Light and Darkness Spells


Rules Questions


Daylight wrote:

Daylight brought into an area of magical darkness (or vice versa) is temporarily negated, so that the otherwise prevailing light conditions exist in the overlapping areas of effect.

Daylight counters or dispels any darkness spell of equal or lower level, such as darkness.

I'm a bit confused by the wording. So even though Daylight (lvl 3) would dispel Darkness (lvl 2), it is negated by magical darkness in overlapping areas? Does that mean to dispel it you'd have to cast it on the very same target/object?

For light sensitive creatures, let's say drow who can cast darkness, would that mean they'd be unaffected by the daylight spell in the area of magical darkness as well as in the area where both spells overlap?


The best breakdown on the topic of light and darkness.


I really don't like how PF handles the light and darkness spells.


@Gisher
Very interesting, still confusing though. As I understood the text when darkness (lvl 2) and eternal flame (lvl 2) overlap, they cancel each other out, but darkness will still extinguish torches and sunrods etc... in a situation where those are the only sources of light ending up in complete darkness.

I don't suppose that a wall mounted torch would be exempt from that due to its stationary nature making it sort of ambient.
Would the order of casting make any difference? Making torches within the range of eternal flame immune to being extinguished?

@DungeonMasterCal
It's a bit confusing imo.


It is confusing. I like the older versions from 1 and 2e where they simply lit or darkened an area totally, rather than in "steps".

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Light and Darkness Spells All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.