadly. Still interesting.

Incidentally, across the search I came across the Shrine to Baphomet:

At this Location: Ignore the Magic trait on all boons.

So, what happens if the Magic trait box is ticked, and only Magic boons are left? You don't draw anything? Does "ignore the Magic trait" mean even on powers like this one?


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Ignoring something means it has no effect on you. So, the hunter would have to give the Python cohort to Simoun so Simoun would be the one playing the cohort so she could ignore the AYA power. That seems like something you are extremely unlikely to do if you are trying to be successful at the scenario. If you are just trying to game the system for better weapons, there are other ways to do that.


Hawkmoon269 wrote:
Ignoring something means it has no effect on you. So, the hunter would have to give the Python cohort to Simoun so Simoun would be the one playing the cohort so she could ignore the AYA power.

Even in that case, when it comes to summoned cards - "you never put the summoned card anywhere but back in the box, unless instructed otherwise by the summoned card or the card that summoned it" (or somesuch, I'm winging the actual Rulebook wording) - so again you won't be able to keep the Knife.

As for the 'Magic' trait - I don't think there's an actual rule to fall back on this one, but me *feeling* is - intent is that it only affects cards that are 'in play', i.e. - not in the box. So you would draw a Magic Knife, but you wouldn't be adding the Magic trait to your check when you play it.
Also, for example, if you encounter a Mummy Lord ("BYA summon an Undead monster") at a "All monster have the Undead trait" location, AND there no Undead monsters left in the box - I would rule you ignore the BYA power, rather than considering every single monster in the box to have Undead trait.


Re: "you never put summoned card anywhere but back in the box"
The knife is not summoned in OP situation. It's drawn. If Simoun played the Python cohort as the OP suggests, by RAW Simoun would keep the knife. (But I agree with Hawkmoon - Adowyn giving up her cohort is not going to help you win the scenario.)

I was momentarily confused by Longshot's comment re:the Magic Trait, but I caught on (slooowly). It's an interesting edge case. Do the two cited location powers apply when a character at the location draws cards from the box? I'm not certain.


Yeah, Shrine to Baphomet is a bit of a puzzler. That is why I refrained from commenting on it.


I'd wager that this is going to be errata'd/FAQd to say 'summon' rather than 'draw'.


I'm actually thinking it won't be. The rules already allow for "summon and play" but I think what is happening here is an attempt to allow you more options. The "knife" weapons can often be played to determine the skill, or to add to a check. This power even let's you use the knife to "fuel" another power or decide to not use it at all.


Ok. So, Shrine to Baphomet seems to be covered by the Limited Resources rule.

MM Rulebook p25 wrote:
If you’re required to do something with a certain number of things and there aren’t that many things available, use as many as there are.

I read the location power as saying that if you are at that location, you ignore the Magic trait on all boons, regardless of where they come from. As quoted above, the Magic trait isn't optional in Simoun's power. So there aren't enough resources for Simoun's power to do anything.

As for the Mummy Lord comparison, in those locations I tend to read them as saying that all monsters "at the location" gain the undead trait. Monsters in the box don't have the undead trait from the location until they too are at that location.

So, I'd say Simoun's upgraded power becomes useless at the Shrine to Baphomet, just like RotR Ezren's exploring power.

That doesn't really seem problematic either.


Hawkmoon269 wrote:


I read the location power as saying that if you are at that location, you ignore the Magic trait on all boons, regardless of where they come from...

As for the Mummy Lord comparison, in those locations I tend to read them as saying that all monsters "at the location" gain the undead trait. Monsters in the box don't have the undead trait from the location until they too are at that location.

Тhese are corner-case enough that it's OK each table to home-rule them as they see fit, so I wouldn't be surprised be consistent ruling either direction. I *am* surprised by the above two readings however, as they seem oddly contradictory. Hawk, what makes you read one location power as applying to the box, while another - that it doesn't ?!?


Longshot11 wrote:
Hawk, what makes you read one location power as applying to the box, while another - that it doesn't ?!?

I add the "at this location" phrase to the beginning of the sentence of the power. That comes from this comment by Vic. And was further informed by this discussion here.

"At this location, all monsters gain the undead trait." This one reads to me like it cares about the monster's location. And it isn't at the location while you are getting it out of the box. (If it doesn't apply to summoned monsters, then it doesn't apply to cards in the box.)

"At this location, (you) ignore the Magic trait on all boons." I added the "understood" you in there to make it clear. This one seems to care about that fact that you are at the location. And if you are, you have to ignore the magic trait on all boons. It doesn't care about the boon's location, it just cares about yours. Now, if it said "At this location, all boons do lose the Magic trait" then I say that was worded to care about the boon's location. (I'm not sure losing a trait is really a thing.)


Hawkmoon269 wrote:
Longshot11 wrote:
Hawk, what makes you read one location power as applying to the box, while another - that it doesn't ?!?
I add the "at this location" phrase to the beginning of the sentence of the power. That comes from this comment by Vic. And was further informed by this discussion here.

Thanks, that was... enlightening.

I admit I wouldn't have ruled (and I still intend to homerule it so) that an undefeated monster in the Woods gets banished if encountered by a character who is at another location; let alone that summoned/'local' monsters are treated differently. This introduces too much arbitrary 'fiddly-ness' and inconsistency of how At This Location works for my taste.

Call me conservative, but imho ATL should *never* matter if there are NO characters at that location. (which is my takeaway from those ancient comments that we should some times need to read "Monsters at this location ..." instead of "When a character is at this location, ...")

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

2 people marked this as a favorite.

I agree with everything Hawk said.

Longshot11 wrote:
Call me conservative, but imho ATL should *never* matter if there are NO characters at that location.

Never? What if you use a power that lets you examine a card at another location, and that other location has the power "all monsters gain the Demon trait," and the card you examine is a monster that forces you to encounter it when you examine it? Seems pretty clear to me you're encountering a demon.

(Also, the Wrath 5 location Heaven has an At This Location power that pretty clearly does not care whether any characters are at that location.)

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / Simoun and the curious case of the suppressed after you act power All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion