Confirm tiger claws total damage.


Rules Questions


Lets say i'm a 10th level monk wit a 18 strength for tiger claw from the tiger style form do I roll 2d10+4 (ignoring any other possible bonus for this example.) or 2d10+8? so strength for both hands or just strength once for the attack?

Also If I power attack do I think it is -2 for +6 total for the entire tiger claw attack right?


since it say you hold both hand i can assume you apply the rule for two-hand attack, and they say for power attack

''If you use Power Attack in conjunction with this attack,
increase your Strength bonus on one of the damage rolls
by an additional one-half your Strength bonus.''

so with this phrase we can assume you are doing a two-handed attack


While you are using the Tiger Style feat and have both hands free, you can use a full-round action to make a single unarmed strike with both hands. Use your highest base attack bonus, rolling unarmed strike damage for each hand separately and multiplying both if you score a critical hit. If you use Power Attack in conjunction with this attack, increase your Strength bonus on one of the damage rolls by an additional one-half your Strength bonus.

so you roll damage for each hand separately in my mind it would be 1d10 +4 twice. and power attack once because you can only take the penalty to hit once. but your using both hands so its like a two handed weapon.

Hmm but it also seems like it gives an additional strength bonus to one of the attacks as well. so it would be 1d10+6 and 1d10+4 +another 6 from power attack?


i have reread it and i would say no because i have read hold both hand the first time (sometime i see thing when i should not when i read) its only one hand that receive the two-handed bonus for the power attack, but maybe one of them receive also the bonus for two-handed damage when doing so (which should not be that OP), i would say the same which as the power attack bonus


Yeah I don't think its gonna be op really. Just seeing if it is actually worth it.

Seems to me you would only apply the power attack once but at 1.5 penalty since its one attack roll but 1.5 because its two handed. and then the second hand would get (normally half str but since its monk unarmed full str) it would add another 1d10 (weapon) +4 (strength)

So my total roll from what I can tell for damage is 2d10+16.


yep, but just to be sure ask your GM if this interpretation is ok first


Pathfinder Rulebook Subscriber

Since it says you roll damage twice, I believe you add all relevant modifiers to damage twice. Abilities where you only roll the die multiple times usually specify that that's how they work. Take the Gunslinger's "deadshot" ability, for example.

Power attack is a little less clear, but based on the precedent set by the similar manyshot, I'd say you'd add the bonus damage twice. Though I think treating it as 2-handed attack and adding 1.5 the power attack bonus only once isn't an unreasonable interpretation.


So from your perspective you would add power attack twice so 1d10 +6 (str +1/2) +4 (pw atk) and another 1d10 +4 (str) +4 (pwatk) for a total of 2d10+18?

I could see that too. not a big difference I suppose but could add up later.


yeah i see no problem with that interpretation too


Pathfinder Rulebook Subscriber
Vidmaster7 wrote:

So from your perspective you would add power attack twice so 1d10 +6 (str +1/2) +4 (pw atk) and another 1d10 +4 (str) +4 (pwatk) for a total of 2d10+18?

I could see that too. not a big difference I suppose but could add up later.

That's how I'd rule it as a GM, yes. Certainly no more broken (if anything about unarmed fighting styles can be called "broken") than pummeling charge.


Yeah I think that is fair to say. I'll probably go with your interpretation.


Vidmaster7 wrote:
Yeah I think that is fair to say. I'll probably go with your interpretation.

I am curious how this would stack (if it would stack) with the increased strength damage modifiers inherent with dragon style/dragon ferocity (assuming one was able to blend the styles via MoMS or free-style fighter archetypes)


I will go and look it up and see.


The most liberal interpretation I think would be double strength bonus on both.

You would get double on first one from ferocity then 1.5 on second add in another .5 for using power attack and being in tiger as well. (easier to put that on second attack.)

so for above example plus dragon you would end up with. 2d10+24. Considering the feat investment really not even that huge of a bump. you will have like 3 side effect also a free bull rush a bleed and a shaken condition.

Now I could see not having the 1.5 form tiger and 1.5 from dragon adding together but that would really only cost you about 2 damage with an 18 strength. 2d10+22

I think i like the 2d10+24 route.


I like your more liberal interpretation as well ;). One other potential benefit of the combination, for the price of one more feat (tiger pounce), would be increased accuracy (+2 using your example)

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Confirm tiger claws total damage. All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.