Hosteling and wildshape


Rules Questions

Scarab Sages

Out of curiosity, could hosteling be activate while in wildshape if for instance the armor had the wild enhancement? (possibly turning into a tattoo on the creature instead of a mark on the armor)


Nope.

Activated items cannot be used when polymorphing (assuming the item is merged with your form). Druid's Wildshape follows polymorph rules.


I think you would need wild speech (or something else that lets you speak in animal form to utter a comand word, but yes, i think you can


No, not even with wild speech.

Quote:

Polymorph: A polymorph spell transforms your physical body to take on the shape of another creature. While these spells make you appear to be the creature, granting you a +10 bonus on Disguise skill checks, they do not grant you all of the abilities and powers of the creature. Each polymorph spell allows you to assume the form of a creature of a specific type, granting you a number of bonuses to your ability scores and a bonus to your natural armor. In addition, each polymorph spell can grant you a number of other benefits, including movement types, resistances, and senses. If the form you choose grants these benefits, or a greater ability of the same type, you gain the listed benefit. If the form grants a lesser ability of the same type, you gain the lesser ability instead. Your base speed changes to match that of the form you assume. If the form grants a swim or burrow speed, you maintain the ability to breathe if you are swimming or burrowing. The DC for any of these abilities equals your DC for the polymorph spell used to change you into that form.

In addition to these benefits, you gain any of the natural attacks of the base creature, including proficiency in those attacks. These attacks are based on your base attack bonus, modified by your Strength or Dexterity as appropriate, and use your Strength modifier for determining damage bonuses.

If a polymorph spell causes you to change size, apply the size modifiers appropriately, changing your armor class, attack bonus, Combat Maneuver Bonus, and Stealth skill modifiers. Your ability scores are not modified by this change unless noted by the spell.

Unless otherwise noted, polymorph spells cannot be used to change into specific individuals. Although many of the fine details can be controlled, your appearance is always that of a generic member of that creature's type. Polymorph spells cannot be used to assume the form of a creature with a template or an advanced version of a creature.

When you cast a polymorph spell that changes you into a creature of the animal, dragon, elemental, magical beast, plant, or vermin type, all of your gear melds into your body. Items that provide constant bonuses and do not need to be activated continue to function while melded in this way (with the exception of armor and shield bonuses, which cease to function). Items that require activation cannot be used while you maintain that form. While in such a form, you cannot cast any spells that require material components (unless you have the Eschew Materials or Natural Spell feat), and can only cast spells with somatic or verbal components if the form you choose has the capability to make such movements or speak, such as a dragon. Other polymorph spells might be subject to this restriction as well, if they change you into a form that is unlike your original form (subject to GM discretion). If your new form does not cause your equipment to meld into your form, the equipment resizes to match your new size.

While under the effects of a polymorph spell, you lose all extraordinary and supernatural abilities that depend on your original form (such as keen senses, scent, and darkvision), as well as any natural attacks and movement types possessed by your original form. You also lose any class features that depend upon form, but those that allow you to add features (such as sorcerers that can grow claws) still function. While most of these should be obvious, the GM is the final arbiter of what abilities depend on form and are lost when a new form is assumed. Your new form might restore a number of these abilities if they are possessed by the new form.

You can only be affected by one polymorph spell at a time. If a new polymorph spell is cast on you (or you activate a polymorph effect, such as wild shape), you can decide whether or not to allow it to affect you, taking the place of the old spell. In addition, other spells that change your size have no effect on you while you are under the effects of a polymorph spell.

If a polymorph spell is cast on a creature that is smaller than Small or larger than Medium, first adjust its ability scores to one of these two sizes using the following table before applying the bonuses granted by the polymorph spell.

Hosteling armor requires a command word to activate. Items that require activation cannot be used while polymorphed. Wild Shape follows polymorph rules.

Scarab Sages

Claxon wrote:

No, not even with wild speech.

Hosteling armor requires a command word to activate. Items that require activation cannot be used while polymorphed. Wild Shape follows polymorph rules.

Notice that they mentioned combining hosteling with the wild enchantment.

There is an argument which can be made here, since the wild enchantment treats you as if the armor were still on you. Giving you the bonuses as well as the minuses for wearing that armor.

wild faq wrote:

"Wild armor and other transforming armor: When I use a wild armor and gain the armor’s benefits, what restrictions, if any, apply to me? In general, when I transform with a polymorph effect and some of my gear melds into the form, what restrictions do I have for melding with large amounts of heavy gear? What about other types of transforming armor?

If you were in medium or heavy load from encumbrance before transforming, you continue to take those penalties in your melded form. Otherwise, ignore the weight of melded items and calculate your encumbrance in your polymorphed form entirely based on non-melded items. When wearing melded armor and shields, if you gain no benefit from the melded armor, you still count as wearing an armor of that type, but you do not suffer its armor check penalty, movement speed reduction, or arcane spell failure chance. If you do gain any benefits (as with the wild property), then you do suffer the armor check penalty, movement speed reduction, and arcane spell failure chance. This also applies to all other situations where you or an armor transform: you always count as wearing an armor of that type, and if you gain any benefit at all from the armor (such as mistmail), you apply the armor check penalty, movement speed reduction, and arcane spell failure chance."

The wild enchantment makes this murky enough that it is worth asking your GM, but the likely answer is no.


That FAQ says nothing to imply that you activate armor abilities.

The Wild Enhancement merely lets you get the AC bonus from your armor.

I would say it is still strongly no.

Though, because of the price of the wild enhancement it probably ought to do more, and its not as though hosteling is going to be a problem.


Pathfinder Starfinder Society Subscriber

What about the case where the creature is already "hosteled" when the druid wild shapes?


David knott 242 wrote:

What about the case where the creature is already "hosteled" when the druid wild shapes?

The animal companion can't get out.

The ability doesn't cease to function, you just can't activate anything.

So you can't activate it to put it in if wild shaped, nor can you release if it was inside and then you wild shaped.

Edit: I just realized my earlier answer didn't make this clear before and could have led to confusion. My bad.

Scarab Sages

Claxon wrote:

That FAQ says nothing to imply that you activate armor abilities.

The Wild Enhancement merely lets you get the AC bonus from your armor.

I would say it is still strongly no.

Though, because of the price of the wild enhancement it probably ought to do more, and its not as though hosteling is going to be a problem.

Except that the armor is not truly melded into you with the wild enchantment. As the wild enchantment says, they preserve the benefits of the armor and "the armor cannot be seen". As they also take the negatives for wearing the armor... they are treated as if they are wearing the armor and not as if it were melded into them. So that is enough to imply that you can activate the abilities. It's not explicit, sure. But it is a decent argument.


Not in my opinion it's not.

I guess ultimately this is an ask your GM issue as the rules don't explicitly say either way.

Normally you can't activate items while polymorphed (Wild shaped).
Wild Enhancement doesn't lift this restriction.

Scarab Sages

Claxon wrote:

Not in my opinion it's not.

I guess ultimately this is an ask your GM issue as the rules don't explicitly say either way.

Normally you can't activate items while polymorphed (Wild shaped).
Wild Enhancement doesn't lift this restriction.

You're ignoring the context. First the items meld into your form, then since they are melded into your form you can't activate those items. It isn't a blanket rule to cover all activation. For instance, if someone were to put an activated item on you after you transform you could activate it. As it is not melded into your form.(so long as your form can perform the activation)

The whole point here is that the armor is not truly melded into you in the case of Wild.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Hosteling and wildshape All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions