Multi-weapon fighting penalties


Rules Questions


Hey guys and gals,

I understand that that the feat gives you a reduction of 1 to the penalty when making a full attack, but what's the penalty?? I can't
find it anywhere!
I don't really understand this because it seems different than
Pathfinder.

Thanks for any help,
Graham C

Scarab Sages

It's in the tactical combat chapter. A full attack allows you to make two attacks at a -4 penalty to both attack rolls.

Sovereign Court

Kasatha Operative - Multi Weapon Fighting - 4 melee Weapons - 1st level

Total number of attacks please

Scarab Sages

Evan Riggs wrote:

Kasatha Operative - Multi Weapon Fighting - 4 melee Weapons - 1st level

Total number of attacks please

Two. But they are at -3 / -3 instead of -4 / -4.

Sovereign Court

ty very much

Sovereign Court

even though they have 4 arms?


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Rulebook, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

If using a std action to attack: 1, at full BAB.
If doing a full attack: 2, at BAB-3 (because of the feat).

Basically: how many weapons you have has no bearing on how many attacks you get.

EDIT: Ninja'd!

Sovereign Court

also can you elaborate because i fear it may become a point of contention between myself and my DM, so i would appreciate the explanation of why.


Imbicatus wrote:
Evan Riggs wrote:

Kasatha Operative - Multi Weapon Fighting - 4 melee Weapons - 1st level

Total number of attacks please

Two. But they are at -3 / -3 instead of -4 / -4.

Just to clarify, it's - 3 because of the operative, not because of the race.. Right?


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Rulebook, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Littlebob86 wrote:
Imbicatus wrote:
Evan Riggs wrote:

Kasatha Operative - Multi Weapon Fighting - 4 melee Weapons - 1st level

Total number of attacks please

Two. But they are at -3 / -3 instead of -4 / -4.
Just to clarify, it's - 3 because of the operative, not because of the race.. Right?

It's -3 because of the Multiweapon fighting feat. (Race and class are irrelevant.)


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Rulebook, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Evan Riggs wrote:
also can you elaborate because i fear it may become a point of contention between myself and my DM, so i would appreciate the explanation of why.

Look at the tactical rules section, and what you can use a std and full attack to do. Note that, unlike Pathfinder, number of limbs/weapons/etc plays no role in determining how many attacks you get w these actions.

Second, to drive the point home, the writers added to the Kasathas race description of Four-Armed that having more arms doesn't increase the number of attacks you can make (re-read the description of that ability in the CRB).

Sovereign Court

well thank you


Porridge wrote:

If using a std action to attack: 1, at full BAB.

If doing a full attack: 2, at BAB-3 (because of the feat).

Basically: how many weapons you have has no bearing on how many attacks you get.

EDIT: Ninja'd!

Except Soldiers at 11th level can make 3 attacks at -6 which if this feat were applied would be -5.

Solerians get three attacks a well with a built in +1 bonus but as the bonus in Multiweapon is not named then it is problematic of the feat would stack.

Lastly Operatives supposedly at higher levels get 3 or 4 attacks with operative weapons. I am assuming this feat is made for them.

The question is cana four armed character with this feat hold say a long arm in two hands and still get two attacks at -3 if he has small arms in the others.


Yeah....

Imagine that Starfinder is a completely new game, not at all related to Starfinder and not released by Paizo.

Because although Starfinder is set in the same universe as Golarion, and is being produced by Paizo, it is mechanically not at all the same.

It is a d20 system, and that's basically all the similarities it has to Pathfinder. It's much easier to understand the rules if you stop thinking about how Pathfinder worked, and just think of Starfinder as its own thing.

So no, Kasatha don't get extra attacks for having extra arms.

Everyone gets 1 attack as a standard action, or two attacks as a full round action (with a -4 penalty).

The multiweapon fighting feat can reduce that penalty to -3.

At higher levels operatives can get an ability to get more attacks, but non-Kasatha and Kastaha operatives still get the same number of attacks.

Community / Forums / Starfinder / Rules Questions / Multi-weapon fighting penalties All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions