Mythic Baleful Polymorph


Rules Questions


Hello all,

Question on the Mythic version of Baleful Polymorph. Assuming the target is potentially changed into a tiny creature, even if they make their fort save, a medium creature would become small for 1 minute/level. I believe this is correct?

In the case of a creature wearing armor, they would no longer gain the benefit of that armor, and I'm thinking of giving them the Entangled condition until they take it off.

Thoughts on this?

Thank you!


For reference:

non-mythic:
As beast shape III, except that you change the subject into a Small or smaller animal of no more than 1 HD. If the new form would prove fatal to the creature, such as an aquatic creature not in water, the subject gets a +4 bonus on the save.

If the spell succeeds, the subject must also make a Will save. If this second save fails, the creature loses its extraordinary, supernatural, and spell-like abilities, loses its ability to cast spells (if it had the ability), and gains the alignment, special abilities, and Intelligence, Wisdom, and Charisma scores of its new form in place of its own. It still retains its class and level (or HD), as well as all benefits deriving therefrom (such as base attack bonus, base save bonuses, and hit points). It retains any class features (other than spellcasting) that aren't extraordinary, supernatural, or spell-like abilities.

Any polymorph effects on the target are automatically dispelled when a target fails to resist the effects of baleful polymorph, and as long as baleful polymorph remains in effect, the target cannot use other polymorph spells or effects to assume a new form. Incorporeal or gaseous creatures are immune to baleful polymorph, and a creature with the shapechanger subtype can revert to its natural form as a standard action.


mythic:
The saving throw changes to Fortitude (partial) and Will (partial). A creature that fails the Fortitude save automatically fails the Will save. A target with the shapechanger subtype that fails its save can’t use its shapechanging to shift out of its new form. A creature that succeeds at the Fortitude save is partially transformed into the intended animal. For 1 minute per level, it takes on cosmetic features appropriate to that animal and becomes one size category closer to the animal’s size.

Augmented (9th): If you expend four uses of mythic power, the spell affects all other creatures with 8 Hit Dice or fewer in a 1-mile radius. Affected creatures transform into Small or smaller animals appropriate to the local environment. You can select a number of creatures up to your tier to not be affected.

Your size example is correct.

There is no mention of armour interference on a partial effect. In fact, the non-size changes are called out as cosmetic. As such, I would treat the armour adjusting as with other transmutations that do not have full transformation into specific creature types.


The Sideromancer wrote:

For reference:

** spoiler omitted **
** spoiler omitted **...

Thank you for the quick response. I think you are completely correct. I was not associating the size reduction with the reduction of gear as well.

Thanks again!


Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber

What are the consequences of the size reduction by 1 step?

I imagine a target would lose/reduce its reach and its bonuses to CMB/CMD would decrease with its smaller size.

Does the target's ability scores change? For example, target gains +2 size to DEX and -2 to STR similar to reduce person? Or does it matter what the exact size change is (for example going from huge to large has a different adjustment than going from large to medium)?

Thanks

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Mythic Baleful Polymorph All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions