Unchained Rogue / Ninja?

Pathfinder Society

Simple enough question: in Pathfinder Society, can Ninja dip Unchained Rogue?

(I'm fairly sure the answer is that it's not allowed, but it never hurts to ask.)

5/5 5/55/55/5



This ruling shot a lot of alternate class archetype combos into rules limbo that, AFAIK, still isn't resolved.

Shadow Lodge 5/5

also the retraining of Ninja into Rogue is a mess as well since its done on a lvl by lvl basis and you cannot have levels of both Ninja and rogue

thats something else that has never been resolved

Shadow Lodge

Paizo Superscriber; Pathfinder Companion, Pathfinder Accessories Subscriber; Starfinder Superscriber

That citation doesn't actually address the question. The citation is that there's no such thing as an Unchained Ninja. The question was whether you could multiclass with levels in both Unchained Rogue and Ninja.

Now, I agree that you can't do that multiclass option, but I'm actually not sure why that's the case, since alternate classes are no longer considered extensive archetypes. (Which is why I looked at the citation -- I wanted to know how that worked now.)

1/5 Venture-Agent, Utah—Provo

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Alternate classes still can't multiclass with their "associated class" cause it says so in the section on alternate classes.

Grand Lodge 2/5

Per Ultimate Combat, page 8:

"An alternate class operates exactly as a base class, save that a character who takes a level in an alternate class can never take a level in its associated class—a samurai cannot also be a cavalier, and vice versa."

Community / Forums / Organized Play / Pathfinder Society / Unchained Rogue / Ninja? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Pathfinder Society