
Gummy Bear |

I've found several threads that are all pretty much inconclusive on if you can take an immediate action while having a readied action. However, a lot of these threads weren't very specific in their circumstances. I would like to see if explaining what I would specifically like to do can provide a more concrete answer.
You are an arcanist who has taken THE COUNTERSPELL EXPLOIT and have decided to spend your standard action readying to counterspell.
A bad guy casts a spell.
Can I choose which to use first?
I don't think it would matter too much in the early levels, but when enemies start quickening spells, the flexibility to use your better counterspell on the stronger spell is significant. I'd much rather use my better counterspell on a cloudkill rather than the quickened ray of enfeeblement, but I'm not sure how I'd go about doing that.

![]() |

Readied actions go off as soon as the triggering thing goes off, and interrupts the action. I've had GMs rule that I must follow through with my readied action, as soon as the trigger occurs with no option of holding onto my readied action, but I personally disagree with that ruling.
I see no reason why you wouldn't be able to make an immediate action before your readied action triggers, thus potentially causing you to not need to spend the readied action in the first place.
That's a lot of spells you're going through if that is your common battlefield tactics, though. Sometimes it's better for the party to eat a fireball and get a haste from you than for you to effectively spend a use of haste to dispel that fireball.

Avoron |
Once you ready an action, you cannot take any other action before taking your readied action.
You can ready a standard action, a move action, a swift action, or a free action. To do so, specify the action you will take and the conditions under which you will take it. Then, anytime before your next action, you may take the readied action in response to that condition.

James Gibbons |
5 people marked this as FAQ candidate. |

Once you ready an action, you cannot take any other action before taking your readied action.
Readying an Action wrote:You can ready a standard action, a move action, a swift action, or a free action. To do so, specify the action you will take and the conditions under which you will take it. Then, anytime before your next action, you may take the readied action in response to that condition.
But the rules are vary clear when you can take an immediate action
However, unlike a swift action, an immediate action can be performed at any time—even if it’s not your turn.
Bold mine
I think RAI is that immediate actions are not subject to initiative other than in regards to how long you have to wait to use another one. I'm willing to FAQ it though.
Readying an action rules say that your readied action must occur before your next action (as quoted above). If you use an immediate action do you loose your readied action?
(FAQ this post instead of the OP because it's got to be a clear and concise question.)

Gummy Bear |

Thanks for writing a post that can be FAQ'd!
Syries, theoretically, he would just rely on his immediate action counter to buff in the first round. Afterwards, depending on what is happening, he would make the call on counterspelling or not as a readied.
Phrasing my readied action in such a way could help with the issue, but it will depend on if "action" in the readied action description is intended to mean my next turn (or something else) instead of an actual action.