So an alchemist walks into a bar...


Rules Questions

Grand Lodge

So an alchemist walks into a bar...and the bar hits him so hard he's now unconscious. He has an extract of cure light wounds on him. I know that so I pour it down his throat. It's inert while I'm interacting with it because I'm not him. Once I'm done pouring it down his throat what happens? Does it work? Does it not work?

Scarab Sages

claudekennilol wrote:
So an alchemist walks into a bar...and the bar hits him so hard he's now unconscious. He has an extract of cure light wounds on him. I know that so I pour it down his throat. It's inert while I'm interacting with it because I'm not him. Once I'm done pouring it down his throat what happens? Does it work? Does it not work?

well.... first you take hold of his right hand, then you place the extract bottle in that hand and carefully maneuver the open end of the extract to his mouth and dribble it slowly in... hoping he doesn't drown.

;)

seriously though, I would think it works on him. just like if he were to pour it into your mouth - once in your PC it would be Inert and wouldn't work. ("this to shall pass").

this is another reason I'm a (Chirurgeon) archetype - that way all my Cure extracts are Infusions...


Extracts aren't exactly potions, and I think the OP is worrying about this part of the rules:

Quote:
An extract immediately becomes inert if it leaves the alchemist’s possession, reactivating as soon as it returns to his keeping—an alchemist cannot normally pass out his extracts for allies to use (but see the “infusion” discovery below).

pouring it down his throat would seem to be 'returning it to his keeping', so I would say it works.


okay - I had a bout of silliness...

I believe the rule you want is under the Alchemist class description.

APG wrote:

Extracts are the most varied of the three. In many ways, they behave like spells in potion form, and as such their effects can be dispelled by effects like dispel magic using the alchemist’s level as the caster level. Unlike potions, though, extracts can have powerful effects and duplicate spells that a potion normally could not.

An alchemist can create only a certain number of extracts of each level per day. His base daily allotment of extracts is given on Table: Alchemist. In addition, he receives bonus extracts per day if he has a high Intelligence score, in the same way a wizard receives bonus spells per day. When an alchemist mixes an extract, he infuses the chemicals and reagents in the extract with magic siphoned from his own magical aura. An extract immediately becomes inert if it leaves the alchemist’s possession, reactivating as soon as it returns to his keeping—an alchemist cannot normally pass out his extracts for allies to use (but see the “infusion” discovery below). An extract, once created, remains potent for 1 day before becoming inert, so an alchemist must re-prepare his extracts every day. Mixing an extract takes 1 minute of work—most alchemists prepare many extracts at the start of the day or just before going on an adventure, but it’s not uncommon for an alchemist to keep some (or even all) of his daily extract slots open so that he can prepare extracts in the field as needed.

so once the extract is back in him (in his possession(keeping)) it activates. The key question is did the Alchemist mix the extract earlier in the day. Calling it a Cure Light Wounds extract means yes, otherwise it's stuff in a bottle.

Like a potion, once the extract is "in hand" it is a full round action to give someone else a potion.

CRB, Potion wrote:
A character can carefully administer a potion to an unconscious creature as a full-round action, trickling the liquid down the creature’s throat. Likewise, it takes a full-round action to apply an oil to an unconscious creature.

Silver Crusade

_Ozy_ wrote:

Extracts aren't exactly potions, and I think the OP is worrying about this part of the rules:

Quote:
An extract immediately becomes inert if it leaves the alchemist’s possession, reactivating as soon as it returns to his keeping—an alchemist cannot normally pass out his extracts for allies to use (but see the “infusion” discovery below).
pouring it down his throat would seem to be 'returning it to his keeping', so I would say it works.

Agreed.


Do alchemists actually get an option to somehow turn base metals into gold?!?

They should really...being that was actually a big part of their hopes and dreams!

Silver Crusade

doc roc wrote:

Do alchemists actually get an option to somehow turn base metals into gold?!?

They should really...being that was actually a big part of their hopes and dreams!

Yes, but the raw components cost 100 gp to create 1 gp worth of gold.

Silver Crusade

A level 20 Alchemist can select Philosopher's Stone as his Grand Discovery. This lets him create a philosopher's stone once per month with one day of work and no cost in materials. This item can turn 1000lbs of lead into gold worth 50,000gp, and does more besides.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / So an alchemist walks into a bar... All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.